## Bexar County Emergency Services District No. 4

24165 IH-10 West, Suite 217-603 San Antonio, TX 78257 www.bexarcountyesd4.org



## Meeting Minutes August 12, 2019 7:00 P.M.

The Bexar County Emergency Services District No. 4 (ESD 4) conducted a meeting at 28036 Old Boerne Stage Road, Boerne, Texas, 78006 on Monday, August 12, 2019 at 7:00 P.M. The following was discussed;

- 1. Commissioner Huber called the Bexar County ESD 4 Meeting to Order at 7:00 and established a quorum. Commissioners Mohn and Surratt were unable to attend. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.
- 2. Citizen Public Forum. No citizens present chose to speak.
- 3. Approval of the minutes from the July 1, 2019 and July 29, 2019 Board Meetings. Commissioner Roberts motioned to approve the July 1, 2019 and July 29, 2019 Minutes. Commissioner Rasmussen seconded the motion. Motion carried by a 3/0 vote in favor of.
- 4. Leon Springs Volunteer Fire Department (LSVFD) Reports due to ESD 4. Mr. Costantino, LSVFD Treasurer, summarized and reviewed the following with the Board.
  - a. Mr. Costantino presented the June 2019 Run Report by the Service Provider.
  - b. Mr. Costantino reviewed the LSVFD expenditures for July 2019.
  - c. Action by the ESD 4 Board on approving the reimbursement request and monthly payment to the LSVFD. Commissioner Roberts motioned to approve the reimbursement request and the monthly payment to the Service Provider. Commissioner Rasmussen seconded the motion. Motion carried by a 3/0 vote in favor of.
- 5. Discussion and appropriate action on the following:
  - a. The Board reviewed and discussed the Emergency Services District No. 4 Fiscal Year 2020 (FY20) budget. The budget would require a tax rate of \$0.054060 per \$100 assessed valuation and would generate \$1,627,602 in tax revenue. The required tax rate is a 0.01% decrease over the effective tax rate of \$0.054061 per \$100 assessed valuation. Commissioner Roberts motioned to approve FY20 ESD 4 Budget. Commissioner Rasmussen seconded the motion. Motion carried by a 3/0 vote in favor of.
  - b. Mr. Gabe Perez, Perez Project Consulting, was unable to attend to provide the status of the Station 132 property and station design activities.
  - c. Mr. Charles Laljer, ESD 4 Administrator, provided the status of the District Sales Tax initiative. The draft ballot language was in process with Bexar County Elections and the ESD 4 attorney. Final Board Orders for the conduct of the election in process and being distributed to the required parties.

Commissioner Mohn, Commissioner Roberts, and Mr. Laljer were providing information on the election to interested homeowner groups and district residents.

- d. The Board reviewed the current contract with LSVFD. The contract is entering the third year of a five-year contract and it is an option year. Commissioner Roberts motioned to exercise the option to continue using LSVFD as the District Service provider in FY20. Commissioner Rasmussen seconded the motion. Motion carried by a 3/0 vote in favor of.
- 6. Financial discussions and appropriate action;
  - a. The ESD Board discussed a request from the District 4 Fire and Rescue (D4FR) for funds to procure property for a new fire station. Commissioner Roberts motioned to provide funding to D4FR for the purchase of property for a new fire station. Commissioner Rasmussen seconded the motion. Motion carried by a 3/0 vote in favor of.
  - b. Mr. Laljer reviewed the ESD 4 Quarterly Investment Report for the period April thru Jun 2019.
  - c. Mr. Laljer provided an overview of the ESD 4 financial reports.
  - d. The outstanding bills owed by ESD 4 were reviewed.
  - e. Action by the Board on approving payments by ESD 4. Commissioner Roberts made a motion to approve payments for the District. Commissioner Rasmussen seconded the motion. Motion carried by a 3/0 vote in favor of.
- 7. Determine date, time and possible agenda items for the next meeting. The next scheduled Board meeting will be September 9, 2019.
- 8. Adjourn. With no further business before the Board, Commissioner Roberts made a motion to adjourn. Commissioner Rasmussen seconded the motion. Motion carried by a 3/0 vote in favor of. Meeting was adjourned at 7:46 P.M.