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JANUARY 2024 – Local Rule E-3, Preferred Lie 

Now that winter is upon us the question of “winter rules” came up recently 
at one of our local clubs.    We now refer to Winter Rules as “Preferred Lies.” 

When conditions such as extreme dampness, muddiness, etc. are 
widespread The Committee (ie the person or persons in charge of setting the 
competition and conditions of play - may be the person in charge of the 
sweeps for the day or the committee putting on a tournament, often with 
consultation with the head pro and/or rules chair) can choose to adopt Local 
Rule E-3 for "preferred lies."   
 
It can be applied only to the fairway "general area cut to fairway height or 
less" or to the "general area" which would include fairway and rough but not 
bunkers, teeing grounds, putting greens or penalty areas.   
 
It is recommended that you choose the fairway only unless the rough is so 
muddy that balls would pick up too much mud.   
 
The relief area must not be nearer the hole and must be in the general area.  
 
You must specify the size of the relief area eg. one club length or 6 inches, 
etc.   
 
Remember we no longer use "fairway" and "rough" but rather the 
"general area cut to fairway height" or the "general area." 
 



Example #1:  Preferred Lies are in effect:  A ball lying in the general 
area may, without penalty, be lifted, cleaned and placed within one club 
length of where it originally lay, but not nearer the hole than the reference 
point and in the general area (not on a  putting green or tee box or in a 
bunker or penalty area.) 
 
Example #2:  Preferred Lies are in effect:  A ball lying in the general 
area cut to fairway height of less area may, without penalty, be lifted, 
cleaned and placed within six  inches of where it originally lay, but not 
nearer the hole than the reference point and in the general area.  
 
Information about Preferred Lies can be found in the back of the Official 
Guide to the Rules of Golf in the Model Local rules section.  Local Rules 
which apply in all SDCWGA events can be found on our website. 
 

MARCH 2024 – USGA Rule 6.3c(1), Wrong Ball 

Test Your Knowledge 

This month we have a quiz for you, based upon a scenario submitted 
from a recent event at a member’s golf club: 

 In a stroke play competition Player #1 chips onto the green, landing 
about a foot from the hole. 
 

 Before she can get to the green to mark her ball, Player #2 chips onto 
the green and hits Player #1’s ball. Both balls scatter on the green. 
 

 Player #1 goes to the green and places a marker at the spot where her 
ball was located before being hit by Player #2’s ball. All players agree on 
the mark. 
 

 Player #1 picks up one of the deflected balls from the green (that she 
thought was hers). 
 

 Player #2 goes to another deflected ball on the green (assuming it’s hers) 
and putts it out. 
 

 Player#1 goes to place the ball at her marker and notices it’s not her ball. 
 

 Turns out Player #1 picked up Player #2’s ball by mistake and Player #2 
realized she had already putted out with Player #1’s ball. 
 

 Player #1 retrieved her ball and placed it at her marker & putted out. 
 

 Player #2 replaced her ball to its estimated original location (where 
Player #1 had picked it up) and putted out. 
 



What is the ruling? (Select one or more options) 

A. Player #1 gets the general penalty (2 strokes). 

B. Player #2 gets the general penalty (2 strokes). 

C. Player #1 gets a one stroke penalty for picking up the wrong ball. 

D. Both players get the general penalty. 

E. Player #2 is disqualified. 

Answer: 

B. Player #2 gets the general penalty (2 strokes).  Rule 6.3c(1) Wrong Ball, 
applies only to Player #2 who putted the “wrong ball”. 

Rule 13.1d “There is no penalty if you, your opponent or another player in 
stroke play accidentally move your ball or ball marker on the putting green”, 
applies to Player #1 who picked up Player #2’s ball but did not putt it. 

Moral of this story: Always check that you are hitting your own ball, even 
on the putting green! 

Note:  

Player #2’s putts with the wrong ball do not count; her putts from 
the correct location do count, in addition to the 2 stroke penalty. 
However, if she had not corrected her mistake, she would have been 
disqualified. 
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