Northwestern Ohio Volunteer Firemen's Association

OFFICERS

BRUCE SILCOTT, *1st. Vice President* HICKSVILLE 419-487-2870

CHARLIE HORNE, 2nd. Vice President GREEN SPRINGS 419-334-1427

> TIM SCHROEDER, Secretary WESTON 419-308-6213

JAMI MELLER, Assistant Secretary WRIGHT WALDRON 419-572-6480

RICK ARQUETTE, *Treasurer* GIBSONBURG 419-208-5007

JIM TANSEY, President WAKEMAN 419-706-8458



www.novfa.net

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

MARK WILHELM, Chairman of the Board PUT-IN-BAY 419-341-5703

> FRED ALLEN, *Director* WAUSEON 419-335-4866

ED BAUER, *Director* GIBSONBURG 419-637-7181

DOUG EBRIGHT, Director CENTRAL JOINT 419-722-1369

DARYL MCNUTT, Director WHITEHOUSE 419-877-0272

Newsletter May 2017

Preconvention Results

The 2017 NOVFA Preconvention was hosted on April 22nd by the Hamler Marion Township in Henry County. The general meeting was attended by 52 members. The following will be placed on the ballot for the 2017 Annual Convention Meeting in Rossford on June 17th. For the events that have not been requested for 2018 your department can be placed on the ballot by sending a request to Secretary Tim Schroeder by June 1st. All requests have been tabled until the Convention Meeting where nominations will be taken from the floor.

Requests for Election into Office

<u>President</u>	Bruce Silcott	Hicksville FD	Defiance County
1st. Vice President	Charles Horne	Green Springs FD	Seneca County
2nd. Vice President	Dave Miller	Woodville Twp. FD	Sandusky County
<u>Secretary</u>	Tim Schroeder	Bowling Green FD	Wood County
Assistant Secretary	Jami Meller	Metamora Amboy FD	Fulton County
Treasurer	Rick Arquette	Gibsonburg FD	Sandusky County
Board of Directors (2 to be elected)	Doug Ebright Steve Meller Mark Wilhelm.	Central Joint FD Wright Waldron FD Put-In-Bay FD	Wood County Sandusky County Ottawa County

Requests to Host Association Events for 2018

Hose Bowling	No Request	
Preconvention	Put-In-Bay FD	Ottawa County
Bowling	Maumee FD	Lucas County
<u>Convention</u>	Gibsonburg FD	Sandusky County
Fire Muster	No Request	
<u>Softball</u>	No Request	
<u>Fun Day Golf</u>	Oregon FD	Lucas County

Condolence Cards

Condolence Committee Chairman Mike Gustwiller reports that the information cards that need to be filled out if your department would like to have the names of you departed members honored during the Condolence Ceremony at the general meeting during the annual convention will be sent out shortly. The period for reporting is from June 1st, 2016 to June 1st, 2017. Please return the information card as soon as possible.

2017 Hose Bowling Results

The event was hosted by the Highland Township Fire Department in Defiance County. 5 teams attended the event on February 25th.

<u>Teams</u>	<u>Total Pins</u>	
Dallas Township FD	Crawford County	12
Holgate FD	Henry County	0
Northwood FD	Wood County	8
South Richland FD	Defiance County	86
Wright Waldron FD	Hillsdale County	70

<u>Highest Series Women / Highest Game Women</u> Julie Hoffman - Dallas Township FD

<u>Highest Series Men / Highest Game Men</u> Steve Meller - Wright Waldron FD <u>Team Traveling the Farthest</u> Dallas Township FD

<u>Traveling Trophy Winner</u> South Richland FD

Special Note:

The Captains of both the South Richland and Wright Waldron Teams voted to award the Overall Winner Trophy to the Dallas Township Team.

Association Chaplain

Former Association Chaplain Jerry Lewis has been reappointed to his position. Contact information for him will be posted on the web site as soon as we receive it.

Charity Fund

Charity Fund Treasurer Bill Elwood from the Hicksville Fire Department has retired from his position of Treasurer and the officers would like to thank him for the work that he has done for the association throughout the years. Dennis Hartman from the Allen Clay Joint Fire District has been appointed by the Board of Directors to the position. At the Regional Fire School in March one of the last duties for Bill was to have the fund's books audited. The Directors reviewed the status of the account and found it to be in excellent condition. We wish Bill well in his "retirement."

2017 Membership

Please check our website to see if your department or business is currently a member of the association for 2017. The cost of membership is \$40 per year. We have at this time 20 department members and 8 associate members from 2016 that have not paid for 2017.

The grace period for the Charity Fund enrollment has ended as of April 30th. We currently have 213 Charity Fund members of the 249 regular department members in the fund for 2017. Cost of the Charity Fund membership is \$3 per member of your department and \$1 per year for members that were in the fund the prior year (before April 30, 2017). We would like to remind you that membership into the association can be at any time during the year.

Please contact Association Secretary Tim Schroeder for regular membership and Charity Fund Secretary Ed Bohn for the Charity Fund if you have any questions. Contact information can be found on our website.

2017 Convention

The 143rd Annual Convention will take place on June 16th & 17th in Rossford, Ohio. The General Meeting will be held on June 17th at the Rossford High School. The meeting will start at 9:00 am. Please plan on attending this important meeting.