# **2016 KYNSDA DISTRICT TOURNAMENT AWARDS**

DISTRICT PLAQUE

#### Beechwood

TRAVELING TROPHY

#### Ryle

#### **SPEECH SWEEPSTAKES**

**Rowan County** 

#### **DEBATE SWEEPSTAKES**

**duPont Manual** 

# CONGRESS SWEEPSTAKES

### STUDENT OF THE YEAR

Jorge Rojas-Ortega, Trinity

#### COACH OF THE YEAR

Michael Robinson, Murray

#### SUSAN MOORE AWARD

Zane Arnold, Danville

#### HARLEN HAMM AWARD

Makda Mehari, Rowan Co.

# LEADING CHAPTER AWARD

Assumption

Listed here are the finalists in Speech, the top seven in Congress, and the top four in Debate as determined from our 2016 District Tournament.

Due to the fact that some students placed highly enough to qualify in more than one event, some students who placed first or second turned down their national qualifications to attend in other events; some students also had conflicts emerge. Thus, the students who are representing Kentucky at the National tournament are listed in BLUE below. Go Team Kentucky!

# DRAMATIC INTERPRETATION

- 1. Grace Sheene, Danville
- 2. Molly Simpson, Rowan Co.
- 3. Matthew Pugh, Beechwood
- 4. Hannah Draut, Danville
- 5. Chapel Tinius, Bowling Green
- 6. Myla Taylor, Murray

# **DUO INTERPRETATION**

- 1. Jenkins and Meritt, Rowan Co.
- 2. Mehari and Simpson, Rowan Co.
- 3. Kruml and Sudenga, Boone Co.
- 4. Ballard and Morley, Danville
- 5. Ammons and Menard, Rowan Co.
- 6. Cheam and Daugherty, Danville
- 7. Pugh and Walz, Beechwood

# HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

- 1. Zane Arnold, Danville
- 2. Emily Falica, SKY Academy
- 3. Callie Freeman, Sacred Heart Academy
- 4. Patrick Edwards, Ryle
- 5. Emma Li Mathews, Rowan Co.
- 6. Alecia Devney, Danville
- 7. Billy Critchfield, Danville

# 2016 KYNSDA DISTRICT TOURNAMENT AWARDS

# HUMOROUS INTERPRETATION

- 1. Nathan Sudenga, Boone Co.
- 2. Corey Newsome, Rowan Co.
- 3. Faith LoPiccolo, Henry Clay
- 4. Lydia Graham, Danville
- 5. Kait Petter, Assumption

# **INFORMATIVE SPEAKING**

- 1. Abigail Anderson, Danville
- 2. Elena Cecil, LaRue Co.
- 3. Cole Vaughan, Bowling Green
- 4. Andrew Sexton, Rowan Co.

# INTERNATIONAL EXTEMPORANEOUS SPEAKING

- 1. Raegan Davis, Assumption
- 2. Jorge Rojas-Ortega, Trinity
- 3. Emily Falica, SKY Academy
- 4. Adrianna Waters, Boone Co.
- 5. David Lu, Murray
- 6. Nathan Terrell, Rowan Co.

# LINCOLN-DOUGLAS DEBATE

- 1. Riti Pathak, duPont Manual
- 2. Ria Jain, duPont Manual
- 3. Lauren Ratliff, Beechwood
- 4. Greg Schwartz, duPont Manual

#### **ORIGINAL ORATORY**

- 1. Leanne Hays, Boone Co.
- 2. Anna Cate Brown, Murray
- 3. Emma Li Mathews, Rowan Co.
- 4. Celeste Fieberg, Danville
- 5. Kelly Chen, Dunbar
- 6. Mrithunjey Suresh, Ryle
- 7. Sara Barringer, Danville

# **PROGRAM ORAL INTERP**

- 1. Hannah Draut, Danville
- 2. Liza Rash, Beechwood
- 3. Lydia Graham, Danville
- 4. Zoie Webb, LaRue Co.
- 5. Jordan Whittaker, Rowan Co.
- 6. Symone Whalin, LaRue Co.
- 7. Claire Bickers, Beechwood

### PUBLIC FORUM DEBATE

- 1. Watson-Survance, duPont Manual
- 2. Ma-Mohammadzaden, Dunbar
- 3. Philip–Nuguse, duPont Manual
- 4. Deitz-Gardone, Assumption
- 5. Brennan-Zaczek, Ballard

# SENATE

- 1. Jorge Rojas-Ortega, Trinity
- 2. Mrithunjey Surseh, Ryle
- 3. Raegan Davis, Assumption
- 4. Trent Lyons, Murray
- 5. Oliver Lawal, Ryle
- 6. Caitlin Haskett, Danville
- 7. Faith LoPiccolo, Henry Clay

# UNITED STATES EXTEMPORANEOUS SPEAKING

- 1. Jorge Rojas-Ortega, Trinity
- 2. Raegan Davis, Assumption
- 3. Adrianna Waters, Boone Co.
- 4. Emily Falica, SKY