Minutes Regular Council Meeting

Monday, August 9, 2021

The regular monthly meeting of the Town Council of the Corporation of the Town of Rainy River was held on Monday, August 9, 2021 at 5:30 p.m. via video conference (Zoom).

In attendance were Mayor Deb Ewald and Councillors Larry Armstrong, Martin Kreger, Brent Helgeson, Neil Ivall (by phone) and Gerry Pasloski.

Giving regrets was Councillor Pat White.

The minutes were recorded by Deputy Clerk-Treasurer Julie Tiboni.

Opening Ceremonies, Moment of Silence and Salute to the Queen

Mayor Deb Ewald opened the meeting with a moment of silence and a salute to the Queen.

Additions, Deletions or Amendments

Add By-law 1779(A)-21 – ICIP Transfer Payment Agreement

Motion #21-094 - Neil Ivall - Martin Kreger

"That the agenda be accepted as amended."

Carried

Disclosure of Interest

Councillor Kreger noted a disclosure conflict with regard to the accounts payable, and the necessary paperwork was completed.

Adoption of Minutes

Regular Council July 12, 2021

Motion #21-095 - Brent Helgeson - Gerry Pasloski

"To approve the minutes of the Regular Council meeting of July 12, 2021 as presented."

Carried

Financials (as of July 31, 2021)

Motion #21-096 - Larry Armstrong - Neil Ivall

"That approval be granted for the accounts payable for the month of July 2021 which have been paid in the following amounts:"

Town General	\$1	81,553.06
Water	\$	35,445.45
Sewer	\$	18,862.92
Cemetery	\$	0.00
RRHCC	\$	3,030.35

Carried

Presentations/Delegations

No delegations were in attendance.

Reports from Unfinished Business

There were no reports from unfinished business.

NEW BUSINESS – COMMITTEE REPORTS (AS NEEDED)

Finance/Personnel – Mayor Deb Ewald and Councillors Neil Ivall (Finance Chair), Pat White (Personnel Chair), Martin Kreger and Larry Armstrong

2021 Budget

Motion #21-097 - Brent Helgeson – Gerry Pasloski

"That the Town Council of the Corporation of the Town of Rainy River hereby approves the 2021 budgets for Town General, water, sewer and cemetery departments, as attached."

Carried

2021 Library Budget

Motion #21-098 - Neil Ivall – Larry Armstrong

"That the Town Council of the Corporation of the Town of Rainy River hereby approves the 2021 budget for the Rainy River Public Library, as attached."

Carried

Public Works/Water & Sewer/Recycling – Mayor Deb Ewald and Councillors Larry Armstrong (Chair), Brent Helgeson and Martin Kreger

Celerity

Motion #21-099 - Brent Helgeson – Martin Kreger

"The Town of Rainy River work with Celerity Telecom regarding the installation of high speed fiber within the Town of Rainy River."

Carried

Deputy Clerk-Treasurer Julie Tiboni will contact Tom Motyka at Celerity to inform him of this decision.

Rainy River District Drought Assistance Request Resolution

Resolution #21-027 - Larry Armstrong – Gerry Pasloski

"WHEREAS, 2021 weather conditions in the Rainy River District have included late hard frosts and drought, which conditions are exacerbated by higher than normal numbers of grasshoppers and grass-eating insects, all of which impact growing season and yield; and

WHEREAS, due to the current drought conditions in the District, animal fodder is drying up and withering, or is being eaten away, to the extent that the volume of fodder available to livestock consumption is down 25% of normal annual quantities; and

WHEREAS, due to the 2021 impacts, area farmers are faced with having to sell off 50% or more of their breeding livestock; and

WHEREAS, both Canadian and U.S. drought mapping, copies of which are attached hereto as posted in June 2021 by Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada and by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, clearly show the Rainy River District and the surrounding area of Northwestern Ontario to be at the same levels of drought as areas in Southern Ontario; and

WHEREAS, the Provincial Emergency Operations Centre has recognized regions and counties in Southern Ontario as being impacted by drought but indicates no impact for any part of Northwestern Ontario;

NOW THEREFORE the Council of the Corporation of the Town of Rainy River calls to the Province of Ontario and the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs to forthwith:

- 1) Designate the Rainy River District as an area impacted by drought; and
- 2) Declare an agriculture state of emergency within it; and
- 3) Implement recovery assistance program support for the agricultural sector;

AND FURTHER THAT a copy of this resolution be forwarded to the Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario; to the Honourable Ernie Hardeman, Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs; to MPP Greg Rickford; to MP Erik Melillo; and to all municipalities in Northwestern Ontario."

Carried

By-law 1779(A)-21 – ICIP COVID-19 Resilience Transfer Payment Agreement The first reading of By-law 1779(A)-21 was given by Mayor Deb Ewald.

Verbal Motion #21-099A – Larry Armstrong – Brent Helgeson

"That By-law 1779(A)-21 be taken as read a second and third time."

Carried

Motion #21-099B - Neil Ivall - Gerry Pasloski

"That By-law 1779(A)-21, being a by-law of the Town of Rainy River to authorize the municipality to enter into, and designate signing officers for, the Investing in Canada Infrastructure Program (ICIP) COVID-19 Resilience Infrastructure Stream – Transfer Payment Agreement, having been read the required number of times, be hereby approved."

Carried

Confirming By-law

By-law 1780-21 to Confirm the Proceedings of Council

The first reading of By-law 1780-21 was given by Councillor Neil Ivall.

Verbal Motion #21-099C – Brent Helgeson – Gerry Pasloski

"That By-law 1780-21 be taken as read a second and third time."

Carried

Motion #21-100 - Gerry Pasloski – Larry Armstrong

"That By-law 1780-21, being a by-law of the Town of Rainy River to confirm the proceedings of Council at its meeting held on the 9th day of August, 2021, having been read the required number of times, be hereby approved."

Carried

Next Meeting – Monday, September 13, 2021

Adjournment

Motion #21-101 - Brent Helgeson

"There being no further business, the meeting is hereby adjourned at 5:50 p.m."

Carried

Original Signed

Mayor

Original Signed

Chief Administrative Officer