## **History of Calvary Grove Baptist Church**

In 1946, at Sam's Crossing in Decatur, Georgia, The Calvary Grove Baptist Church was born. It was built by Mr. Guy Rutland, and given to the community for any denomination to freely use. The church remained on the Decatur site for 12 years until the Marta Rapid Transit System expansion purchased the property.

Looking for a new location, Mr. Guy Rutland's son (Mr. Calvin T. Rutland) bought the property in Scottdale, Georgia, the current location where Calvary Grove Baptist Church now stands. The land was purchased on August 1, 1967. After 70 years, Calvary Grove Baptist Church is still proclaiming the Gospel of Jesus Christ and impacting the community.

The Rev. E. D. Connell was called, being the first Pastor of Calvary Grove Baptist Church. Other Pastors of Calvary Grove Baptist Church are as stated: Rev. E. L. Bussie, Rev. Chiles, Rev. Hill, Rev. Johnny Jones, Rev. H.C. Scales, Rev. Giles, Rev. Jackson, Rev. W. M. Britton, Sr. (Pastor Emeritus), Rev. D. L. Surrey, Sr. and the current Pastor Rev. Ken L. Morris.

The Assistant Pastors who have served Calvary Grove Baptist Church are as stated: Rev. Moss, Rev. D.L. Surrey (served on two occasions), Sr., Rev. A.C. Smith and Rev. James Durden.

Deacon A. D. Foster organized the first Calvary Grove Baptist Church Sunday school in 1989. He served as the Superintendent of the Sunday school, and Chairman of the Deacon Board until 1992. Deacon A.D. Foster was assisted by the First Lady Emma L. Britton. She served as a Sunday school teacher and a loyal supporter of the Sunday school for many years. Deacon Preston Reid is the current Superintendent of the Calvary Grove Baptist Church Sunday school.

Other Deacons who have served at Calvary *Grove* Baptist Church are as stated: Deacon Fake, Deacon Frank Johnson, Deacon Roger Preston, Deacon Joe Brown, Deacon Binder, Deacon Sam Ray, Deacon A. D. Foster, Deacon Jesse Luke, Deacon Clarence slaughter, Deacon Charles Harris and Deacon Rabor.

The current Deacon Ministry consists of: (Chairman) Deacon Floyd Smith, (Vice-Chairman) Deacon Willie Kelley, (Secretary) Deacon Preston Reid, Deacon Daniel Woods and Deacon-In-Training Anthony (Scooter) Smith.

Mother Pearl Johnson & Mother Ceaster Schoates organized the first Calvary Grove Usher Board. Mother Schoates served Calvary Grove until her demise. Mother Johnson continues to serve as an advisory to the Usher Board. She is also the longest serving Mother.

Calvary Grove Baptist Church is, and will always be a community church. Hopefully, 70 years from now, the congregants who worship at Calvary Grove Baptist Church will celebrate the 140th Church Anniversary with a sense of pride as they carry on the legacy and tradition of the Calvary Grove Baptist Church.

It is the current congregants' responsibility to pass on that legacy and strengthen the tradition. Let us find meaning in the words of this song that was prophetically penned by the songwriter: "We've come this far by Faith. Leaning on the Lord! He never failed us yet. Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, can't turn around! We've come this far by Faith."

WITH JESUS AS OUR LEADER & THE HOLY SPIRIT AS OUR COUNSELOR, WE WILL MOVE FORWARD!!! Arise, let us go hence...