# Minutes Inaugural Council Meeting

Monday, November 21, 2022

The Inaugural Meeting for the newly elected Town Council of the Corporation of the Town of Rainy River was held on Monday, November 21, 2022, at 5:30 p.m. in the municipal council chambers.

In attendance were Mayor Deborah Ewald and Councillors Gordon Prost, Neil Ivall, Dan Armstrong, Neil Ivall, and Martin Kreger. Also in attendance were Larry Armstrong and Gord and Jeanette Armstrong.

Giving regrets were Councillors Brent Helgeson and Greg Brown.

Chief Administrative Officer Veldron Vogan recorded the minutes.

# Opening Ceremonies, Moment of Silence, and Salute to the King

Mayor Deb Ewald opened the meeting with a moment of silence and a salute to the King.

#### **Additions, Deletions or Amendments**

No additions, deletions or amendments were made to the agenda.

#### Oath of Office of Mayor administered by the Chief Administrative Officer

The Oath of Office for Mayor Elect Deb Ewald was administered by the Chief Administrative Officer, Veldron Vogan.

#### Oath of Office of Councillors administered by the Mayor

Mayor Ewald then administered the Oath of Office to the Councillors Elect as follows: Daniel Armstrong, Gordon Prost, Neil Ivall and Martin Kreger.

## **Assignment of New Committees and Members**

**Motion #22-114 -** Neil Ivall – Dan Armstrong

"That the following committee structure be accepted:

# COMMITTEES OF COUNCIL EFFECTIVE NOVEMBER 21, 2022

Finance/Personnel – Neil Ivall, Martin Kreger, Daniel Armstrong

Health & Safety – Brent Helgeson

Public Works/Water & Sewer/Recycling – Martin Kreger, Brent Helgeson, Gord Prost, Neil Ivall, Greg Brown

Property/By-laws/AMBIS – Brent Helgeson, Gord Prost, Greg Brown

Economic Development/Tourism - Martin Kreger, Neil Ivall, Daniel Armstrong, Greg Brown

Beautification/Cemetery/Hannam Park – Brent Helgeson, Daniel Armstrong

Fire Board – Martin Kreger (Chair)

Recreation Board/Curling Club – Brent Helgeson

Library Board – Deborah Ewald

Rainy River House/Medical Centre – Neil Ivall, Daniel Armstrong

DSSAB - Deborah Ewald

RRDMA - Deborah Ewald."

#### Carried

## **Appointment of Deputy Mayor**

By-law 1833-22

By-law 1833-22 was read by Councillor Neil Ivall.

**Motion #22-115 -** Gordon Prost – Dan Armstrong

"That By-law 1833-22, being a by-law to appoint a Deputy Mayor for the Town of Rainy River, having been read in open council, be hereby approved."

#### Carried

## **Signing Authority**

**Motion #22-116 -** Dan Armstrong – Gordon Prost

"That former Deputy Mayor Neil Ivall be removed as a signing officer for the Corporation of the Town of Rainy River."

#### Carried

# Motion #22-117 - Dan Armstrong – Neil Ivall

"That Deputy Mayor Martin Kreger be added as a signing officer for the Corporation of the Town of Rainy River."

#### **Carried**

# **Library Board Trustees**

Motion #22-118 - Martin Kreger - Gordon Prost

"That the Corporation of the Town of Rainy River hereby appoints the following individuals to the Rainy River Public Library Board as Library Board Trustees for a term starting November 21, 2022, and ending November 15, 2026:

Donna MacDonald, Kim Desserre, Derry McRae, Tiffany Rittau, Donna Moen, Anna Robinson, and Susanne Brielmann."

#### Carried

## **Confirming By-law**

By-law 1834-22 to Confirm the Proceedings of Council

By-law 1834-22 was read by Mayor Deb Ewald.

**Motion #22-119 -** Martin Kreger – Neil Ivall

"That By-law 1834-22, being a by-law of the Town of Rainy River to confirm the proceedings of Council at its meeting held on the 21<sup>st</sup> day of November 2022, having been read in open council, be hereby approved."

#### **Carried**

#### Adjournment

Motion #22-120 - Martin Kreger

<u>Original Signed</u> Mayor

"There being no further business, the meeting is hereby adjourned at 5:55 p.m."

Carried

<u>Original Signsd</u>
Chief Administrative Officer