To Honorable Governor Terry Branstad and Lt. Governor Kim Reynolds

May 12, 2016

## RE: Request for Veto of Section 18, SF 2323 Education Appropriations

The education community including AEAs, IASB, ISEA, RSAI, SAI and UEN is united in making this request of your actions regarding assessment provisions of SF 2323.

We have all independently and collectively supported in our legislative platforms the move to a state assessment aligned to lowa high expectation student learning standards, with the intent of a system to improve instruction for lowa students.

Because of concerns about the lack of funding, our groups support the amendment crafted jointly by House and Senate education leaders (SF 2323 section 6) to delay administration of a new state assessment until the 2017-18 school year. This compromise eliminates concerns of an unfunded mandate for the 2016-17 school year. We respectfully request you approve this section.

Our groups do not support the amendment added to SF 2323 as section 18 in the House which requires a suspension of DE rules regarding the test and further review by the legislative Administrative Rules Review Committee in December 2016. We are concerned Section 18 impedes forward motion of the assessment, prohibiting the DE from taking the necessary steps to assure a smooth implementation in the 2017-18 school year. We believe that selection of the state assessment is an educational issue belonging under the authority of the State Board of Education. We respectfully request you veto Section 18.

We urge you to clearly direct the Iowa Department of Education to move forward with a thorough and expeditious implementation of the assessment recommended by the Assessment Task Force.

We also urge you to include an adequate appropriation for assessment in your budget presented to the 2017 Legislative Session for the 2017-18 fiscal year.

Prizel.

Roark Horn, Executive Director School Administrators of Iowa

Robert Olson, Chair Rural School Advocates of Iowa

Amy Jurrens, President

Lisa Bartusek, Executive Director

Iowa Association of School Boards

Tammy Wawro, President

an Kindaman

Dr. Jane Lindaman, Chair

ada

Mary Jane Cobb, Executive Director Iowa State Education Association

Dr. Lewis W. Finch, Executive Director Urban Education Network