
Good morning! Full slate of games today so most of us will be back at it…..start the new year off right 
and work hard! 
 
Today’s clip was sent to me by Bill Brown. He is the calling official in it. He has a defender pushing 
through a screen and gets the foul correct. As you will see in the clip, the foul occurred just as an 
offensive player receives a pass and is going to attempt the shot. Here is the critical part that is widely 
misunderstood…….continuous motion…….read the definition of continuous motion below: 
 

 
 
The key in this particular play is Article 2. Note that it does NOT say “If an opponent fouls the 
shooter…..”. It simply says that “If an opponent fouls after a player has started a try for goal, he/she is 
permitted to complete…….”. Let’s be clear, this means that even if a foul is committed by the defense on 
a non-shooter after the shooting motion has started, the goal would count if it goes in. If it does NOT go 
in, there is simply no goal and no free throws since the SHOOTER was not the player fouled.  
 
OK, back to THIS clip. In this clip, the foul occurred off-ball and was clearly before the shooter started 
her try for goal. Remember, the start of the TRY is crucial here, not the release. At any rate, since the try 
had not started, the goal should not have counted. The foul is penalized and the offensive team gets a 
throw-in nearest the spot of the foul.  What DID happen here was that the goal WAS counted and 
should not have been. What could have cleared this up is communication between the crew to 
determine if the whistle had blown before the try had started. Bill was T and had the foul call……the C 
had the pass to his low block area and thus the shot also. If the T had gone to C and asked “Was my 
whistle before or after the try started’ OR if the C had come to the T and said “the foul was before the 
try started,” the correct ruling would probably have been made.  
 
In a two-person game, T would have been in the same position and thus L would have had the shooter 
and the same communication between the crew could have taken place. If T had been on the opposite 
side, L would have had the foul and T the shooter, thus a similar communication possibility. 



Remember also to make sure that the teams members are being monitored during communication 
among the crew.  
 
Bill sent this to me to help others learn from the play. THANK YOU for this Bill! If we all can learn a bit 
from others mistakes as well as our own, we will improve every game we work! 
 
Take a look at the clip here. 
 
Have a great game tonight and work hard! 
 
Tim 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-qBSFOVX9mqVHpoYTNhOFZGU1k/view?usp=sharing

