

WE THE PEOPLE

Haynes Academy Wins "We the People" State Finals

tudents from Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies won the state "We the People" competition and will represent Louisiana in the national competition. The Haynes team was led by teacher Chris Totaro.

"We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution" (WTP) is a nationally recognized civics curriculum, whose culminating activity is the annual national simulated congressional hearing competition in Washington, D.C.

Four Louisiana teams qualified to compete in the state competition in Baton Rouge. Also competing were teams from Helen Cox High School, Glenbrook School and John Ehret High School. Teachers Jonetta Jackson, Bradley Kiff and Matthew Edwards also are to be commended on the outstanding performances of their teams.

The distinguished panel of judges included Hon. Parris A. Taylor, Superintendent (Ret.) Darryl Kilbert, Louisiana WTP alumni representative Tyler Barker, Heather W. Angelico, Belinda M. Cambre, Allison Clarke, Tiffany E. Crane, Lauren E. Godshall, Nahum D. Laventhal, Thuy-Duynh Nguyen Le, Philip Lundy, Ann Majeste, W. Steven Mannear, Bryce Menge, Ben Miller, John North, Carla Powell, Charles Regnard, Mary Jo L. Roberts, Shirley A. Snyder and Betty Wilkerson.

Guests attending the event included Louisiana House Rep. Edward (Ted) James II; WTP District Coordinators Robert Rome, Vickie Hebert and Michelle Molina; Glenbrook School Assistant Headmaster for Curriculum Naomi Coyle; Jefferson Parish Social Studies Consultant (Ret.) Carl Dermady; and Project Citizen State Coordinator John Alexander.



Students from Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies won the state "We the People" competition and will represent Louisiana in the national competition. The Haynes team was led by teacher Chris Totaro.



John Ehret High School's "We the People" Outstanding Unit winners with state House Rep. Edward (Ted) James II, far left.