
Good morning! Welcome to the world of snow again! 
 
It is a great game, there is a throw-in with 3 seconds remaining to the team down 2 points, they throw a 
long pass and just after it is caught inbounds, the horn goes off……check out a play like that here……and 
listen closely for the horn and watch when the clock starts. (Remember that as in the play like yesterday, 
the HORN ends the game, not 0.0 on the clock). 
 
So what do you do in a situation like this? Obviously the clock started too soon (please ignore that the 
officials may have electronically been able to start the clock). We know we have excellent timers and 
‘not-so-excellent’ timers in the gyms we go to. 
 
It sure cannot hurt to remind the timer to ‘watch me signal you to start the clock’ if there is that 
opportunity. When timing issues arise, here is what the rules book says: 
 

 
 
Using an officials count is a great way to correct timing errors. What about the play in the clip, there is 
no count and the clock started on the release of the pass? How are you correcting it? Where is the ball 
being put back in play if you are resetting and have another throw-in? Should the official have seen the 
clock started before it should have? What then? 
 
We can have an awesome 31:57 game and it get thrown out the window by a clock mistake in the last 3 
seconds. Be prepared for it and understand what you can do. 
 
In article 1, common plays here are when a timeout is granted and the official looks at the clock and 
KNOWS what it read when the TO was granted. We have definite knowledge and should reset the clock 
to the known time. 
 
In article 2, we may use our count or ‘other official information’ to make a correction. The count is clear, 
but what about ‘other official information’? Think about only a couple seconds on the clock and a long 
pass is through that is deflected OOB by the defense and no time went off the clock…..or the pass is 
caught and immediately hit by the defense OOB from the hands of the player who caught it and no time 
went off the clock…….anything we can do there? We DO have ‘other’ information, such as catching a ball 
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MUST be at least 0:00.4 seconds since we know that 0:00.3 can only be a tip or tap at the end of a 
period. Thus, a ‘catch’ must be 0.4.  
 
We need to make sure that the crew and table are on the same page in situations like these. If you have 
a TO, talk as a crew, make sure someone is watching the clock and make sure someone is keeping a 
count, even if no count is required. Also remind the timer to watch for the chop to start the clock. 
 
So….back to the play in the clip…..what are you doing? If the play happens as in the clip, we need to 
make sure that the defender at the spot of the throw-in did not touch the ball (the official there knows 
that) and if not, taking the ball back to the spot to ‘re-do’with the clock reset. The clock never should 
have started but did and we have definite knowledge of what the time was and that it should not have 
started. The visiting team (coincidently), was put at a disadvantage and did not get the time they should 
have. It would have been even better if the T (the official at the throw-in spot) had seen the clock start 
prematurely and have a whistle while the ball as in the air so that the play never developed and we 
could ‘start over’ (since he had the defender touching or not and most likely in our games have a clock 
down court at the opposite wall to see start too soon). In any case, we need to explain to the coaches 
what we are doing and why.  
 
Be prepared for timing at the end of games, KNOW how much time is remaining, talk with your 
partner(s) if possible and remind the timer to watch the official who should signal the clock to start. Be 
preventative here and hopefully it will all work out! 
 
Have a great game today and be safe on the roads. 
 
Tim 


