Good morning!

One more jump stop play before Christmas! Watch this and ask yourself when the dribble
ended.....THAT is the key to determining the pivot foot and what can happen after landing. This will play
three times in real speed. Remember, we cannot blow the whistle unless we are POSITIVE that a
violation occurred. Again, when does the dribble end? Take a look here. Thanks Scott Walters for this
clip!

So was it legal or do you have a travel? Were you POSITIVE of when the dribble ended? Was it while he
was in the air or a foot on the floor? Did you change your mind when the slo-motion clip played? Here is
the rule again:

SECTION 44 TRAVELING

Traveling s moving 2 foot or faet in any dirsction in axcess of prescribed limits
while holding the ball. The limits on foot movements are as follows:

ART. 1. .. A player who catches the ball with both feet on the floor may pivot
using either foot, When one foot is ited, the other is the pivot fool.

ART. 2. .. A player who calches the ball while moving or dribbling may stop
and establish a pivot foot as follows:

A. |1 both feet are off the floor and the lands:

1. Simultansously on both feet, either foot may ba the pivot,

2. Onone foot followed by the other, the first foot to touch |s the pivot,
3. Onone foot Ihwhwmypmpoﬂouwund simultaneously land
on both, foot can be a pivot In this case,

b. I ong foot s on the floor
1, lnuhoptvotwhenanomeﬂoonomm:m
2 pum'may Lump o mufoolmdmhmowy land on both,

Noither 8 & pivot In this caso

ART. 3. .. Aftar coming 1o a stop and establishing a pivot foot

a lheplvotlootmywm ut not retumed 1o the floor, before the ball is
released on & pass or try for goal

b. I the player umps, o7 100t may be retumed to the Noor before the ball
Isuluudonwusot%@

0. The pivot foot may not be ‘ore the ball is released fo start a dribble,

ART, 4 .. . After coming o a stop when neither foot can be a pivot:

a Onootbotnmtma be lifted, Mmutmmtmmdlotholloorwm
lmwlts:mdonantsonrydud

b. Neither lootmay be ifted before the released o start a dribble.

ART.5.. r holding the belk:

a Maynotto the floor with a knee or any other part of the body other than

b. After qalmng control while on the floor and touching with other than hand
or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand.

This is an example of 4.44.2.a.1 where the dribble ends with both feet off the floor. | know, some will
argue that in slo-motion, the right foot may be still on the floor when the dribble ends.....can we
definitely see that in real time? The point here (if we can agree) is that there are plays when the dribble
ends while in the air — both feet off the floor — and if landing on a jump stop — feet land simultaneously —
then either foot may be the pivot foot and a step is permitted!

Remember, we have to KNOW the rule and be able to explain what happened or did NOT happen to
either coach.

Have a great day, Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah and enjoy family time this holiday season!

Tim


https://drive.google.com/file/d/1me-hBMYHxf4rpvkI1gH-5nJI6AkNNwms/view?usp=sharing

