

Association of Former International Civil Servants (AFICS) - Cyprus

c/o UNFICYP Registry, P.O. Box 25644, CY-1311 Nicosia, Cyprus

telephone: +357 22 61 47 26 - e-mail: <u>afics-cyp@un.org</u> - Web-site: <u>www.afics-cyprus.org</u>

Cyprus Ministry of Interior Registration number: 4095 of 23 May 2014

EIGHTH ORDINARY AFICS-CYPRUS ASSEMBLY MEETING

to be held at:

UNFICYP Headquarters

(SRSG's Dining Room)
Blue Beret Camp, UNPA, Nicosia
on:

Tuesday, 17 March 2020

11:30 hours to 13:00 hours

Item 4 Election of Members to Executive Committee Vacant Seats

- 1. Article 8.1 of the Statutes specifies that the "Executive Committee shall consist of at least five but not more than seven members" elected by the Assembly; Article 8.1(b) and (c) specifies that the Committee's "members shall be elected once every two years" by the Assembly; and that eligible candidates "shall be those proposed by the Nominating Committee and any other names submitted in a nominating petition signed by not less than 10 members, who have met all financial obligations, and received at least 15 days before the session of the Assembly". In the same Article 8.1 (b) it is specified that outgoing members shall be eligible for immediate re-election when the term expires, subject to a maximum of three consecutive terms.
- 2. Following the elections of the Executive Committee members by the 6th and 7th Ordinary Assembly Meetings held on 6 March 2018 and 12 March 2019 the revised composition of the Executive Committee, from 12 March 2019 to 17 March 2020 is as follows:

Name	Office	Number	Re-
	ends on	of Terms	eligible
Mr. Terje ANDERSEN	2021	2	Yes
Ms. Aida BICHARA-McNally	2020	1	Yes
Mr. Gianfranco LONGO	2020	3	No
Ms. Miriam PERICLEOUS	2020	3	No
Mr. Benon SEVAN	2021	2	Yes
Mr. Michael VONIATIS	2020	2	Yes

Bank: Hellenic Bank Ltd. (Branch 121), Corner 92 Digheni Akrita & Kretis, CY-1061 Nicosia

Account Name: Association of Former International Civil Servants (AFICS) - Cyprus

Account No.: 121-01-668228-01 (Euro) - IBAN No.: CY67 0050 0121 0001 2101 6682 2801 - SWIFT (BIC): HEBACY2N

- 3. From the four members retiring at the end of the Assembly's session, Mr. Gianfranco Longo and Mrs. Miriam Pericleous are not eligible for a fourth consecutive term. However, they have expressed their readiness to assist the new Executive Committee and its new President, in the maintenance of the Association's web site, preparation of membership cards and the yearly Newsletter. Mr. Michael Voniatis informed the Committee that he had undertaken new and heavy responsibilities with the Government's medical services and therefore he would not be able to be a candidate for a third term. Furthermore Mr. Terje Andersen has informed the Executive Committee that he would return to his home country, Norway, and he had therefore resigned from the Executive Committee, effective 17 March 2020. Ms. Aïda Bichara-McNally has agreed to present herself for re-election for a second consecutive term, only if new candidates present themselves for a full Executive Committee. At the time of writing, no AFICS member has submitted his/her candidature for the replacement of the four outgoing members. The Committee's only elected member, at the end of its session shall be Mr.Benon Sevan, President of the Committee. During the Session, therefore, in addition to Ms. Aïda Bichara-McNally, at least three members of AFICS, but preferably five, must present themselves as candidates.
- 4. If there are no new candidatures, the Executive Committee has authorised the President to suspend the ordinary session of the Assembly, open a new session as an extraordinary session and proceed with the dissolution of the Association. It is hoped that we shall not need to arrive at such a decision.
- 5. As stated in paragraph 1 above, according to the Statutes, the Executive Committee shall consist of at least five but not more than seven members. From its inception, until 2014, the Executive Committee has been operating with the minimum membership of five. However, the Assembly, during its second Ordinary Session of 12 March 2014, elected two additional members, thus bringing the total to seven. As of 10 March 2015, with the resignation of one member of the Committee who had accepted a long-term position outside Cyprus and the retirement of another member, the Committee remained with five members. With the election of two new members during the 5th Assembly of 7 March 2017, the Executive Committee had, again, seven members. The Executive Committee, after the elections held during the 6th Assembly on 6 March 2018, continued to operate with seven members. Finally The Executive Committee, after the elections held during the 7th Assembly on 12 March 2019, operated with six members.
- 6. The Assembly of AFICS-Cyprus, at its eighth Ordinary Session held on 17 March 2020, will:
 - A. In accordance with Article 8.1(e) of its Statutes, take note of the fact that the term-of-office of five members of the Executive Committee ends on 17 March 2020 and decide to re-elect the following member who has agreed to present her candidature for a period of two years, ending at the close of the tenth Ordinary Session of the Assembly in 2022:

Ms. Aïda BICHARA-McNally (second consecutive term);

B. Elect new members (three, four, or five) for a period of two years, ending at the close of the tenth Ordinary Session of the Assembly in 2022.

C. Extend a special vote of thanks to the outgoing members, Mr. Terje Andersen, Mr. Gianfranco Longo, Mrs. Miriam Pericleous and Mr.Michael Voniatis, who, from the inception of the Association in 2012, have served, as members of the Executive Committee.