## ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES APRIL 6, 2023, 7:00 p.m.

The Annual General Meeting for the West Wetaskiwin REA was held at the Lone Ridge Community Hall at 7:00 p.m. The Annual General Meeting was attended by approximately 60 voting and non-voting attendees.

The Chairman, Dean Knull, welcomed the attendees and called the Annual General Meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Dean requested a motion that the members present constitute a quorum, Ron Holmlund made the motion, Kevin Cummings seconded, quorum was declared by unanimous approval.

Dean introduced meeting facilitator Tim Belec who took over the meeting and reviewed housekeeping rules.

Introductions: Guest Speaker Bill Klassen General Manager BRPC; Dan Astner, Chairman BRPC & President Alberta Federation of REAs; Mitch Stevenson, Vegetation Manager BRPC, Curtis Bauman, Operations Manager BRPC, Kevin Szelewicki, System Planning & Design, BRPC, Marilyn Backman Morton, Strategem Plus Consulting; Michelle Miller, partner at MNP and our auditor; Tahner Bowers, CPA, Senior Manager at MNP; Emily Piwowar, CPA, Designated Professional; George Debbink, West Liberty REA Director; John Dewit, West Liberty REA Director.

Tim also introduced the Board of Directors and Office Manager.

Neil Stone made a motion to adopt the minutes from the Annual General Meeting held April 28, 2022, Ron Holmlund seconded, carried. The motion was passed.

Dean presented his President's Report while Marilyn operated a power point presentation.

The report highlighted the Board's key focuses over the past year as well as challenges faced by the REA. To safeguard the future success of the West Wetaskiwin REA and to ensure members receive reliable, cost efficient electricity delivery the Board is considering an increase in the Distribution Tariff for 2023. The increase is in part the result of increased vegetation management cost to retain system reliability, and the increased cost for pole changes, as well as planned A-base meter replacements. He acknowledged long standing members Vera & Darwin Feldberg and Susan and the late Ed Burghardt. He provided an update on the Contract Policy Sub Committee as part of the renegotiation of the 2005 Wire Owner Agreement. Over the next year the Board hopes to update WWREA's Electric Service Contract and have every member sign the revised contract. He recognized 2022 scholarship winners Joel Turpin and Luke Fontaine. After asking for questions Dean respectfully submitted his report.

Tahner Bowers from MNP presented the Financial Statement and answered questions from the members. Kevin Cummings made a motion to accept the financials as presented, Bill Moure seconded, carried. The motion was passed.

## **New Business:**

Bill Klassen presented an overview of Battle River Power Coop's operations and reviewed how they are well positioned to provide service to WWREA. He answered questions from the floor.

Jean-Anne Sjolin, Office Manager, presented the Operating budget for 2023.

Neil made a motion to leave the choice of auditor for next year to the Board's discretion, Keith Anderson seconded, carried. The motion passed.

Mitch Stevenson, Vegetation Manager BRPC did a presentation on the 2023 brushing overview, maintenance work done in 2022, and how member's can help alleviate vegetation management costs.

Should there be a banquet preceding the AGM in 2024 it will be held at the Falun Community Hall and ticket price to be decided by the Board.

Elections: terms of office for Mike Wollin, Ron Holmlund and Dave Watt have expired. As no members declared interest by the deadline set (March 27<sup>th</sup>) for any of the three vacant positions, all three directors were elected by acclamation.

Door prizes were drawn and handed out.

Dawn Holmlund made a motion to adjourn; the meeting was adjourned at 8:25 p.m.