

J. L. TURNER LEGAL ASSOCIATION FOUNDATION

P.O. Box 130987, Dallas, Texas 75313-0987 www.jlturnerfoundation.org

Dear Law School Administrators,

I am the 2018 Chair of the J.L. Turner Legal Association Foundation ("Foundation.") Our Annual Scholarship and Awards Gala will be held on October 20, 2018 at the Fairmont Hotel in Dallas, Texas.

The Foundation seeks to administer and support programs to increase diversity in the legal profession. At the annual Gala, the Foundation will award both academic scholarships and financial need awards. The academic scholarships are based on grades, difficulty of coursework, community service, and essay submission. The financial need scholarships are based majorly on the financial need of the applicant.

- * Barbara Jordan Scholarship
- Fred Finch Scholarship
- ❖ Honorable Phyllis Lister Brown Memorial Scholarship
- Marie Trahan/Susman Godfrey Scholarship*
- Financial need awards

The Foundation is seeking diverse law students with connections to the Dallas/Fort Worth metroplex. Applicants are required to submit a resume, transcript, essay, letter of reference, photo, and financial need statement (if applicable). Please share this information with eligible students at your law school. All application materials must be received by **September 17, 2018**. Winners will be notified by early October 2018 and are expected to attend the Gala and accept the award in person. Funds will be dispersed after winners provide Fall 2018 grades, Spring 2019 class schedule and their current mailing address to the Scholarship Committee, essentially in January-February 2019.

Please contact us with any questions or concerns.

Ebony R. Rivon 2018 Foundation Chair ebony@rivonlawfirm.com (214) 997-4073

Diana Bandoh 2018 Grant and Scholarship Committee Co-Chair diana.bandoh@gs.com (972) 368-2473

Jade Mens 2018 Grant and Scholarship Committee Co-Chair jade@thelawgem.com (817) 380-8451

2018 Foundation Board of Directors

Ebony R. Rivon Rivon Law Firm, PLLC Chair

Kandace D. Walter Walter Legal PLLC Immediate Past Chair

Lacy Durham

Deloitte

Treasurer

Nakisha Lewis

Simon Greenstone Panatier, P.C. Secretary & 2018 Gala Co-Chair

LaToyia Pierce XL Catlin Insurance Company Director

Sharon S. Gilmore

The Meyers Law Group LLP Grant & Scholarship Chair

Amber Hamilton -Gregg

Dallas County District
Attorney's Office
Director

Ashlei Gradney

Gradney Law, P.C. Director

Erin Nowell

Simon Greenstone Panatier, P.C. Director

Tatiana Alexander McGuireWoods, LLP Director