Good morning!

Yesterday’s clip with a back court violation on the opening tip was just a prep for making sure we go in
the right direction. Today’s clip is a back court violation that is just for that.......take a look here.

Rule 9.9

ART.A

A player must not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate
last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt

EXCEPTION: A ball in team control of Team A in the frontcourt that is deflected by a defensive player, which causes the
hall fo go info the backcourt, may be recovered by either team unless the offense was the last o touch the ball before it

went into the backcourt. If the offense was last to touch the ball in its frontcourt, only the defense can legally recover the
basketball.

ART. 2

While in player and team control in its backcourt, a player must not cause the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and
return to backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, such that hefshe or a teammate is the first to
touch itin the backcourt.

ART. 3

During a jump ball, throw-in or while on defense, a player may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the
hall with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a
normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt.

PENALTY: (Section 9) The ball is dead when the violation occurs and is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in from
the designated out-of-bounds spot nearest the violation.

So in this play, we must determine if white had team control in the front court. Unfortunately the clip
starts later than | would have wanted......and to clarify, the ball was loose in whites back court and went
into their front court. SO.....did any player in white gain control in the front court? White 0 passes the
ball in white 1’s direction. White 0 DID have control of the ball to make this pass, hence player AND
team control. Now that we have determined team control was established, did black ever gain team
control (by and black gaining player control)? NO. This means that a back court violation is still possible.
Who was the last to touch the ball before it went into the back court? It certainly appears that white 3
tipped the ball towards the back court. Since the ball went the way he was going and did not get tipped
the way black 25 was going, the official made a good assessment of the tip. The ball was caught by white
4 in the air near the division line. He jumped from the back court (so back court status), caught/tipped
the ball while in the air and landed (happened to be in the front court but that does not matter).

All that matters here is that white had team control in the front court and they were the last to touch in
the front court and first to touch in the back court, so we DO have a back court violation. Great job by

the officials here!

They actually went to a review of the play and upheld the back court violation. The announcers were
going nut saying it is definitely white’s ball and they kicked the rule......the experts behind the mike!

These types of plays with the ball being tipped and loose all over the court do not just happen in our


https://drive.google.com/file/d/1NohlW_ZEoTGvlCvQaXdTUuS2tpcQEO9n/view?usp=sharing

Thursday Extra: Here is the link to obtaining the three required clearances.....remember that there are
500 school district, 13,000 officials, 13 State System of Higher Ed schools, Pitt, Penn State, all the other
universities in PA and who know how many other organizations whose employees will have clearances
coming due this summer if they have been with that organization for 5 years. Don’t wait till 2 weeks

before your first scrimmage for your sport to get the ball rolling! It is easy but need attention to detail!

Have a great game tonight!

Tim


https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Clearances/Pages/default.aspx

