# Meeting of the Groundwater Management Area 8 May 6, 2019 in Cleburne, TX

#### **Minutes**

The Groundwater Management Area 8 (GMA 8) district representatives (referred to herein collectively as "the Committee" for easy reference), which consists of representatives from the Central Texas Groundwater Conservation District, Clearwater Underground Water Conservation District, Middle Trinity Groundwater Conservation District, North Texas Groundwater Conservation District, Northern Trinity Groundwater Conservation District, Post Oak Savannah Groundwater Conservation District, Prairielands Groundwater Conservation District, Red River Groundwater Conservation District, Saratoga Underground Water Conservation District, Southern Trinity Groundwater Conservation District, and Upper Trinity Groundwater Conservation District, held a *Joint Planning meeting at 10:00 A.M. on Monday, May 6, 2019,* at the Cleburne Conference Center in Cleburne, Texas.

Groundwater Conservation District Representatives Present:

Central Texas GCD: Mitchell Sodek
Clearwater UWCD: Dirk Aaron
Middle Trinity GCD: Joe Cooper
North Texas GCD: Mitchell Sodek
Prairielands GCD: Charles Beseda
Red River GCD: David Gattis
Saratoga UWCD: Jason Jones
Upper Trinity GCD: Doug Shaw

Northern Trinity GCD: Bob Patterson Post Oak Savannah GCD: Gary Westbrook

Groundwater Conservation District Representatives Absent:

Southern Trinity GCD: Rodney Kroll

#### 1. Invocation

Chair Joe Cooper provided the invocation for the meeting.

### 2. Call meeting to order and establish quorum

Chair Joe Cooper, Middle Trinity GCD, established that a quorum was present and called the GMA 8 meeting to order at 10:10 am.

### 3. Welcome and introductions.

Chair Joe Cooper welcomed the guests present at the meeting. He introduced Jean Perez with the TWDB.

### 4. Public Comments.

There were no public comments.

### 5. Consider and act upon approval of minutes from the November 30, 2018, GMA 8 meeting

David Gattis, Red River GCD, made the motion to approve the November 30, 2018 GMA 8 meeting minutes. Charles Beseda, Prairielands GCD, seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously.

## 6. Presentation of Plaque to Eddy Daniel expressing appreciation for service as GMA 8 Chair

Chair, Joe Cooper, asked Ronny Young, North Texas GCD to present plaque to Eddy Daniel former GMA 8 Chair. Ronny Young expressed appreciation to Eddy Daniel for all the years he served as chair and provided leadership to GMA 8.

# 7. Consider and act upon all matters incident and related to the contract and scope of services with WSP for consulting services for DFC development.

Chair Joe Cooper reminded the GMA 8 members that a committee consisting of Drew Satterwhite, Joe Cooper and Dirk Aaron negotiated with WSP regarding the contract, scope of services and costs. James Beach, WSP, was available to answer questions. A detailed discussion was held between the members and WSP. It was suggested that the committee consisting of Drew Satterwhite, Joe Cooper and Dirk Aaron allow members to submit comments on the contract through Friday of this week, and that the committee has the authority to authorize changes that do not substantially alter the terms. David Gattis, Red River GCD made the motion to approve the contract with the stipulation that comments that are sent in by Friday be addressed by the committee. Ronny Young, North Texas GCD, seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously

# 8. Consider and act upon all matters incident and related to an Interlocal Agreement regarding Groundwater Management Area 8 Funding for Development of Desired Future Conditions joint planning.

Chair Joe Cooper informed the GMA 8 members that North Texas GCD, serving as administrative agent to GMA 8, encounters financial expenses and has requested a formal agreement with the GMA 8 districts to split the funding of the proposed WSP/Blanton and Associates contract. Joe Cooper indicated that those representatives who have authorization to sign, should sign the Interlocal Agreement at the meeting and the others who need to take it to their boards should do so and then sign. After all signed documents are received a copy of the signed document will be provided to the Districts. Davis Gattis, Red River GCD, made the motion to approve the Interlocal Agreement. Gary Westbrook seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously.

### 9. Discussion and possible action on potential model runs for this planning cycle.

James Beach, WSP, provided a presentation concerning DFCs. He reminded the districts that DFC Considerations consist of nine factors. He also reminded the districts that the current DFCs are by aquifer at three levels (1) GMA 8, (2) District, (3) County. He reviewed with the districts Run 10 from the previous GMA 8 DFC development process and also briefly discussed the hydrogeologic region approach. Velma Danielson, Blanton & Associates, reviewed Texas Water Code Section 36.108 – Joint Planning in Management Area and 31 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 356 Groundwater Management relative to the groundwater districts.

### 10. Discussion and possible action on joint planning schedule.

The planning schedule will be possibly ten meetings beginning in August 2019 and ending November 2021.

## 11. Update and possible action on pending legislation that relates to the joint planning process including but not limited to similar rules.

Troupe Brewer, Lloyd Gosselink, provided a legislative update to the GMA. Following the presentation, Joe Cooper recommended that the districts fill out a Similar Rules survey and return to the North Texas GCD within the month. The survey will be emailed to the districts.

### 12. Discussion of possible agenda items and dates for next GMA 8 meeting.

Possible agenda items are Interlocal Agreement, contract, pumping numbers, and runs. It was decided to schedule GMA 8 meetings one at a time. The next meeting is scheduled for Friday, July 26, 2019.

### 13. Closing comments.

Chair Joe Cooper thanked attendees for coming.

### 14. Adjourn

Dirk Aaron, Clearwater UWCD, made the motion to adjourn. Mitchell Sodek, Central Texas GCD, seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously. Chair Joe Cooper declared the meeting adjourned at 11:13 a.m.

The GMA 8 Committee unanimously approved the minutes on this 26 day of Jary 2019

Recording Secretary

Chairman