# **NOTICE OF NOMINATION FOR OFFICE**

#### 2022 MUNICIPAL AND SCHOOL BOARDS ELECTION

This notice is for anyone proposing to be a candidate in the Municipal Election on October 24, 2022.

Section 33 of the Municipal Elections Act, 1996 provides that a person may be nominated for an office by filing a nomination in the Clerk's Office in person or by an agent. The nomination shall be in the prescribed form; be accompanied by a declaration of qualification in the prescribed form; signed by the person being nominated (facsimile signatures are not acceptable); be accompanied by an endorsement of at least 25 persons unless the number of eligible electors in the

subject municipality is less than the prescribed number (proposed to be 4000 electors) and be accompanied by the nomination filing fee of \$200 for the office of Mayor or Reeve or \$100 for all other offices listed herein. The filing fee may be paid in cash, by certified cheque or money order made payable to the municipality or, only if specified by the municipal clerk in your municipality, by electronic method of

The nomination may be filed with the Municipal Clerk during normal office hours commencing May 2, 2022 until August 18, 2022 and on August 19, 2022, being Nomination Day, between 9:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m. for the following offices:

Mayor     G Councillors	Town of Fort Frances Gabrielle Lecuyer Town Clerk and Returning Officer (807)-274-8479 ext: 1215 glecuyer@fortfrances.ca	Mayor     4 Councillors	Township of Emo Faye Flatt Deputy Clerk and Returning Officer (807)-482-2378 deputyclerk@emo.ca
Mayor     6 Councillors	Town of Rainy River Veldron Vogan CAO/Clerk-Treasurer and Returning Officer (807)-852-3978 vvogan@tbaytel.net	Mayor     4 Councillors	Lake of the Woods Township Patrick W. Giles Clerk-Treasurer and Returning Officer (807)-852-3529 lakeofthewoodstwp@tbaytel.net
• Reeve • 4 Councillors	Township of Alberton Dawn Hayes CAO/Clerk-Treasurer and Returning Officer (807)-274-6053 alberton@jam21.net	• Reeve • 4 Councillors	Township of LaVallee Patti McDowall Clerk-Treasurer and Returning Officer (807) 486-3452 lavalley@nwonet.net
• Reeve • 4 Councillors	Township of Chapple Peggy Johnson CAO/Clerk-Treasurer and Returning Officer (807)-487-2354 ext: 223 cao@chapple.on.ca	• Reeve • 4 Councillors	Township of Morley Teresa Desserre Clerk-Treasurer and Returning Officer (807) 483-5455 townshipofmorley@gmail.com
Mayor     4 Councillors	Township of Dawson Patrick W. Giles Clerk-Treasurer and Returning Officer (807) 852-3529 dawsontwp@tbaytel.net		

## **BOARDS OF EDUCATION**

Boards of Education, pursuant to the Education Act and Regulations, determine the numbers of trustees and the distribution of the trustees in geographic areas across their jurisdictions to be elected to the respective boards. Nominations will be accepted for the office of trustee for the following school boards:

#### Rainy River District School Board

Six (6) Trustees to be elected for the municipalities within the jurisdiction of the Board of Education noted above. (One (1) Trustee to be elected in the Town of Atikokan and surrounding area). Five (5) Trustees to be elected as follows:

Two (2) Trustees to be elected at large by the electors of the Town of Fort Frances and the unorganized areas of Watten, Halkirk, Mine Centre and unsurveyed Wards 16, 18, 19, 23 and 24 with nominations filed with:  Gabrielle Lecuyer Town Clerk and Returning Officer Town of Fort Frances (807)-274-8479 ext: 1215 glecuyer@fortfrances.ca	One (1) Trustee to be elected at large by the electors of the Townships of Emo, Chapple, Sioux Narrows/Nestor Falls Ward 2 and the unorganized areas of Fleming, Senn and unsurveyed Ward 60 with nominations filed with:  Faye Flatt Deputy Clerk and Returning Officer Township of Emo (807)-482-2378 deputyclerk@emo.ca
One (1) Trustee to be elected at large by the electors of the Townships of La Vallee, Alberton and the unorganized areas of Griesinger, Dance, Miscampbell and unsurveyed Ward 22 with nominations filed with:  Patti McDowall Clerk-Treasurer and Returning Officer Township of La Vallee (807) 486-3452 lavalley@nwonet.net	One (1) Trustee to be elected at large by the electors of the Townships of Dawson, Lake of the Woods, Morley, Rainy River and unorganized areas of Sutherland, Pratt, Nelles, Sutterland/ Nelles, Spohn, Dewart and Sifton with nominations filed with:  Veldron Vogan Town of Rainy River CAO/Clerk-Treasurer and Returning Officer (807)-852-3978 vvogan@tbaytel.net

# Northwest Catholic District School Board

Eight (8) Trustees to be elected for the municipalities within the jurisdiction of the Board of Education noted above. (Four (4) Trustees to be elected in Kenora District and one (1) Trustee to be elected in Atikokan). Three (3) Trustees to be elected as follows:

Two (2) Trustees to be elected by the electors of the Town of Fort Frances, Townships of Alberton and La Vallee and an unorganized area with nominations filed with:

Gabrielle Lecuyer Town Clerk and Returning Officer Town of Fort Frances (807)-274-8479 ext: 1215 glecuyer@fortfrances.ca

One (1) Trustee to be elected at large by the electors of the Townships of Emo, Chapple, Morley, Dawson, Lake of the Woods, Sioux Narrows/Nestor Falls and Town of Rainy River with nominations filed with:

Veldron Vogan Town of Rainy River CAO/Clerk-Treasurer and Returning Officer (807)-852-3978 vvogan@tbaytel.net

## French Language Public School Board (Conseil Scolaire du District du Grand Nord De L'Ontario)

One (1) Trustee to be elected at large by the electors of Rainy River District Locality (Unorganized Townships), Dryden Locality 60, 91, 92, 93, 96, City of Dryden, Ignace, Machin, Town of Sioux Lookout, Alberton, Chapple, Dawson, Emo, Fort Frances Rainy River 02 and 03 (Unorganized), Town of Atikokan, Fort Frances, LaVallee, Lake of the Woods, Morley, Rainy River, Kenora Locality (Unorganized), City of Kenora, Sioux Narrows and Thunder Bay; Townships of Conmee, Ear Falls, Gillies, O'Connor and Shuniah; and Municipalities of Oliver Paipoonge, Neebing, Red Lake, Greenstone, Lakehead DSB Locality (Unorganized, and Keewatin-Patricia DSB Locality (Unorganized) with nominations filed with:

Krista Power

City Clerk and Returning Officer

City of Thunder Bay

# French Language Separate School Board (Conseil Scolaire de Catholique des Aurores Boreales)

One (1) Trustee to be elected at large by the electors in the Region west of Dryden to the Manitoba border, including the municipalities of Atikokan, Fort Frances, Kenora, Rainy River, Red Lake, Ear Falls, the Townships of Alberton, Chapple, Dawson, Emo, Lake of the Woods, La Vallee, Morley, Sioux Narrows/Nestor Falls and various unincorporated municipalities adjacent to above with nominations filed with: Heather Kasprick

City Clerk and Returning Officer

City of Kenora

Nominations may be filed in the office of the Municipal Clerk in the municipality with the largest electoral population for the respective board in the geographic area within which the municipality is located.

Dated this 1st day of April 2022.