Good afternoon! Hope you have a FANTASTIC weekend and are ready for the stretch run of the final 3
weeks of the season.

Today’s topic......a double dribble or not? You know, those plays where a player receives a pass and it
hits his/her hand and goes to the floor, he/she picks it up and starts a dribble then......double dribble or
not? Take a look here for a clip of this type of situation.

What do you have? Violation or not? Hare it the definition of a dribble from the rules book.

ART. 1

& dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or
pushes the ball to the floor once or several times. It is not a part of a dribble when the ball touches a player's own
backboard.

ART. 2

Dwring a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched
again with the handis).

ART. 3
The dribble begins by pushing, throwing or batting the ball to the floor before the pivet foot is lifted.

ART. 4
The dribble ends when:
a. The dribbler catches or causes the ball to come to rest in one or both hands.

b. The dribbler palms/carries the ball by allowing it to come to rest in one or both hands.

ART. 3

An interrupted dribble occurs when the ball is loose after deflecting off the dribbler or after it momentarily gets away
from the dribbler. There is no player control during an interrupted dribble.

ART. &

Dwuring an interrupted dribble:
a. A closely guarded count shall not be started or shall be terminated.
b. & player-control foul cannet be committed, but a team-contrel foul still may be committed.
c. A time-out request shall not be granted.

d. Out-of-bounds viclation does not apply on the player invohed in the interrupted dribble.



https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0BdW-mdo6vcQWZwanBQTkF5Tms/view?usp=sharing

Let me say that the ANGLE the official has on these plays can mean everything in whether it is deemed a
dribble on the original pass when the ball went to the floor. We need to determine if the player
controlled it to the floor. If so, violation, and if not, play on. SEE what happened on the receiving of the
pass, make a determination and do what needs done from that process.

What we MUST not do is guess. If we are not SURE it was controlled to the floor on the receiving of the
pass, it is not a dribble, hence no violation. Bottom line.....be POSITIVE of how it went to the floor.....if

you aren’t SURE, the ball handler is ‘safe’ and no dribble.

Have a great game today, safe travels and be SURE when you out air in the whistle.

Tim



