# South Carolina Society of Nuclear Medicine

**INFORM-A-TECH** 

Fall 2021



Our mission is to promote excellence through continuing education in the art and science of Nuclear Medicine by facilitating communication in both clinical and scientific disciplines.

### MTC Nuclear Medicine Students ~ Class of 2022 ~

Allie Britt Bethany Harsey
Niquita Cook Reid Johnson
Madelyn Duvall Zachary Maddox
Harmony East Wes Shorter
Emily Goodwin Laken Hicks

#### HEY YOU... Yeah You!

We are looking for technologists to volunteer to help on committees. By getting involved in the society, you are not only helping us stay strong but you are also building your resume'. We need help on the following committees:

- ✓ Meeting Planner
- ✓ Educational
- ✓ Legislative/SCQRSA
- ✓ Budget/Membership
- ✓ Nominating
- ✓ Newsletter and Membership
- ✓ Bi-Laws / Secretarial

  Contact Tracy Harling if

  interested.

#### Update on Choletec<sup>TM</sup> Shortage

While a global shortage of Choletec persists due to a vial shortage, more supply is on the way and should be released beginning mid-July. https://www.snmmi.org Message from the President
Robyn Rhodes, BHS, CNMT (PET), ARRT(R)(N)(CT)

On behalf of the SCSNM Board members, as well as myself, I want to thank you for your understanding and support through this trying year of Covid, reschedules and uncertainty. It has been a year of challenges and struggles like we have not experienced before and I, for one, am glad to try and get back to some sense of normalcy and back into the swing of things as we know it.

With that said, I also would like to say thank you to everyone on the board of our society for enabling me to learn and grow as your president. This is certainly a position that requires you to roll up your sleeves, but the amazing support from everyone around makes it a special position within a special group of people who want the best for our society, as well as our profession.

Our annual meeting is coming up in September and we cannot be more excited about the speakers, the vendors and the facility that we have lined up for you to learn and enjoy! Masks will be provided and there is plenty of space to spread out and enjoy gathering/learning like we are accustomed too. As you know, the board elected to combine the Spring and Fall meetings this year due the health concerns for our members in this Covid climate that we are all navigating. Twelve credits will be provided during this 2-day meeting and the scope of the topics has something for everyone. We are bringing in new folks to continue our legacy of promoting the profession and the state, as well as ask that all of you consider running for office or volunteering in some way so we continue to thrive as a society. We are stronger together and as our profession grows/changes, we need a seat at the table to ensure our voices are heard. A strong state society is the foundation for growth in the future.

#### **SCSNM Board Members**

Robyn Rhodes, BHS, CNMT,PET, ARRT (R)(N)(CT).— President Tracey Harling, BS, CNMT(PET), RT(CT)— President Elect David Taylor, CNMT, NMTCB(CT)— Treasurer Mauren Kreiner, MHS, CNMT, RT(N)— Secretary Karen Owens, CNMT,RT(N)(CT)— Chairman of the Board Joey Godley, CNMT, RT(CT)— Advisor Kathi Knight, CNMT, RT(R)(N)— Executive Secretary Betty Corley, CNMT, RT(N)— Parliamentarian Jessica Riley, MA, RT(N)— Legislative Chair Monford Russell—MPH, CNMT, NMTCB(CT), RT(N)—

Webmaster



Issue 3

**Upcoming Meetings** 

SCSNM Annual Presidents Fall Meeting: September 11 & 12, 2021

#### **SCRQSA Statement**

The South Carolina Radiation Quality Standards Association was created in 2000 by the Medical Health and Radiation Safety Act. The Association consists of 14 members, one of whom is our very own Jessica Riley, MA, RT (N) ARRT.

## NEWS FROM THE MTC NMT Program...

Greetings from the students and faculty at Midlands Technical College! The *Class of* **2021** have all passed the NMTCB and will soon take the ARRT (N)!

I would like to congratulate Christiana Pope for receiving the Dave Ransdell Memorial Award and Haimarat Wickline for receiving the Academic Award this year!! Mauren Kreiner, PD