## INDIANA

After it became a state in 1816, Indiana was organized the following year as a single district with one judgeship.<sup>1</sup> It was reorganized in 1928 into the Northern and Southern Districts, each with one judgeship.<sup>2</sup> IN.SD.01 is the original judgeship (see Judge Parke's succession line), and served the entire state until reorganization. IN.ND.01 was authorized in 1925 and it, too, had state-wide jurisdiction until the 1928 reorganization. IN.ND.05 was created as a temporary line in 1984, and converted to permanent status by the omnibus judgeship legislation of 1990.<sup>3</sup>

Indiana is a member of the Seventh Circuit and has ten judgeships–five each in the Northern and Southern Districts.

Statutory History					
Seat	Legislation	Authority			
IN.ND.01	Act of January 16, 1925	43 Stat. 751			
IN.ND.02	Act of February 10, 1954	68 Stat. 8			
IN.ND.03	Act of May 19, 1961	75 Stat. 80			
IN.ND.04	Act of October 20, 1978	92 Stat. 1629			
IN.ND.05	Act of July 10, 1984	98 Stat. 333			
IN.SD.01	Act of March 3, 1817	3 Stat. 390			
IN.SD.02	Act of February 10, 1954	64 Stat. 8			
IN.SD.03	Act of May 19, 1961	75 Stat. 80			
IN.SD.04	Act of March 18, 1966	80 Stat. 75			
IN.SD.05	Act of October 20, 1978	92 Stat. 1629			

<sup>1</sup>Act of March 3, 1817, 3 STAT. 390.

<sup>2</sup>Act of April 21, 1928, 45 STAT. 437.

<sup>3</sup>Act of December 1, 1990, 104 STAT. 5089.

Seat Histories	1				I
Position #	Name	Date of Confirmation	Date of Departure	Reason	Party
IN.ND.01.01	Slick, Thomas W.	February 17, 1925	September 15, 1943	Resigned	Republican
IN.ND.01.02	Swygert, Luther Merritt	October 14, 1943	September 29, 1961	Elevated to Seventh Circuit	Democrat
IN.ND.01.03	Eschbach, Jesse E.	April 2, 1962	December 1, 1981	Elevated to Seventh Circuit	Republican
IN.ND.01.04	Moody, James T.	February 8, 1982	June 17, 2003	Retired	Republican
IN.ND.01.05	Springmann, Theresa Lazar	March 31, 2003	Active	Active	Independent
IN.ND.02.01	Parkinson, William Lynn	August 6, 1954	August 26, 1957	Elevated to Seventh Circuit	Republican
IN.ND.02.03	Grant, Robert Allen	August 22, 1957	December 1, 1972	Retired	Republican
IN.ND.02.04	Sharp, Allen	October 4, 1973	Active	Active	Republican
IN.ND.03.01	Beamer, George N.	April 11, 1962	October 21, 1974	Deceased	Democrat
IN.ND.03.02	McNagny, Phil M., Jr.	May 6, 1976	March 28, 1981	Deceased	Republican
IN.ND.03.03	Kanne, Michael S.	February 8, 1982	May 20, 1987	Elevated to Seventh Circuit	Republican
IN.ND.03.04	Lozano, Rudy <sup>4</sup>	February 25, 1988	Active	Active	Republican

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup>First Hispanic district judge appointed from Indiana.

Seat Histories					
Position #	Name	Date of Confirmation	Date of Departure	Reason	Party
IN.ND.04.01	Lee, William Charles	July 27, 1981	February 2, 2003	Retired	Republican
IN.ND.04.02	Simon, Philip P.	March 27, 2003	Active	Active	Republican
IN.ND.05.01	Miller, Robert L., Jr.	December 16, 1985	Active	Active	Republican
IN.SD.01.01	Parke, Benjamin	March 5, 1817	July 12, 1835	Deceased	Jeffersonian Democrat
IN.SD.01.02	Holman, Jesse Lynch	March 29, 1836 <sup>5</sup>	March 28, 1842	Deceased	Democrat
IN.SD.01.03	Huntington, Elisha Mills	May 2, 1842	October 26, 1862	Deceased	Whig
IN.SD.01.04	Smith, Caleb Blood	December 22, 1862	January 7, 1864	Deceased	Republican
IN.SD.01.05	White, Albert Smith	January 18, 1864	September 4, 1864	Deceased	Republican
IN.SD.01.06	McDonald, David	December 13, 1864	August 25, 1869	Deceased	Republican
IN.SD.01.07	Gresham, Walter Quintin	December 22, 1869 <sup>6</sup>	April 18, 1883	Resigned	Republican

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup>Recess appointment, September 16, 1835.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>6</sup>Recess appointment, September 1, 1869.

Seat Histories		1			
Position #	Name	Date of Confirmation	Date of Departure	Reason	Party
IN.SD.01.08	Woods, William Allen	January 7, 1884 <sup>7</sup>	March 17, 1892	Elevated to Seventh Circuit	Republican
IN.SD.01.09	Baker, John Harris	March 29, 1892	November 8, 1902	Retired	Republican
IN.SD.01.10	Anderson, Albert Barnes	December 8, 1902	January 6, 1925	Elevated to Seventh Circuit	Republican
IN.SD.01.11	Baltzell, Robert C.	January 13, 1925	January 19, 1950	Retired	Republican
IN.SD.01.12	Steckler, William Elwood	April 4, 1950	December 31, 1986	Retired	Democrat
IN.SD.01.13	McKinney, Larry J.	July 17, 1987	Active	Active	Republican
IN.SD.02.01	Holder, Cale James	August 6, 1954	August 23, 1983	Deceased	Republican
IN.SD.02.02	Barker, Sarah Evans <sup>8</sup>	March 13, 1984	Active	Active	Republican
IN.SD.03.01	Dillin, Samuel Hugh	September 21, 1961	March 31, 1993	Retired	Democrat
IN.SD.03.02	Hamilton, David Frank	October 7, 1994	Active	Active	Democrat
IN.SD.04.01	Noland, James E.	October 20, 1966	December 31, 1986	Retired	Democrat

<sup>7</sup>Recess appointment, May 2, 1883.

<sup>8</sup>First female district judge appointed from Indiana.

Seat Histories					
Position #	Name	Date of Confirmation	Date of Departure	Reason	Party
IN.SD.04.02	Tinder, John D.	August 7, 1987	Active	Active	Republican
IN.SD.05.01	Brooks, Gene E.	October 4, 1979	December 31, 1996	Retired	Democrat
IN.SD.05.02	Young, Richard L.	March 2, 1998	Active	Active	Democrat