MEETING - BOARD OF TRUSTEES SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 1 DANIELS COUNTY, MONTANA Open Session

DATE: May 12, 2022
TIME: 7:00 p.m.
PLACE: Music Room

MEMBERS PRESENT: Jesse Cole, Tim Tande, Leif Handran, Matt Stentoft and DuWayne Wilson

ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF PRESENT: Greg Hardy, Caitlin Buer and Colleen Drury

OTHERS PRESENT: See attached

Chairman Jesse Cole called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. Roll was taken and it was established that a quorum was present.

Chairman Cole recognized Patrons & Visitors. Amanda Manternach, Bo Reeverts, Liana Handran and Josh Bilbrey gave statements regarding a 4 day school week.

On motion by DuWayne Wilson and seconded by Matt Stentoft, the minutes from the April 11, 2022 Regular meeting were approved unanimously as presented.

Informational:

Adrian Villa and Ryan Halverson gave a presentation about the 4 day school week from a student's perspective.

Staff Reports:

The Business Manager, Principal and Superintendent reports were discussed and are attached and made a part of these minutes by reference.

Committee Reports:

There were no Committee Reports.

Finance:

On motion by Tim Tande and seconded by Matt Stentoft, Claims #17878 - #17929 including #17862 and excluding #17913 and #17916, dated April 9, 2022 - May 6, 2022, in the amount of \$272,028.39, were approved unanimously as presented.

On motion by Leif Handran and seconded by DuWayne Wilson, the Activities Report for the month of April, 2022 was approved unanimously as presented.

New Business:

The first action item regarding an agronomy curriculum and adding FFA was tabled until the June 2022 meeting.

At 9:00, the board chair called for a 10 minute recess.

At 9:10 the meeting was again called to order.

The second item - petition MHSA to move to Class B the 2023-2025 school years failed for lack of motion.

Matt Stentoft moved to follow MHSA's previous recommendations and set the bottom number of students before allowing 8th grade participation for each and every sport. Leif Handran seconded. It was agreed that the Activities committee would work with the Superintendent, Principal, AD and the coaches to establish these numbers prior to the start of the 2022-2023 school year. There was no further discussion and all present voted in favor.

DuWayne Wilson moved to purchase a SMART Interactive Display from T.E.S.T. in the amount of \$5,729.00. Matt Stentoft seconded and all present voted in favor.

There was no action on the non-renewal of a non-tenured employee. The board was informed of the resignation in writing of Shalice Maldonado as a teacher effective May 27, 2022, which was received on May 10, 2022 and approved by Superintendent Hardy on May 12, 2022.

DuWayne Wilson moved to offer contracts to the following classified employees and approve a 2% increase in the classified staff salary schedule for the 2022-2023 school year:

Shiralee Girard Del Henderson Vada Henderson Kris Ruah
Jonna Handran Judy States Kourtney Voorhees Austin Hagan
Amber Holum Dana Leininger Nancy Linnell Karolyn Thompson

Shalice Maldonado

Matt Stentoft seconded and all present voted in favor.

Matt Stentoft moved to offer a contract and set Scott Farris' hourly wage to \$22.51 per hour for the 2022-2023 school year. Leif Handran seconded and all present voted in favor.

Leif Handran moved to offer a contract and set Sean Cromwell's hourly wage to \$29.92 per hour for the 2022-2023 school year. Matt Stentoft seconded and all present voted in favor.

DuWayne Wilson moved to offer contracts to the following bus route drivers and approve a 2% increase to the base pay for the 2022-2023 school year:

Eva Erstad Dana Fjeld Dorothy Holum Tammy Nelson

Leif Handran seconded and all present voted in favor.

Leif Handran moved to offer a contract and set Colleen Drury's salary to \$45,678.05 for the 2022-2023 school year. Matt Stentoft seconded and all present voted in favor.

DuWayne Wilson moved to hire Jenna Linder as a student custodian for the summer 2022 months. Matt Stentoft seconded and all present voted in favor.

Matt Stentoft moved to hire Dawn Backman and Karla Leibrand for the summer school extended school year program to begin after June 1, 2022. Leif Handran seconded and all present voted in favor.

Superintendent Hardy informed the board that Mrs. Maldonado would like to open the Activities Director position for the 2022-2023 school year. Her current contract expires June 30, 2022.

The next agenda item is in regards to the quote for replacement of exterior doors in the building. The item was tabled until the June meeting to get additional information.

Leif Handran moved to enter into a contract with Schoolhouse IT to act as our Technology company and purchase the recommended upgrades as quoted. Matt Stentoft seconded and all present voted in favor.

Matt Stentoft moved to approve the audit report and findings submitted by Strom & Associates, for the year ended June 30, 2021 as presented. Leif Handran seconded and all present voted in favor.

DuWayne Wilson moved to resolve that the attached list of items, which are the property of School District No. 1, have become abandoned, obsolete, undesirable or unsuitable for the purposes of the district, and to consider the adoption of a resolution to authorize the sale or disposition of such property. Matt Stentoft seconded and all present voted in favor.

Matt Stentoft moved to allow the disposition or destruction of the following records for years prior to 2014:

Hot Lunch Petty Cash
Activities Fund 271
Claims Payroll Records
Payroll Liabilities Election materials

Leif Handran seconded and all present voted in favor.

The business portion of the meeting was then adjourned.

Chairman Jesse Cole called the Board reorganization meeting to order, roll was taken and it was established a quorum was present.		
Matt Stentoft moved to accept the results of the May 3, 2022 School Election as follows: Trustee: Tim Tande – Acclamation – 3 year term		
General Fund Levy: For - 269 votes Against - 127 votes		
Leif Handran seconded and all present voted in favor.		
Certification of Election was issued to Tim Tande. Colleen Drury issued the oath of office and notarized the Certificate.		
With Superintendent Greg Hardy presiding, nominations for Board Chairman were called. Matt Stentoft nominated Jesse Cole. DuWayne Wilson called for nominations to cease and cast a unanimous ballot, all present voted in favor.		

Chairman Cole called for nominations for Vice Chairman. Matt Stentoft nominated Tim Tande. Leif Handran called for nominations to cease and cast a unanimous ballot, all present voted in favor.

Chairman Cole then made the following committee appointments:

Negotiations: Tim Tande & Matt Stentoft Transportation: Jesse Cole & DuWayne Wilson Buildings & Grounds: Tim Tande & Leif Handran

Operations/Activities/Personnel: Jesse Cole & Leif Handran

Finance: Matt Stentoft & DuWayne Wilson Policy: DuWayne Wilson & Leif Handran

The next order of business was the Board Clerks' evaluation. Colleen Drury asked the meeting to be closed. Chairman Cole closed the meeting.

Tim Tande moved to appoint Colleen Drury as clerk for the 2022-2023 school year. Leif Handran seconded and all present voted in favor.

The meeting was re-opened.	
There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.	
Chairman	District Clerk