# TRINITY COUNTY FAIR ASSOCIATION BOARD OF DIRECTORS'

# **MEETING AGENDA**

TRINITY COUNTY FAIRGROUNDS 6000 HWY 3, HAYFORK CA 96041

## **Zoom Link Info:**

Meeting ID: 838 6216 5736

Passcode: 563223

Dial In: 1-669-444-9171

MAY 23<sup>RD</sup>, 2024 6:30 PM – Open Session

# **Board of Directors**

Dennis Rourke, President Michael Thompson, Vice President, Director, 2<sup>nd</sup> District

Marjie Watkins, Director, 1<sup>st</sup> District Donny Case, Director Adrien Keys, Director, 3<sup>rd</sup> District Terra Kephart, Director

Adam Dummer, Director, 4<sup>th</sup> District Krista Hymas, Director

Jenny Millsap, Director, 5<sup>th</sup> District

# **Mission Statement**

To provide for the management of the Trinity County Fair and year-round use of the fairgrounds in the best interest of the people of Trinity County and its rural county values by partnering with county agencies and businesses, promoting agriculture and education, and maximizing available resources.

### <u>Note</u>

Please be informed that any member of the public has a right and is invited to participate during this public meeting and may address the Board during the "Open Comment" portion of the Agenda regarding items not agendized. Then prior to Board Discussion of New Business, after a motion is made and the Board President calls for "Public Comment", Once "Public Comment" is closed all discussion of Agenda items is limited to Fair Board Directors, unless input is requested by a Director. The Board of Directors have agreed to each person being limited to 3 minutes speaking time.

# **AGENDA**

The Board of Directors retains the discretion to adjourn to Closed Session at any time during this meeting to confer with and give direction to its negotiator(s).

#### 1. CALL TO ORDER

Items listed on this agenda may be considered in any order at the discretion of the Chair. All items so listed may be considered for action. Any item not listed on the agenda will not be discussed or considered by the Board.

Called to order by	at	pm
Lalleu to order by	đ١	DIII

# 2. ROLL CALL – DETERMINATION OF A QUORUM

a.	APPROVE DIRECTOR ABSENCES AS EXCUSED/UNEXCUSED							
	Rollcall:	Watkins	, Thompson_	, Dum	mer	, Hymas	, Kephart	
		Rourke	_, Keys, (	Case	, Millsap_			

3. COMMENTS FROM ASSOCIATION MEMBERS AND/OR PUBLIC

## 4. CONSENT AGENDA & MINUTES

- a APPROVE MAY 23<sup>RD</sup>, 2024 AGENDA and the APRIL 18<sup>TH</sup>, 2024 MEETING MINUTES
- 5. APPROVE APRIL 2024 FINANCIAL REPORT
- 6. INFORMATIONAL VACATION/SICK LEAVE BALANCES
- 7. CEO'S REPORT

#### 8. STANDING COMMITTEES

- a. **EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE:** Director Dennis Rourke (Chairman), Director Michael Thompson, Director Marjie Watkins (Finance Committee Chair), Carrie Bayley
- b. **FINANCE COMMITTEE:** Director Marjie Watkins (Chairman), Director Michael Thompson, Sue Erenberger, Carrie Bayley
- c. NOMINATING COMMITTEE: Director Adam Dummer (Chairman), Director Marjie Watkins
- d. **JR. LIVESTOCK COMMITTEE**: Director Krista Hymas (Chairman), Bryan Taylor (Co-Chairman), Director Michael Thompson, Director Marjie Watkins, Carrie Bayley
- e. **TCFA MOTORSPORTS:** Director Donny Case (Chairman), Angela Riggs, Russ Newman, Teresa Newman, Carrie Bayley, Christina Wine
- f. **EQUESTRIAN EVENT COMMITTEE:** Jerry Hlavac (Chairman), Director Jenny Millsap, Carrie Bayley, Christina Wine

# 9. AD HOC COMMITTEES

- a **POLICY COMMITTEE**: Director Adrien Keys (Chairman), Director Terra Kephart, Carrie Bayley, Christina Wine
- b GRANTS & FUNDRAISING COMMITTEE: Director Terra Kephart (Chairman), Carrie Bayley, Christina Wine, Teresa Miller
- c **EXHIBITOR'S HANDBOOK COMMITTEE:** Director Michael Thompson (Chairman), Carrie Bayley, Christina Wine, Jennilea Brookins, Christina Merritt, Krista Hymas
- d **VOLUNTEER COMMITTEE:** Director Terra Kephart (Chairman), Director Adrien Keys, Director Donny Case, Carrie Bayley, Teresa Miller, Christina Wine
- e **WELL COMMITTEE:** Director Donny Case (Chairman), Director Adrien Keys, Director Terra Kephart, Chuck Sauer, Carrie Bayley, Christina Wine
- f RODEO COMMITTEE: Director Jenny Millsap (Chairman), Director Terra Kephart, Laurel Dummer, Jud Frietas, Michelle Bayley, Krista Hymas, Jennilea Brookins, Carrie Bayley, Christina Wine
- g LOGGING SHOW COMMITTEE: Teresa Miller (Chairman), Jason McCollum, Jason Jurin, Aaron Haight, Taylor Haight, Director Jenny Millsap, Shelby Proud, Carrie Bayley

## 10. CORRESPONDENCE

- a. CEO Report
- b. JLC Meeting Minutes April 10<sup>th</sup>, 2024
- c. Equestrian Event Committee Guidelines

# **11. NEW BUSINESS**

- a. Approve Jr. Livestock Recommendation, amending the JLC Bylaws to include Officers (Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, Treasurer) as separate from Committee Members, which would allow for 4 Voting Member openings (Officers = 4, 4H = 5, FFA = 5, Fair Personnel = 5, General Public= 5); held over from April 2024 Board Meeting.
- b. Approve Jr. Livestock Recommendation for contracting Fair time Portable Handwashing Stations and Toilets up to \$2,200 total for July 8-15, 2024, receiving a minimum of 2 quotes from local companies.

**STANDARD AGREEMENTS** 

SA24-13 Jake Parnell

SA24-11 People's Choice Winners

SA24-12 Hayfork Athletics Booster Club

- c. Approve Jr. Livestock Recommendation for 2024 Jr. Livestock Auction Sale order:
  - 1. Steers
  - 2. 1/3 Swine
  - 3. ½ Goats
  - 4. ½ Turkeys
  - 5. 1/3 Swine
  - 6. Poultry
  - 7. Lambs
  - 8. 1/3 Swine
  - 9. ½ Turkeys

RA24-14e Claude Belongia; Wendy Armagnac

RA24-15e Trinity County Planning Department

10. 1/2 Goats

**RENTAL AGREEMENTS** 

RA24-13e 4-H Field Day

- d. Approve Equestrian Event Committee Guidelines.
- e. INFORMATIONAL ONLY CONTRACTS AND AGREEMENTS

JUDGING AGREEMENTS  JA24-14 Troy Treanor – Imagineering and Collections  JA24-15 Scott Boone – Preserved Goods  JA24-16 Carl Szynkowski – Mining and Minerals	SA24-14 Jason Murieen – Chainsaw Carver  FAIR COMMERCIAL AGREEMENTS  COM24-11 Raymond Zhen
JA24-17 Arlene Arnold – Quilt Show	
12. ADJOURNED FOR CLOSED SESSION – PRUSUANT TO GO	
13. RECONVENE TO REGULAR MEETING SESSION/REPORT OF DIRECTORS' REPORTS	DUT
14. ADJOURNED	
Adjourned by at	pm
Submitted By:	
Carrie Bayley, CEO	Dennis Rourke, TCFA President