

Recycling Coalition of WV, Inc.

P.O. Box 40113, Charleston, WV 25364 Phone: 304-926-0499 ext. 1673 Fax: 304-926-0472 wvrecycles.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

May 18, 2016

Contact: Paul Hayes, WV Recycling Coalition, 304-926-0499, ext. 1673 or: Patricia Highland, Taylor County Solid Waste Authority, 304-265-5691

Taylor County resident honored for recycling efforts

The Recycling Coalition of West Virginia, in collaboration with the West Virginia Solid Waste Management Board and the state's 50 solid waste authorities, is honoring **Recycling Champions** who reach beyond their normal responsibilities to contribute time and service to support the recycling industry in the Mountain State. These Recycling Champions provide recycling leadership across the state and make a significant contribution to the recycling community.

The Coalition is proud to honor Taylor County resident Craig Morris, who moved to Taylor County approximately two years ago from Connecticut. Retired from the U.S. government, Morris approached Charles Kinsey, chair of the Taylor County Solid Waste Authority, at the county fairgrounds drop-off site offering to help with recycling efforts. Morris has volunteered every Saturday from 8 a.m. to noon for the past year and half sorting the materials delivered to this site. During cold weather, Morris arrives early and shovels out the drop-off area to allow the recyclers access to the drop-off. He is very dedicated to the Taylor County recycling goals and a true Recycling Champion. Morris will be honored at Tygart Lake State Park on May 18, 2016.

Curbside recycling is offered to Taylor County residents by Refuse Control Systems and the City of Grafton. There are also two drop-off sites, one at the Taylor County Fairgrounds and the other at the Thornton Fire Department. Materials are delivered to the drop-off sites by citizens then sorted and placed in the recycling containers which are delivered to Refuse Control Systems for processing. Materials collected include office paper, steel and aluminum cans, numbers 1 and 2 plastic, catalogs, magazines and newspapers and cardboard.

Other 2016 West Virginia Recycling Champions include:

Wally Reynolds, nominated by the Berkeley County Solid Waste Authority City of Bridgeport, nominated by the Harrison County Solid Waste Authority Frank Young, nominated by the Jackson County Solid Waste Authority Ron Williams, nominated by the Kanawha County Solid Waste Authority Brian Wilmoth, nominated by the Marion County Solid Waste Authority Claude Marra, nominated by the Pleasants County Solid Waste Authority Harold Lowe, nominated by the Roane County Solid Waste Authority Stuart Thayer, nominated by the Tucker County Solid Waste Authority Dr. G. Paul Richter, nominated by the Upshur County Solid Waste Authority

The Recycling Coalition of West Virginia is a non-profit environmental organization whose mission is to promote the effective and sustainable reduction, reuse and recycling of materials otherwise destined for disposal. The Recycling Coalition pursues these goals through the promotion of purchasing products made with recycled content material; by coordinating and facilitating activities relative to recycling; and by fostering communication among organizations, government agencies and individuals through the sharing of ideas and resources.

State Steering Committee Paul F. Hayes, Chair					
Assoc. of WV Solid Waste Authorities Michael Grunau	Goodwill Industries of Kanawha Valley, Inc. Kathy McKinley	WV Solid Waste Management Board Mark Holstine Carol Throckmorton Nicole Hunter	WV Dept. of Environmental Protection Diana Haid	WV Assoc. of Waste Haulers & Recyclers Jerry Moore	The Chemours Company Michelle Young
Kanawha Co. SWA James Young	Waste Management, Inc. Amanda Marks-Cunningham	WV Cashin' Recyclables, Inc. Frank Baird Gary Walker	Tom Aluise Sandy Rogers Lisa Facemyer Kim Smith	Putnam Co. SWA Charity Fellure	WV Dept. of Education Robin Sizemore