REGULAR MEETING - BOARD OF TRUSTEES SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 1 DANIELS COUNTY, MONTANA

Open Session

DATE: February 12, 2024

TIME: 7:00 p.m. PLACE: Music Room

MEMBERS PRESENT: Jesse Cole, Tim Tande, Leif Handran and DuWayne Wilson in

person; Logan Olson remotely

ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF PRESENT: Greg Hardy, Caitlin Buer and Colleen Drury

OTHERS PRESENT: Tammi Fladager, Kyla Cromwell, Anne Juel, Aiden Fouhy, Aiden

Norby and Cindy Fouhy

Chairman Jesse Cole called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. Roll was taken and it was established that a quorum was present. Patrons & Visitors were recognized.

On motion by DuWayne Wilson and seconded by Leif Handran, the minutes from the January 5, 2024 Regular meeting were approved unanimously as presented.

Informational Items:

Superintendent Hardy talked about a possible change to the 2024-2025 Spartan Standards regarding co-op students attendance at school sponsored activities (dances etc.)

Staff Reports:

The Business Manager and Superintendent's report were discussed and are attached and made a part of these minutes by reference.

Committee Reports:

The Finance committee meeting report held January 16, 2024 was given by DuWayne Wilson and the Negotiations committee report held January 16, 2024 was given by Mr. Hardy.

Finance:

On motion by Logan Olson and seconded by DuWayne Wilson, Claims #18869 - #18922 dated January 3, 2024 – February 8, 2024 in the amount of \$133,295.25, were approved unanimously as presented.

On motion by Leif Handran and seconded by Logan Olson, the Activities Report for the month of January, 2024 was approved unanimously as presented.

New Business:

DuWayne Wilson moved to approve the memorial for Walt Reller as presented by students. Leif Handran seconded and with final approval of design and location designated to Mr. Hardy, all present voted in favor.

Logan Olson moved to approve the second reading of the November 30, 2023 board policy updates as presented. DuWayne Wilson seconded and all present voted in favor.

Logan Olson moved to approve the Budget Amendment Resolution for the Scobey School District for 2023-2024 school year as presented. Tim Tande seconded and all present voted in favor.

Logan Olson moved to approve the resolution calling for a poll election on Tuesday, May 7, 2024 at the Scobey high school between the hours of 12:00 noon and 8:00 p.m. for the purpose of electing two (2) trustees for a three (3) year term and voting for general fund, technology and building reserve budget authority and funding as necessary. For lack of a second the motion failed. Logan Olson then moved to adopt the resolution calling for a mail ballot election on Tuesday, May 7, 2024, for the purpose of electing two (2) trustees for a three (3) year term and voting for general fund, technology and building reserve budget authority and funding as necessary. DuWayne Wilson seconded and all present voted in favor.

DuWayne Wilson moved to appoint Kim Fjeld, Diane Bekker and Nancy Lund as election judges for the May 7, 2024 school election. Leif Handran seconded and all present voted in favor.

Logan Olson moved to approve the changes to bus Route 4 and Route 5 for the remainder of the 2023-2024 school year as presented. Leif Handan seconded and all present voted in favor.

Logan Olson moved to renew the Multi-district Agreement with Glasgow K12 school and Kircher Elementary school for another 3 years beginning July 1, 2024 and ending June 30, 2027. DuWayne Wilson seconded and all present voted in favor.

Logan Olson moved to approve the quote from Farris Farm & Auto to purchase an engine for the 2013 Ford E350 activity bus in the amount of \$3,247.99 as presented. Leif Handran seconded and all present voted in favor.

Logan Olson moved to offer Teaching Contracts for the 2024-2025 school year at the following full-time equivalents to the following employees:

	FTE		<u>FTE</u>		FTE
Backman, Dawn	1.0	Berryhill, Brock	1.0	Cromwell, Kyla	1.0
Euken, Michael	1.0	Ferguson, Paula	1.0	Green, Jamie	1.0
Heidel, BriAnn	1.0	Henderson, Del	1.0	Johnsrud, Jasmine	1.0
Kimball, Kendra	1.0	Leibrand, Karla	1.0	Manternach, Amand	da 1.0
Nelson, Tami	1.0	Nelson, Valita	1.0	Olson, Lawren	1.0
Rask, Raelee	1.0	States, John	1.0	Thievin, Annette	1.0
Torgerson, Kim	1.0	Wittak, Connie	1.0		

DuWayne Wilson seconded and all present voted in favor.

Logan Olson moved to approve the following coaches and volunteers for the 2023 spring seasons pending necessary background checks:

<u>Assistant Track</u>	<u>Volunteer Track</u>	<u>Assistant Golf</u>
Shalice Maldonado	Terry Farver	Greg Hardy
KC Holum	Sean Southland	
Collin Wahl	Devon Southland	
Kaitlin Switzer – Jr. High		

Tim Tande seconded and all present voted in favor.

Board Discussion:

The next regular meeting is set for March 11, 2024.

8	8	
Chairman	 District Clerk	

There being no further discussion or business, the meeting was adjourned.