

Executive Meeting 2<sup>nd</sup> Tuesday of each month except July and August at 8:00PM

Regular Meeting 4<sup>th</sup> Tuesday of each month except July, August and December Oasis starting at 7:00PM Meeting at 8:00PM LAKEHEAD SHRINE CLUB 1600 DEASE STREET THUNDER BAY ON P7C5H4
ph. 623-9181

admin@lakeheadshrineclub.ca www.lakeheadshineclub.ca www.tbaycircus.com

# Next Regular Meeting February 28, 2017 Shrine Blazer or Business Suit

## **Electronic Payments**

In keeping with changing times, Khartum and the Lakehead Shrine Club are pleased to offer electronic payment of dues etc.

To pay for your **Khartum Shrine Membership** renewal using ONLINE banking

Add a payee exactly as shown: Khartum Temple A.A.O.N.M.S.

You can pay your dues, donations or anything else you want to pay online.

Also you can use another option to pay your **Lakehead Shrine Club** dues which are \$25 per year and due on January of each year.

You can pay by sending an email money transfer to grant3451@gmail.com

For a password use the word "shriners" If you're unsure as to what you owe in

If you're unsure as to what you owe in dues to the Lakehead Shrine Club send an email to grant3451@gmail.com and inquire

### **QUICK LINKS**

Shriners International
Khartum Ladies Auxiliary
Lakehead Shrine Club
Lakehead Shrine Circus
Algoma District Khartum Shriners



www.beashrinernow.com

NOTICE: Stated Meeting Feb 23<sup>rd</sup> at 8:30 PM Dease Street – Dress Shrine Blazer or Business Suit

## **February Presidents Message**



Nobles, wow, what a great turnout for the Past Presidents Luncheon. I would like to congratulate Noble Watts as the newest Past President. I look forward on following up

with you on some more evening fun events. I would also like to congratulate our newest members. Thank-you to all the Nobles who helped. Couldn't get it done without your work. It was nice to see Illustrious Sir Chibu Uson, Lady Mae and Noble Doug McKechnie and Lady Brenda and to our Ladies thank-you for your continued support. Noble Steven Abbott and his guest speaker James Forneri Jr. nice job. Finally Noble John Stewart, what can I say about you proposal re: the "summer feast". Great entry. Thank-you all. Good food, great friendship and good work. See you all at our next meeting.

Noble Robert Willett

Lakehead Shrine Club President

#### **Ill and Distress**

Noble Paul Barrie's mother passed away. Noble Danny Balacko is having trouble with his balance and has hurt his knee. Former member Hector Shanks passed away. Noble Trevor Curran's son was in the hospital.

If you are aware of any Noble, or lady, in ill or distressed circumstances please contact Noble Michael Abbott at 935-2471 or <a href="mailto:mabbott@tbaytel.net">mabbott@tbaytel.net</a>. I would rather hear from ten nobles, or ladies, than not at all.

## Membership

Congratulations to the newest members

to Khartum Shriners and the Lakehead Shrine Club, Front Row L to R: Nobles Mike McGinnis.



Garry Agostino, Graham Davis and Russell MacLeod

#### STATED MEETING

As some of you may already be aware Lakehead Shrine Club will be participating in the Khartum Stated Meetings via Video Conferencing. This means that Nobles from the Lakehead Shrine Club and others can be seen and heard, and in addition participants will also be able to VOTE at Stated Meetings. However, this means that we will need to address a view protocol issues. To participate at these meetings all nobles must show a 2017 KHARTUM dues card or be on an updated list that will be provided to our secretary by Khartum; **NO EXCEPTIONS** and must sign in prior to meeting. An information package will be sent to all

Nobles from Khartum within the next week, so please review and if you have any questions you will have an opportunity to ask them at the Stated Meeting.

This is a great opportunity, not only will we be aware what is going on within Khartum, we will also have a voice, so please plan on attending these Stated Meetings so we ALL can work together in helping the Children. Fraternally Del Harasyn

Deputy Outer Guard (Lakehead)

#### **NEWS**

Thanks to Graham Davis for taking150 lbs. of pop tabs to the twin city hospital. Also a big thank you to Harbour Youth Boys and Girls Club at Kingsway School for collecting 200,000 tabs just after Christmas.

The price for the new order of blazers will be \$125 each plus shipping on orders of 5 or less and the same price for orders over 6 less the shipping charge; for 12 or more the price will be \$109 each. If you are considering ordering one now contact

Noble Richard Bauch (577-1577) for info on how to proceed.

LSC PAST PRESIDENTS		2017 LSC Executive	
*1938 – R.B. Pow	*1984 – J. H. McEachern		Bob Willett
*1939 – George Blanchard		1st Vice President	Richard Bauch
*1944 – D. Cox	*1986 – P. H. Rogers	2nd Vice President	Del Harasyn
*1945 – G. Marr	*1987 – C. Elliotson	3rd Vice President	Mark Kusznier
*1946 – W. Ingram	1988 – Art Stephenson	Secretary	Grant Poulin
*1947 – J. Burton	*1989 – John R. Craig	Treasurer	Milan Thierry
*1948 – N. H. McLennan	1990 – Jim Kingston	Past President	Ion Watts
*1949 – C. Robinson	1991 – Russ Bright	Auditors	Peter Knudsen
*1950 – J. B. Williams	1991 – Russ Blight 1992 – Ed Carr	- Tuditors	David Krawchuk
*1951 – H. Barnes	*1993 – Ed Carr *1993 – Jack Parrott	Khartum Appoin	
*1952 – C. A. Auld	*1994 – Gerry Friday		Del Harasyn
	*1995 – Fred Stewardson	-	Michael Abbott
*1953 – W. Sargent	*1995 – Fred Stewardson *1996 – Arne Simonsen		
*1954 – H. Brimmell *1955 – J. B. Johnson	*1996 – Arne Simonsen *1997 – Jack Shannon	Elected I	Trevor Curran
	†	Jeff Geddert	Al Smith
*1956 – R. H. Smith	*1998 – John Williams		
*1957 – H. Crawford	*1999 – Bill Swan		Bob Vogt
*1958 – G. Matheson	2000 – Al Werpny	Appointed Clown Unit	Andy Anderson
*1959–A.T.MacMillan	2001 – Michael Abbott		•
*1960 – A. M. Woodside	2002 – Jim McConnell	Pipe Band Motor Patrol	Jim Kingston
*1961 – H. Lovelady	*2003 – Joe Skehar Sr.		Bill Hawryluk Jr.
*1962 – O. R. Tanner	2004 – Andy Anderson	Cyco's	Joe Skehar
*1963 – M. A. Petlow	2005 – Larry Irwin	101's	Larry Irwin
*1964 – G. Pipher	2006 – Jim Eccles	Provost	Ed Carr
*1965 – E. D. Higginbottom	2007 – John Cameron	Past Presidents	Bill Davis
*1966 – J. E. Edwards	2008 – Bob Foley		1
*1967 – L. Watkinson	2009 – Nigel Smith		
*1968 – J. H. Dawson	2010 – Kevin McDowell		
*1969 – F. Ainsworth	2011 – Craig Wolverton		
*1970 – M. D. Simmons	2012 – Tony Biscardi		
*1971 – R. J. Howard	2013 – Grant Poulin		
*1972 – R. W. Beech	2014 – Joe Skehar Jr.		
*1973 – K. B. Ridler	2015 – Bill Davis		
*1974 – E. H. Dawson	2016 – Jon Watts		
*1975 – W. T. Miller			
*1976 – M. F. Thompson			
*1977 – A. E. Knox			
*1978 – A. Ferguson			
1979 – J. R. Smith			
*1980 – D. R. Long			
*1981 – H. J. Coe			
*1982 – E. G. Rollason			
*1983 – J. I. Wells	* Deceased		
	•	•	



## **Passing the Gavel**

At the first Executive meeting of the club held on January 10<sup>th</sup>, now Past President Noble Jon Watts ceremoniously passed the gavel to incoming President Noble Robert Willett. Both Nobles seem very pleased by the experience (maybe one more than the other).

## Some Highlights from the Past Presidents Luncheon and Mini Ceremonial



Past President Noble Jon Watts receives his certificate from Illustrious Sir Potentate Chibu Uson.



The "First Daughters" of 2016 receive a rose for all their assistance with the Shrine Club over the years helping their dad Past President Noble Jon Watts. Presenting the flowers are Noble Grant Poulin and Lady Joanne Poulin to Val, Brooke and Gwen.

## **Hospital Transportation**

Visits in the month of February 5 Visits for the year 2017 11/9 New patients 2017 1 - One application sent in this month