MISSISSIPPI

Mississippi achieved statehood in 1817,¹ and the next year it was organized as a single district with full federal jurisdiction.² The state was reorganized into Northern and Southern Districts in 1838, though with one judge for both.³ MS.SD.01 is the original seat (see Judge Shields' succession line), and presided over the entire state (and then the two districts) until a judgeship was created exclusively for the Northern District in 1929.⁴

Mississippi is in the Fifth Circuit,⁵ and has nine judgeships—three in the Northern District and six in the Southern.

Statutory History				
Seat	Legislation	Authority		
MS.ND.01	Act of March 1, 1929	45 Stat. 1422		
MS.ND.02	Act of March 18, 1966	80 Stat.75		
MS.ND.03	Act of July 10, 1984	98 Stat. 333		
MS.SD.01	Act of April 3, 1818	3 Stat. 413		
MS.SD.02	Act of May 19, 1961	75 Stat. 80		
MS.SD.03	Act of March 18, 1966	80 Stat. 75		
MS.SD.04	Act of July 10, 1984	98 Stat. 333		
MS.SD.05	Act of July 10, 1984	98 Stat. 333		
MS.SD.06	Act of December 1, 1990	104 Stat. 5089		

¹Act of December 10, 1817, 3 STAT. 472.

²Act of April 3, 1818, 3 STAT. 413.

³Act of June 18, 1838, 5 STAT. 247.

⁴Act of March 1, 1929, 45 STAT. 1422.

⁵Act of October 15, 1980, 94 STAT. 1994. See Harvey C. Couch, *A History of the Fifth Circuit 1891-1981* (Washington: Judicial Conference of the United States, 1984); Deborah J. Barrow and Thomas G. Walker, *A Court Divided: The Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals and the Politics of Judicial Reform* (New Haven: Yale University Press, 1988).

Seat Histories		T	1		1
Position #	Name	Date of Confirmation	Date of Departure	Reason	Party
MS.ND.01.01	Cox, Elijah Allen	March 2, 1929	March 22, 1957	Retired	Democrat
MS.ND.01.02	Clayton, Claude Feemster	March 4, 1958	October 27, 1967	Elevated to Fifth Circuit	Democrat
MS.ND.01.03	Smith, Orma R.	July 25, 1968	August 16, 1978	Retired	Democrat
MS.ND.01.04	Senter, Lyonel T., Jr.	December 20, 1979	July 30, 1998	Retired	Democrat
MS.ND.01.05	Pepper, W. Allen, Jr.	June 30, 1999	Active	Active	Democrat
MS.ND.02.01	Keady, William C.	April 3, 1968	April 6, 1983	Retired	Democrat
MS.ND.02.02	Biggers, Neal B.	March 27, 1984	October 1, 2000	Retired	Democrat
MS.ND.02.03	Mills, Michael P.	October 11, 2001	Active	Active	Republican
MS.ND.03.01	Davidson, Glen H.	October 16, 1985	Active	Active	Republican
MS.SD.01.01	Shields, William Bayard	April 20, 1818	April 18, 1823	Deceased	Jeffersonian Democrat
MS.SD.01.02	Randolph, Peter	December 9, 1823 ⁶	January 30, 1832	Deceased	Jeffersonian Democrat
MS.SD.01.03	Ellis, Powhatan	July 14, 1832	January 5, 1836	Resigned	Democrat
MS.SD.01.04	Adams, George	January 20, 1836	September 30, 1838	Resigned	Democrat

⁶Recess appointment, June 25, 1823.

Seat Histories					
Position #	Name	Date of Confirmation	Date of Departure	Reason	Party
MS.SD.01.05	Gholson, Samuel Jameson	February 13, 1839	January 1, 1861	Resigned	Democrat
MS.SD.01.06	Hill, Robert Andrews	May 1, 1866	August 1, 1891	Retired	Whig
MS.SD.01.07	Niles, Henry Clay	January 11, 1892 ⁷	September 26, 1918	Deceased	Republican
MS.SD.01.08	Holmes, Edwin Ruthven	October 24, 1918	March 20, 1936	Elevated to Fifth Circuit	Democrat
MS.SD.01.09	Mize, Sidney Carr	February 2, 1937	April 26, 1965	Deceased	Democrat
MS.SD.01.10	Russell, Dan Monroe, Jr.	October 1, 1965	October 25, 1983	Retired	Democrat
MS.SD.01.11	Lee, Tom Stewart	June 11, 1984	April 8, 2006	Retired	Independent
MS.SD.01.12	Jordan, Daniel Porter III	July 20, 2006	Active	Active	Republican
MS.SD.02.01	Cox, William H.	June 30, 1961	October 4, 1982	Retired	Democrat
MS.SD.02.02	Barbour, William H., Jr.	April 21, 1983	February 4, 2006	Retired	Republican
MS.SD.02.03	Vacant				
MS.SD.03.01	Nixon, Walter L., Jr.	June 6, 1968	November 3, 1989	Impeached	Democrat
MS.SD.03.02	Pickering, Charles W., Sr.	September 28, 1990	January 16, 2004	Elevated to Fifth Circuit	Republican

⁷Recess appointment, August 11, 1891.

Seat Histories					
Position #	Name	Date of Confirmation	Date of Departure	Reason	Party
MS.SD.03.03	Starrett, Keith	November 20, 2004	Active	Active	Republican
MS.SD.04.01	Gex, Walter J., III	February 25, 1986	March 24, 2004	Retired	Republican
MS.SD.04.02	Guirola, Louis, Jr.8	March 12, 2004	Active	Active	Republican
MS.SD.05.01	Wingate, Henry T. ⁹	October 16, 1985	Active	Active	Independent
MS.SD.06.01	Bramlette, David Clay, III	November 21, 1991	March 20, 2006	Retired	Republican
MS.SD.06.02	Vacant				

⁸First Hispanic district judge appointed from Mississippi.

⁹First African American district judge appointed from Mississippi.