
Good morning and welcome to the deep freeze…….seriously though, be safe in this cold. 
 
Some of the clips used for the Tips are scenarios that could happen occasionally and are shown to try to 
help us not get ‘caught off guard.’ Others, like today’s, are part of our basic philosophy of officiating. 
Take a look at the clip here. 
 
Legal guarding position (LGP)……2 feet on the floor and facing the ball handler is needed to initially 
establish LGP. Did he do it? Certainly. To maintain LGP, a defender may move sideways or backwards 
with contact being made and continue to be legal. Contact that occurs when LGP has been established 
and the defender is moving backwards, sideways or obliquely cannot result in a foul on the defender for 
a blocking foul. When contact happens if the defender is moving backwards, sideways or ‘obliquely’ (any 
angle between backwards and sideways), enough contact for a foul would result in a player control foul 
on the ball handler. 
 
The easiest philosophy to follow here is to ‘referee the defense.’ Think about it….if we do NOT ‘referee 
the defense’ and actually SEE what the defender did (did he/she initially establish LGP, did he/she 
maintain it) then we would be guessing every time we put air in the whistle on plays like this. When we 
referee the defense, we KNOW what happened and what the defender did (or did not do) and what the 
ball handler did. We can easily ask the question ‘what did the defender do wrong?’ If that answer is 
‘nothing’ then any foul is a PC. If the defender moved towards the ball handler and made contact, if the 
defender leaned outside of his/her vertical space, if the defender stuck a knee out and made contact 
that created an advantage, the foul will be on the defender.  
 
The play in the clip is a good one to show that the defender DID initially establish LGP and DID maintain 
it by moving backwards and stopping. This certainly appears to be a PC foul. Remember, referee the 
defense to make block/charge calls WAAAAAY easier! 
 
Wednesday Extra: Your partner just came to you and gave you information that results in changing your 
OOB call…how do we proceed? The official who made the original call should blow his/her whistle and 
signal the new direction and verbally indicate the color as well. Everybody say the conversation between 
you and your partner, now it is your responsibility to make the change since you had the initial call. 
 
Have a great game today, safe travels and make sure to be aware of the time you are out in the cold. 
 
Tim 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1UBYKl8PIwEkpxTpcvgT6XcEsvwmzzV7I/view?usp=sharing

