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2023 NFHS BASEBALL
RULES INTERPRETATIONS

Publisher’s Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set
aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.

SITUATION 1: The catcher has pur-
chased a new hockey-style catcher’s
helmet. The helmet (a) was purchased
with a tinted, attached eye shield, or (b)
the catcher later purchased a clear eye
shield and had it installed. RULING: In
both (a) and (b), the helmet is not legal
for use. Eye shields attached after man-
ufacture are not permitted. Legal eye
shields, attached at the time of manu-
facture, must be clear without the pres-
ence of any tint. (1-5-4)

SITUATION 2: The catcher is wearing
a pair of sunglasses underneath the face
mask. RULING: This is legal. A catcher
may wear tinted eyewear on the face
and under the face mask. (1-5-4)

SITUATION 3: The pitcher is wearing
a gold cross that dangles from a chain
around the neck. With the sun’s po-
sition, there is a glare from the cross
into the home plate area. RULING:
All players may wear jewelry while on
the bench and/or while participating in
the game. If the wearing of jewelry is
judged by the plate umpire to be dis-
tracting to the batter, the plate umpire
may direct the pitcher (or any other
fielder) to remove the jewelry until con-
ditions are such that the jewelry is no
longer distracting to the batter. (6-2-1f
PENALTY)

SITUATION 4: The shortstop is wear-
ing a bracelet that has jagged points on
it. The base umpire notices the bracelet
and requires the shortstop to remove it.
RULING: While jewelry may be worn
by all players, it cannot be the type that
may cause harm or injury to the wearer,
teammates or opponents. If the umpire
judges the bracelet to be dangerous, it
must be removed. (1-5-9)
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SITUATION 5: The second baseman
had bracelets made for all teammates
that has a derogatory, taunting word
aimed at the opponents. RULING: The
umpires shall require that the bracelets
be removed. Unsporting actions that re-
flect unfavorably upon the other team
cannot be allowed. (3-3-1f2)

SITUATION 6: The pitcher takes a posi-
tion with the pivot foot in contact with the
pitching plate, and not parallel to it, and
the non-pivot foot clearly in front of the
front edge of the pitcher’s plate. The head
coach of the offensive team complains
that this is an illegal pitching position
and must be penalized. RULING: The
pitching position from which a pitcher is
pitching is determined by the position of
the pivot foot only. Where the non-pivot
foot is placed no longer is a determining
factor for the pitching position. With the
pivot foot in contact but not parallel to
the pitcher’s plate, the pitcher is in a legal
windup position. (6-1-1)

SITUATION 7: With R3 on third base,
the pitcher assumes a legal windup po-
sition with the pivot foot in contact but
not parallel to the pitching plate. As the
pitching movement begins, the pitcher
rotates the pivot foot such that it is still
in contact with and now parallel to the
front of the pitcher’s plate. The pitcher
now steps to and gains ground as a pick-
off is made to occupied third base. The
offensive head coach complains that this
is a balk while the defensive head coach
asserts that since only the pivot foot de-
termines the pitching position, all the
pitcher did was change from the windup
to the set position. RULING: The pitcher
has committed a balk. To change from
the windup position, the pitcher must
first step backward off the pitcher’s plate,
which must be in or partially within the
length of the pitcher’s plate. (6-1-2, 6-1-3)

SITUATION 8: The pitcher takes a po-
sition on the pitcher’s plate such that
the umpire is in doubt if the pivot foot
is simply in contact with the pitching
plate or in contact and parallel to the
pitching plate. What should the um-
pire determine? RULING: To be in the
set position, the pitcher must have his
pivot foot in contact with or directly
in front of and parallel to the pitcher’s
plate. If the pivot foot is in contact with
but not distinctly parallel to the pitch-
er’s plate, then the pitcher is judged to
be in the windup position. (6-1-1, 6-1-2,
6-1-3)

SITUATION 9: A group of spectators,
as well as some of the opposing players,
have been taunting the plate umpire on
the strike zone being called. What shall
the umpire do? RULING: Umpires
have jurisdiction over the field of play
while game administration is to handle
issues in the stands or situations involv-
ing spectators. If there is an issue out-
side the confines of the field that must
be addressed, the umpires should halt
the game and request game adminis-
tration to handle the issue. If game ad-
ministration is not present or unable to
remedy the situation, the game should
be suspended. (10-2-3h)

SITUATION 10: The batter, with a run-
ner on second base and no outs, swings
and misses at strike three. The pitch gets
by the catcher and goes into a dead-ball
area. RULING: Award one base to all
runners, including the batter-runner.
The batter became a batter-runner upon
the third strike. (8-1-1b, 8-3-3d)



SITUATION 11: The batter hits a fly
ball to deep right field, which the batter
believes is caught and turns and heads
to the dugout. Halfway to the dugout,
bench personnel get the batter-runner
to realize the ball is in play and the
batter-runner begins to advance. The
defensive head coach tells the um-
pires that the batter-runner should be
declared out since the batter-runner
“abandoned” the effort to advance.
RULING: The batter-runner has not
abandoned the effort and may begin to
advance. As on a dropped third strike,
the batter-runner is not considered to
have abandoned the effort until the bat-
ter-runner enters the bench or dugout
area. (8-4-1i)

SITUATION 12: The batter is hit by
a pitch on the sliding gloves that are
tucked in the back pocket. Is the batter
awarded first base or does the batter
continue the at-bat? RULING: A bat-
ter is to be awarded first base when a
pitched ball hits the batter or the bat-
ter’s clothing, provided the batter did
not strike at the ball or permitted the
ball to hit oneself. A player, and one’s
body, includes the helmet, uniform,
shoes, protective gear, etc., when worn
correctly and normally. (The person
of a player does not include jewelry).
When the pitched ball makes contact
with sliding gloves in the back pocket,
the ball is dead, and the batter is award-
ed first base. The umpire may instruct
the batter to remove the sliding gloves
from the pocket when at-bat. (8-1-1d)

SITUATION 13: With a runner in third
and first, there is one out. The batter
hits a double on which R3 easily scores.
R1 misses second on his way to third
base. The batter-runner touches first
and second, but is tagged as the run-
ner attempts to return to second base.
The defense now legally appeals R1’s
miss of second base. RULING: R1 was
forced at the time he missed the base
so the appeal out is a force out. The out
by the batter-runner after touching first
and second does not remove the force
on R1. The inning is over and R3 does
not score. (2-29-3; 9-1-1b)

SITUATION #14: A runner is on third
base with no outs. The third baseman is
playing behind third base at a normal
depth. The batted ball contacts the third
base and rebounds toward home plate
on (a) foul ground, or (b) fair ground,
where it contacts R3 between third base
and home plate. RULING: The batted
ball becomes a fair ball when it hits the
base. In (a), unless R3 moved so that

R3 would be hit, the contact is simply
contact and the play continues. In (b),
when R3 is contacted by the batted
ball rebounding from the base over fair
ground, R3 is out and the ball is dead.
The batter-runner is awarded first base.
(8-4-2k, 5-1-1f1)

SITUATION 15: The batter hits a deep
fly ball near the center-field fence. The
center fielder, with the ball in the glove,
stumbles while running, trying not to
lose balance. In so doing, the center-field-
er’s knee contacts the glove, popping the
ball out of the glove and over the fence.
RULING: This is a home run. The field-
er had yet to have complete control/
voluntary release and the ball remained
“airborne.” (2-9-1a, 8-3-3a)

SITUATION 16: The bases are loaded
with no outs. It is the bottom of the sev-
enth and the home team trails by one
run. B4’s bat clips the catcher’s glove
as B4 swings, but F2 does catch the
pitch. B4’s follow-through causes B4 to
fall across the plate and interfere with
F2’s attempt to retire R1 who was steal-
ing on the pitch. As R1 is successfully
tagged out, R2 and R3 attempt a de-
layed steal of home and third. F6 now
attempts to throw to third base to put
out R2, but the throw is wild and goes
into the third-base dugout. The defen-
sive head coach argues that due to B4's
interference, R1 is out and the ball then
becomes dead, so all runners return to
their bases. The offensive head coach
thinks there is an option on the play.
RULING: The plate umpire should de-
clare obstruction on the catcher and let
the play happen. When R1 is success-
fully tagged out, this out negates B4's
interference, so it is nullified. B4 and
R1 as well did not advance a base, so
penalty enforcement would result in B4
being awarded first base and the other
runners advance one base. So, one run
in, still no outs and bases remain load-
ed. If the offensive coach takes the re-
sult of the play, both runs score and the
game is over. (8-1-1e, 7-3-5c PENALTY)

SITUATION 17: With bases loaded
and no outs, the batter hits a fly ball
that will come down along the third-
base line between third base and home
plate. The plate umpire signals “Infield
fly if fair!” As R3 attempts to return to
third base, R3 interferes with the third
baseman. The ball is (a) caught over
foul territory, (b) not caught and lands
foul, (c) caught over fair ground or (d)
is not caught and lands fair. RULING:
Although there is interference by R3,
the umpire must see what happens to

B4, which is determined by whether the
ball ends up fair or foul. In all four in-
stances, R3 is out. In (a) and (b), B4 goes
back to bat with a strike added to the
count. It was not an infield fly since the
ball was foul. R2 and R1 remain on sec-
ond and first bases, respectively, with
one out. In (c) and (d), B4 is out on the
infield fly as the infield fly occurred be-
fore the interference. R2 and R1 return
to their respective bases with two outs.
(2-19, 8-4-2g)

SITUATION 18: With one out and R2
on second base, the batter hits a high
fly ball near second base. F6 camps un-
der the fly ball when R2, attempting to
return to second base, makes contact
with F6 prior to F6 making the catch.
RULING: R2 is out for the interference
and B4 is awarded first base. If R2 had
intentionally interfered to prevent a
double play, then R2 and B4 would be
declared out. (8-4-2g)

SITUATION 19: With the bases loaded
and (a) less than two outs, (b) two outs,
B4 bunts the pitch towards the mound.
F1 fields the bunt and tosses the ball
home to F2 after R3 safely touches
home. F2 then throws to first base, but
the ball hits B4 running outside the run-
ning lane to the side the throw was be-
ing made. RULING: In (a), B4 is out for
interference in being out of the running
lane, the ball becomes dead at that in-
stance and runners attain bases touched
at time of interference. Since R3 scored
before the throw from F2 to F3 was
made, the run will score. In (b), B4 is
out for interference in being out of the
running lane, and since the third out is
a force out no runs will score. (5-1-1e,
8-4-1g, 9-1-1 EXCEPTIONa)

SITUATION 20: R1 is on first base with
a ground ball to the shortstop. The in-
field attempts a double play as Rl le-
gally slides into second base as the base
itself is detached and slides 5 feet away
from its original position. The throw
goes to first but is overthrown and hits
a fence, staying in play. B2 advances to
second base, touches the ground where
the base should be and continues to
advance to third base. The defense ap-
peals, stating that B2 is out for missing
second base. RULING: The part of the
ground where the base was located
shall serve as the base. It is umpire
judgment as to whether B2 touched
where the base was located or not. If B4
is judged to have touched the area, the
appeal is denied. (8-4-2h1)



