
Good morning! 
 
THREE days till official games! Think about you goals for this year……goals of a playoff game or one more 
round than last year….these are great goals, but also think about what you CAN do to improve your 
game….those are the little goals that help you achieve those bigger goals. Maybe a great goal is to help 
the younger official who has potential and could benefit from you taking him/her to a game of yours or 
to go evaluate him/her on one of that official’s games. 
 
Remember that the future of what we do will be determined in part by how WE, as experienced 
officials, HELP others………most of us are successful in great part to the help that someone gave us. 
Sometimes we are not aware that a ‘good word’ has been put in until much later or a phone call was 
made to ask about us that helped us move along, but those things happen daily! Be a great teacher and 
share the wealth of knowledge with others! 
 
Yesterday’s clip was a back court violation off the jump ball. Today’s clip is a jump ball situation as well 
(thanks Craig Bradley!). Take a look at the clip here. So what do you have on this? Here is the rule book 
section about the jumpers: 
 

 
 
Since the jump ball has not ended (article 8), the jumper may NOT catch the tossed ball (article 7). So 
whose call is it (whose SHOULD it be)? In a two-person game, the 2 jumpers are the responsibility of the 
referee (who tossed the ball). In a three-person game, the responsibility of the 2 jumpers lies with U1. In 
either case, we need to get it right and get the violation. 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1McG_V97U3tcavn57ir4Aoby6XDh1SdNj/view?usp=sharing


So what happens after the whistle blows? The ball will be inbounded by the other team (red in the case 
on the clip) and the ball will be put in play on the nearest sideline. In a two person game, most likely the 
official who tossed the ball and in a three person game, most likely the U1 or U2. This specific throw-in 
scenario is not covered in the manual since it is not a L/T in two-person or a L/C/T in three-person 
scenario. 
 
Next, we must make sure that the arrow is set properly. In THIS clip, white violated on the catch, so red 
gets the initial possession on the throw-in from the nearest spot OOB (out-of-bounds) and white would 
get the arrow. Make sure the table gets this correct. It is already a weird scenario with the catching of 
the toss by a jumper, so if you need to go to the table to get the arrow correct, do so. In YESTERDAY’S 
clip, remember that we had a jump to start the game, black secured the tip, then committed a back 
court violation. In that case, black secured the first possession but then violated. In this case, white 
would get the throw-in from the violation AND white would get the arrow. Technically, the arrow was 
set to white upon black securing the ball on off of the jump. In today’s clip, the arrow was NOT set until 
we had a legal possession which would be when red has the ball for a throw-in. 
 
Be READY for your game from the opening tip! Have a great pregame and TALK about being 
ready…..something as simple as ‘Let’s make sure we are ready on the jump for a violation or foul…..and 
don’t let someone steal the tip’! 
 
Have a great day, work that scrimmage hard tonight and make sure to tell those at home they are 
appreciated for supporting you in officiating! 
 
Tim 


