

## Dubuque Soil & Water Conservation District

210 Bierman Epworth IA 52045-9529 Phone: (563)876-3418, #3 Fax: (855)246-1527

www.dubuqueswcd.org

To protect, conserve and restore the natural resources of Dubuque County for present and future generations by actively seeking resources and partnerships to promote Soil Conservation and improve Water Quality.

May 5, 2016

## Conservation District Seeking Commissioners

The terms of three Dubuque Soil & Water Conservation District Commissioners will expire on January 1, 2017. Successors will be elected in the General Election to be held on November 8, 2016.

Any person qualified to vote and residing in Dubuque County is eligible for the office of District Commissioner, except no more than one commissioner may be a resident of any one township. Incumbent commissioners are Charles McCullough of Vernon township and Jerry Ostwinkle of Taylor township; therefore, residents of these townships would not be eligible for office at this time.

District Commissioners help decide the direction of soil and water conservation programs in the county, and have the opportunity to influence state and national conservation programs. District Commissioners are expected to take part in regular monthly meetings, become knowledgeable of soil and water conservation laws and programs, develop and carry out soil and water resource conservation plans, and help direct financial incentive programs. Commissioners serve without pay, but are reimbursed for their expenses.

Nomination Petitions can be picked up at either the Dubuque County Auditor's office or at the Dubuque Soil & Water Conservation District, 210 Bierman, in Epworth, Iowa. These petitions, signed by 25 eligible electors, must be filed with the County Auditor's office at the Dubuque County courthouse no later than 5:00 p.m. on August 31, 2016.

For further information contact the Dubuque Soil & Water Conservation District at (563)876-3418, ext. #3.

\* \* \*