ARKANSAS

The Arkansas Territory came into the Union in 1836,¹ with the judiciary organized as a singledistrict. The state was divided into the Eastern and Western districts in 1851, with one judgeship serving both districts.²

AR.ED.01 is the original judgeship, and the only one for the entire state until the division in 1851. With the authorization of a judgeship exclusively for the Western District in 1871,³ AR.ED.01 was assigned exclusively to the Eastern District. AR.ED.02 and AR.ED.03, originally authorized to serve both districts, were transferred to the Eastern District in 1990.⁴ AR.WD.02, created as a temporary position in 1984, was converted to permanent six years later.⁵

Arkansas is a member of the Eighth Circuit, and has eight district judgeships (five in the Eastern District and three in the Western).

Statutory History				
Seat	Legislation	Authority		
AR.ED.01	Act of June 15, 1836	5 Stat. 51		
AR.ED.02	Act of May 31, 1938	52 Stat. 585		
AR.ED.03	Act of May 19, 1961	75 Stat. 80		
AR.ED.04	Act of October 20, 1978	92 Stat. 1629		
AR.ED.05	Act of October 20, 1978	92 Stat. 1629		
AR.WD.01	Act of March 3, 1871	16 Stat. 472		
AR.WD.02	Act of July 10, 1984	98 Stat. 333		
AR.WD.03	Act of December 1, 1990	104 Stat. 5089		

¹Act of June 15, 1836, 5 STAT. 51.

²Act of March 3, 1851, 9 STAT. 594. See Judge Benjamin Johnson's line of succession.

³Act of March 3, 1871, 16 STAT. 472.

⁴Act of December 1, 1990, 104 STAT. 5089. See the succession lines of Judges Lemley and Harris, respectively.

⁵Act of December 1, 1990, 104 STAT. 5089.

Seat Histories					
Position #	Name	Date of Confirmation	Date of Departure	Reason	Party
AR.ED.01.01	Johnson, Benjamin	June 29, 1836	October 2, 1849	Deceased	National Republican
AR.ED.01.02	Ringo, Daniel	June 10, 1850 ⁶	May 6, 1861	Resigned	Whig
AR.ED.01.03	Caldwell, Henry Clay	May 28, 1864	March 7, 1890	Elevated to Eighth Circuit	Republican
AR.ED.01.04	Williams, John A.	September 22, 1890	July 7, 1900	Deceased	Republican
AR.ED.01.05	Trieber, Jacob	January 9, 1901 ⁷	September 27, 1927	Deceased	Republican
AR.ED.01.06	Martineau, John Ellis	March 2, 1928	March 6, 1937	Deceased	Republican
AR.ED.01.07	Trimble, Thomas Clark, III	June 18, 1937	January 14, 1957	Retired	Democrat
AR.ED.01.08	Young, Gordon E.	September 2, 1959	August 20, 1969	Deceased	Democrat
AR.ED.01.09	Eisele, Garnett Thomas	August 5, 1970	August 1, 1991	Retired	Republican
AR.ED.01.10	Wilson, William Roy, Jr.	September 30, 1993	Active	Active	Democrat
AR.ED.02.01	Lemley, Harry Jacob	May 8, 1939	September 5, 1958	Retired	Democrat
AR.ED.02.02	Henley, Jesse Smith	September 2, 1959 ⁸	March 14, 1975	Elevated to Eighth Circuit	Republican

⁶Recess appointment, November 5, 1849.

⁷Recess appointment, July 26, 1900.

⁸Recess appointment, October 25, 1958.

Seat Histories					
Position #	Name	Date of Confirmation	Date of Departure	Reason	Party
AR.ED.02.03	Shell, Terry L.	September 15, 1975	June 25, 1978	Deceased	Democrat
AR.ED.02.04	Arnold, Richard S.	September 20, 1978	February 20, 1980	Elevated to Eighth Circuit	Democrat
AR.ED.02.05	Howard, George, Jr. ⁹	September 29, 1980	Active	Active	Democrat
AR.ED.03.01	Harris, Oren	August 11, 1965	February 3, 1976	Retired	Democrat
AR.ED.03.02	Roy, Elsijane Trimble ¹⁰	November 1, 1977	December 31, 1988	Retired	Democrat
AR.ED.03.03	Wright, Susan Webber	January 23, 1990	Active	Active	Republican
AR.ED.04.01	Woods, Henry	February 20, 1980	March 1, 1995	Retired	Democrat
AR.ED.04.02	Moody, James M.	August 11, 1995	Active	Active	Democrat
AR.ED.05.01	Overton, William Ray	May 10, 1979	July 14, 1987	Deceased	Democrat
AR.ED.05.02	Reasoner, Stephen M.	February 25, 1988	September 19, 2002	Retired ¹¹	Republican
AR.ED.05.03	Holmes, James Leon	July 6, 2004	Active	Active	Republican
AR.WD.01.01	Story, William M.	March 3, 1871	January 1, 1875	Resigned	Republican

⁹First African American district judge appointed from Arkansas.

¹⁰First female district judge appointed from Arkansas.

¹¹Due to disability.

Seat Histories					
Position #	Name	Date of Confirmation	Date of Departure	Reason	Party
AR.WD.01.02	Parker, Isaac Charles	March 19, 1875	November 17, 1896	Deceased	Republican
AR.WD.01.03	Rogers, John Henry	December 15, 1896 ¹²	April 17, 1911	Deceased	Democrat
AR.WD.01.04	Youmans, Frank A.	June 20, 1911	April 11, 1932	Deceased	Republican
AR.WD.01.05	Ragon, Heartsill	May 12, 1933	September 15, 1940	Deceased	Democrat
AR.WD.01.06	Miller, John Elvis	January 31, 1941	February 28, 1967	Retired	Democrat
AR.WD.01.07	Williams, Paul X.	June 12, 1967	October 31, 1981	Retired	Democrat
AR.WD.01.08	Waters, H. Franklin	October 21, 1981	August 1, 1997	Retired	Republican
AR.WD.01.09	Dawson, Robert T.	April 2, 1998	Active	Active	Democrat
AR.WD.02.01	Arnold, Morris Sheppard	December 16, 1985	May 21, 1992	Elevated to Eighth Circuit	Republican
AR.WD.02.02	Barnes, Harry Francis	November 20, 1993	Active	Active	Democrat
AR.WD.03.01	Hendren, Jimm Larry	March 13, 1992	Active	Active	Republican

¹²Recess appointment, November 27, 1896.