
Good morning….. 
 
Correctable Errors….best way to handle them? Not have them! Sometimes they just happen and we MUST 
deal with them. Here is the rule….notice that 4 of the 5 correctable errors involve free throws…and a great 
diagram has been added to the rules book for us. 
 

 

 



 
 
So in today’s clip, a foul is called on white 4. It happened to also be his 5th foul and as he is walking off the 
floor, he rips his shirt out and is assessed a technical foul……..take a look at the clip here and see if you catch 
why it is a correctable error. 
 
The sequence that caused the issue was as follows…..a foul is called on white 4, which happens to be his 5th 
foul. As the official was going to report the foul, white 4 rips his jersey out, so earns a technical foul on top of 
the 5th. (He had not become bench personnel yet, so the coach was not given an indirect.) We will now shoot 
four free throws and black gets the ball at the division line for a throw-in. After all four free throws were shot 
(and made), the officials realized that black 15 was NOT the player fouled on the initial shot who should have 
attempted the first two free throws. Since they were still in the correctable error time frame (clock was 
stopped so it is correctable before the ball becomes live after the first dead ball after the clock has properly 
started). The diagram above helps visualize the time frame quite well. Since it is correctable and they KNEW 
who SHOULD have shot the free throws, the two initial free throws by black 15 are taken off the board and 
out of the book and black 0, who was the shooter fouled, took the free throws then (and made 1 of 2). After 
the error was corrected, they played on from the throw-in for black since the ball had not changed 
possession. 
 
ANY official/crew can get caught in a bad situation like this…all we can do is make sure we talk before 
starting the administration of it all to try to get it all correct. If it DOES happen, get it right by following the 
correctable error rule and timeframe! This crew did it very well and did get it right.  
 
Remember, slow down, make sure we are calm when everyone else is amped up……when a partner calls a T, 
go to him/her and make sure to calm him/her down and go through the sequence of events to follow so try 
to avoid an error. When it happens, get it right and explain the procedure to the coaches since they are 
probably very much in the dark as to what is happening! 
 
Have a great game today and stay focused, be alive when the ball is dead, and safe travels! 
 
Tim 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0BdW-mdo6vcZW56ckRDOGhsaTQ/view?usp=sharing

