
Good morning everyone. Amazing that we are finishing the next to last week of the regular season. 
Don’t take it for granted! Work the final games hard the rest of the way! 
 
Today’s tip……team control or not? All I want to focus on is team control…please go along with the call 
that WHITE committed the loose ball foul. Are we shooting at red’s end for bonus free throws or not? 
Take a look at the clip here. 
 
So are we shooting at red’s end or not? Team control is included in rule 4-12 as follows: 
 

 

 
 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0BdW-mdo6vcQ3lWN3J2WHl1MzQ/view?usp=sharing


So what do we have here? From articles 2, 3 and 4, since we had an interrupted dribble and was last 
controlled by white and red never gained control, we continue to have white team control. Now, since 
white committed that foul, we now have a TEAM CONTROL foul and no free throws. This should have 
been a sideline throw-in, not a one-and-one free throw situation for red. 
 
As partners, we need to make sure that we have it right as a crew. How bad is it to just go TALK to the 
calling official and talk the play though.  Kicking a rule is one thing we do NOT want to happen as a crew 
and if we can avoid it by talking, we MUST do it. Coaches, assigners and our officiating brothers and 
sisters all want us to get it right. 
 
Slow down, think about what we saw and talk if we need to. 
 
Have a great game tonight, safe travels and remember, do something special for your better half this 
weekend since many of us will be working a game next Tuesday…….Valentine’s Day for those who also 
forget anniversaries! 
 
Tim 


