PRESENT: Sandi Benford - Councillor

Garth Ward - Councillor Brian Johnson - Councillor

Wendy Wildman - Chief Administrative Officer (CAO)
Heather Luhtala - Assistant Chief Administrative Officer

1. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. by CAO, Wendy Wildman.

2. NOMINATIONS

a) Mayor:

Chairman Wildman called for nominations for the position of Mayor.

Brian Johnson nominated Sandi Benford for Mayor.

Chairman Wildman called for nominations for the position of Mayor a second time.

Chairman Wildman called for nominations for the position of Mayor a third time.

Motion #109-16

MOTION by Garth Ward that nominations for the position of Mayor cease.

CARRIED

Sandi Benford was declared Mayor, was administered the Oath of Office for the position of Mayor and assumed the Chair.

b) Deputy Mayor:

Motion #110-15

MOTION by Mayor Benford that per section 152 of the Municipal Government Act RSA 2000 Chapter M-26, both remaining Councillors be appointed as Deputy Mayor.

CARRIED

Councillor Ward and Councillor Johnson were both declared Deputy Mayor and were administered the Oaths of Office for the positions of Deputy Mayor.

3. APPOINTMENTS & CONFIRMATIONS

Motion #111-16

MOTION by Deputy Mayor Johnson that the following committee appointments and confirmations be approved:

- a) Public Works Supervisor
 - Sandi Benford with Garth Ward as alternate.
- b) Member to Highway 43 East Waste Commission
 - Brian Johnson with Sandi Benford as alternate.
- c) Representative to Summer Villages of Lac Ste. Anne County East
 - Garth Ward with Sandi Benford as alternate. (all Council to attend, rep to vote)
- d) Member to Darwell Sewage Lagoon Committee
 - Garth Ward with Brian Johnson as alternate.
- e) Disaster Services Director and Joint Emergency Management Committee
 - Sandi Benford with Brian Johnson as alternate.
- f) Joint Subdivision and Development Appeal Board
 - Brian Johnson with Garth Ward as alternate.
- g) Yellowhead Rural Crime Watch Association
 - Sandi Benford with Brian Johnson as alternate.
- h) Lake Isle Aquatic Management Society
 - Sandi Benford with Garth Ward as alternate.
- i) Yellowhead Regional Library
 - Sandi Benford with Garth Ward as alternate.
- j) Family and Community Support Services (FCSS)
 - Sandi Benford with Brian Johnson as alternate.
- k) Regional Emergency Services
 - Sandi Benford with Brian Johnson as alternate.
- I) CAO
 - Wildwillow Enterprises Inc. Wendy Wildman
- m) Auditor
 - Auditor Appointment Seniuk & Company
- n) Solicitor
 - Patriot Law Group Onoway

- o) Assessor
 - Municipal Assessment Services Group Dan Kanuka
- p) Development Authority
 - Karen Kormos Development Officer
- q) Subdivision & Development Appeal Board
 - Joint Subdivision and Development Appeal Board remain appointed
- r) Municipal Planning Commission
 - All of Council
- s) FOIP Coordinator
 - Val Chay Wildwillow Enterprises Inc.
- t) Community Peace Officer
 - Town of Mayerthorpe Community Peace Officer Services Agreement (Dwight Dawn)

CARRIED

4. FINANCIAL

Motion #112-16

MOTION by Deputy Mayor Ward that the following financial information be confirmed:

- a) Signing Authority all of the Council and CAO and Assistant CAO
 - Two signatures are required
 - One signature to be any member of Council (Sandi Benford, Garth Ward, Brian Johnson)
 - One signature to be the CAO, Wendy Wildman or the Asst. CAO, Heather Luhtala
- b) Banking Authority CIBC
- c) Council Remuneration Policy Policy 1-01
- d) Expense Reimbursement Policy Policy 3-01

CARRIED

5. MEETING DATES

a. Regular Meeting Day

Motion #113-16

MOTION by Deputy Mayor Johnson that regular Council meetings be scheduled on a date as set by Council recognizing that work schedules and other circumstances need to be accommodated.

CARRIED

b. Regular Meeting Time

Motion #114-16

MOTION by Deputy Mayor Johnson that regular meetings of Council commence at a time as set by Council recognizing that work schedules and other circumstances need to be accommodated.

CARRIED

c. Regular Meeting Location

Motion #115-16

MOTION Deputy Mayor Ward that the regular meetings of Council take place at the Town of Onoway Council Chambers located at 4812-51 Street, Onoway, AB.

CARRIED

6. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

Mayor Benford declared the meeting adjourned at 9:10 a.m.

 Mayor
Municipal Administrator