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JANUARY 2021
STARTING A HOLE FROM THE WRONG PLACE

What should a player do if she hits a tee shot from the wrong place - either
the wrong teeing area or the wrong place in the teeing area? This is covered
in Rule 6 - Playing a Hole.

First it is important to know that the Teeing Area is defined as the
rectangle that is formed by the space between the two tee markers
extending back away from the hole two club lengths.

If a player fails to tee the ball on the correct teeing area (designated by the
competition rules) or if she tees the ball outside of the above-mentioned
rectangle of the correct teeing area:

1) In Match Play this is not a penalty but the opponent may cancel the
stroke promptly before another player makes a stroke and the player
must then play a ball from the designated teeing area. If the opponent
does not cancel the stroke the original ball counts, is in play and must
be played as it lies.

2) In Stroke Play the player gets the general penalty (two strokes)
and must correct the mistake by playing a ball from the designated
teeing area. The original ball played from outside the teeing area is not
in play and any strokes made with it do not count. If the player does
not correct the mistake before making a stroke to begin another hole
or, for the final hole of the round, before retuning her scorecard, the
player is disqualified.


https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/video-hub.html#brightcoveId=6203292690001&pageTitle=A%20Closer%20Look%20at%20Mickey%20Wright's%20Cherished%20Artifacts&playlist=carousel

FEBRUARY 2021
PLAYING A BALL FROM THE WRONG PLACE

Last month we explored what to do if one tees off from the wrong place.
But what about playing a ball from the wrong place after starting the hole?
This is covered in Rule 7 - Playing from Wrong Place.

Rule 14.7a states that a player must make each stroke from where her ball
came to rest except when the rules require or allow it to be played from
another place. Playing from the wrong place incurs the general penalty
(two strokes.)

Rule 14.7b tells how to complete a hole after playing from a wrong place
in stroke play.

1. Decide whether to play out the hole from the wrong place
or correct the mistake by playing from the right place:

a. If Not a Serious Breach (ie. the player gained no
significant advantage) play out the hole from the
wrong place and incur the general penalty.

b. If a Serious Breach you must correct the mistake by
playing out the hole with a ball played from the right
place which also incurs the general penalty. If you
do not correct the mistake before starting the next hole
or, for the final hole, turning in your scorecard, you are
disqualified.

c. If unable to decide whether the breach is serious, play
out the hole with both a ball played from the wrong
place and a ball played from the right place.

2. If you tried to correct the mistake you must report the facts
to Committee before turning in your scorecard. If you do not
report to the Committee you are disqualified.

3. After you correct the mistake and report to the Committee,
the Committee will decide if playing from the original place
was a serious breach.

a. If not, the score with the original ball counts. (This
assumes you played out both balls.)

b. If it was a serious breach, (or if you did not play out
two balls) the score with the second ball counts.

c. In both cases, you still receive the general penalty.

Interestingly, if the second ball was also played from a wrong
place with no serious breach you incur another general
penalty, ie. a total of four penalty strokes. If it was a serious
breach you are disqualified.



MARCH 2021
BALL IN MOTION Rule 11.1

In the Rules Corner we will continue to explore the rule changes that
occurred in 2019.

When not on the putting green, what should a player do if her ball in motion
accidentally hits another person or outside influence? This could be herself,
another person, her equipment or other equipment or an animal. There is
no penalty, but the ball must be played where it comes to rest as it lies.
The exception to this says that if the ball comes to rest on any person,
animal or moving outside influence she must take relief by dropping the
original ball or another ball where the ball first came to rest on the person,
animal or moving outside influence. The ball is dropped in a relief area as
in other circumstances, defined by a reference point where the ball first
landed on the person, pace or moving outside influence and one club length,
no closer to the hole. If the ball first lands on the person, etc. on the putting
green it must be placed in the spot where it first landed on the person, etc.

When on the putting green if a player’s ball in motion hits another ball at
rest on the putting green and both balls were on the putting green before
the stroke, the player gets the GENERAL PENALTY - 2 strokes, and the ball
must be played from where it lies. (In this case, the other player’s ball that
was hit must be replaced in its original position — Rule 13.1.d.) However,
when the player’s ball played from the putting green accidentally hits any
person, animal or movable obstruction (including another ball in motion)
on the putting green, the stroke does not count, and the ball must be
replaced in its original spot. If the ball first lands on a person, animal or
moving outside influence on the putting green it must be placed in the spot
where it first landed on the person, etc. As an aside, Rule 13.2b(2) states
that if the ball accidentally hits a flagstick lying on the green, the stroke
does not count but the ball must be played as it lies.

Additionally, Rule 10.1a states that [anywhere on the course] there is no
penalty if the ball is hit more than once during a stroke.



May 2021
When and How To Take A Provisional Shot Rule 18.3

Recently we have explored the recent Rules changes of 2019. However, one
issue comes up so often that I think it is worth taking a detour for this. The
issue involves when and how to take a provisional shot.

Rule 18.3 states that if a ball might be lost outside a penalty area or
might be out of bounds a provisional ball may be played under penalty of
stroke and distance by playing a second ball from the original spot and
taking one penalty stroke. This applies even if the ball might be lost in a
penalty area but also might be lost somewhere else on the course. If the
original ball is found within 3 minutes and is in bounds it is still the ball in
play. However, if not found or found out of bounds the provisional ball
becomes the ball in play.

Here is the kicker: But if the player is aware that the only possible place the
original ball could be lost is in a penalty area, a provisional ball is not
allowed and if one plays a ball from where the previous stroke was made
that ball then becomes the ball in play under penalty of stroke and
distance. Even if the original ball is found and is playable, it is no longer the
ball in play.

The Club can make an exception to this and allow a provisional in a certain
situation (often where it is difficult to see whether or not a ball might be in a
penalty area) but this must be a specific local rule. (Model Local Rule B-
3.)



July 2021

New rule for BUNKER play:

1. If you decide a ball in a bunker is unplayable you now have the option to
take BACK-ON-THE LINE relief by coming BEHIND the bunker, no closer
to the hole, dropping a ball on a reference line going straight back from
the hole through the original spot of the ball and taking TWO penalty
strokes. (Rule 19.3 See Diagram below for all bunker relief options)

2. Walls and lips consisting of soil, grass, or artificial material are NOT part
of the bunker. (Rule 12.1)

3. There are relaxed restrictions (no penalty) on touching the sand when
ball is in a bunker when: (Rule 12.2)

a) leaning on a club to rest, balance or prevent a fall
b) smoothing a bunker to care for the course
c) placing clubs or equipment in the bunker

4. Loose impediments and movable obstructions may be removed WITHOUT

penalty. (Rule 12.2)

DIAGRAM 19.3: RELIEF OPTIONS FOR BALL UNPLAYABLE IN BUNKER

A player decides that his or her ball in a bunker is unplayable. The player has
four options:
(1) For ONE penalty stroke, the player may take stroke-and-distance relief
(2) For ONE penalty stroke, the player may take back-on-the-line relief in the
bunker
(3) For ONE penalty stroke, the player may take lateral relief in the bunker
(4) For a total of TWO penalty strokes, the player may take back-on-the-line relief
outside the bunker based on a reference line going straight back from the hole
through the spot of the original ball
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Check out the Bunker Rules Video here


https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/video-hub.html#brightcoveId=5833696710001&pageTitle=Rules%20of%20Golf%20Explained%3A%20Bunkers&playlist=rules-experts-explain

SEPTEMBER 2021

This month we will look at some new rules pertaining to taking relief.

New Rule: Players continue to drop a ball when taking relief, but the dropping procedure
is changed in several ways as detailed in Rule 14.3:

e The focus of the dropping procedure is on a specific “relief area” set by the Rule
under which relief is being taken and is either one or two club-lengths from a
reference point (and may have certain other limitations).

e The relief area is a fixed size for each player and is determined by the longest club in
her bag excluding the putter.

e The ball must be dropped by the player from knee height and must land in the relief
area without touching the player or equipment before hitting the ground.

Diagram 14.3c: BALL MUST BE DROPPED IN AND COME TO REST IN RELIEF AREA.

DIAGRAM 14.3c: BALL MUST BE DROPPED IN AND COME TO REST
IN RELIEF AREA
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16.1a: WHEN RELIEF IS ALLOWED FOR ABNORMAL COURSE CONDITION

DIAGRAM 16.1a: WHEN RELIEF IS ALLOWED FOR ABNORMAL COURSE

An example of how this Relief Procedure is CONDITION
executed for a specific Rule is illustrated by the
following diagram showing how to determine the - _ _T
Relief Area for an Abnormal Course Condition. o precionolpey
Players often ask which side of a cart path or F;f;ggf
other immovable obstruction should be used for L e @2
taking relief. This diagram helps to clarify how . .".Bz _
that decision is made. o
Abnormal

In this diagram B1 and B2 refer to where the ball condition
originally lies and P1 and P2 refer to point of _ » »

. The diagram assumes the player is right-handed. Free relief is allowed for
nearest relief for the ball interference by an abnormal course condition (ACC), including an immovable

obstruction, when the ball touches or lies in or on the condition (B1), or the
condition interferes with the area of intended stance (B2) or swing. The nearest
point of complete relief for B1 is P1, and is very close to the condition. For B2, the
nearest point of complete relief is P2, and is farther from the condition as the stance
has to be clear of the ACC.



November 2021

New Rules involving Penalty Areas

Rule 17 is a specific Rule for Penalty Areas, which are bodies of water or
other areas defined by the Committee where a ball is often lost or unable to
be played. (These areas were previously referred to as hazards or water
hazards.)

Your ball is in a Penalty Area when any part of it lies on or touches the
ground or anything else inside the edge (formerly referred to as margins) of
the Penalty Area. (Rule 17.1a)

Rule 2.2c tells us that if your ball is partly in a Penalty Area and partly in any
other area (General Area, Bunker or Putting Green) it is considered to be in
the Penalty Area.

Under Rule 17.1b you may play the ball as it lies without penalty.
Also under Rule 17:

e There are no longer any special restrictions when a ball is in a “penalty
area”

e A player is allowed to touch or move loose impediments and touch the
ground with hand or club (such as grounding the club right behind the
ball) for any reason.

*Please remember that Rule 8.1a prevents you from moving, bending or
breaking any growing or attached natural object or immovable obstruction,
integral object, boundary object or tee marker; moving a loose impediment
into position to build a better stance; or altering the surface of the ground.

This Rules change was made because previously the penalty seemed overly
harsh if touching the ground was inconsequential and provided no advantage
or when touching the ground could only be detected by later video review.
The change is consistent with the notion that the Penalty Area is not meant
to make the challenge even more difficult than it already is by virtue of
being in the Penalty Area.



