Unfortunately not all of us are back for another season. We had several retirements and
a few injuries. We pray that those who are injured get healthy and those who retired
enjoy their time watching....and THANK YOU for you dedication to this avocation.

Remember, we are another year older and the kids stayed the same age....AGAIN!
Hopefully you have worked a scrimmage or will work a scrimmage in the next
week......just getting on the floor again to get the rust off before tip-off weekend is
important.

Today's tip deal with that lovable call we have come to adore.....the hand check! Hand
checking is given in rule 10-7-12 defines the hand check rule as follows:

Hand-checking is a black and white call....it is NOT an advantage/disadvantage call as
in rule 10-7-12. A ball handler has these rights. A 'ball handler' is a player who has the
ball...period. It does not matter where he/she is on the floor or what direction he/she is
facing....if he/she has the ball, any of the acts from rule 10-7-12 when committed MUST
be called a foul.

We have discussed reasons for calling a hand check in ALL cases in the past......such
as a hand check at the elbow of the free throw line and free throw lane when the
dribbler is driving to the hoop and it is passed on since the dribbler is going in for a
goal.....then commits a player control foul.....we have now penalized the ball handler
twice.....fist by not calling the hand check, then by calling the PC he/she committed. Get
the hand checks and it will clean up the game!

Today's clip shows the 'innocent' hand check where no advantage is gained....... then a
5-second called on the ball handler. Again, the ball handler was penalized twice.....once
for no hand check being called, then for committing a 5-second violation.

Moral of the story? CALL THE HAND CHECKS!!!
Take a look at the clip by clicking here.
Have a great scrimmage tonight! Make sure to stretch well before running also!

Tim


https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0BdW-mdo6vcTXNSN0xFTmJLakE/view?usp=sharing

