## NEBRASKA

The Nebraska Territory became a state in 1867.<sup>1</sup> It was created as and still is a single-district state, residing in the Eighth Circuit.

Nebraska has three permanent lines and one temporary position (NE.ST.04), which was authorized in 1990 and extended seven years later.<sup>2</sup>

Statutory History					
Seat	Legislation	Authority			
NE.ST.01	Act of March 25, 1867	15 Stat. 5			
NE.ST.02	Act of February 27, 1907	34 Stat. 997			
NE.ST.03	Act of June 2, 1970	84 Stat. 294			
NE.ST.04	Act of December 1, 1990	104 Stat. 5089			

Seat Histories					
Position #	Name	Date of Confirmation	Date of Departure	Reason	Party
NE.ST.01.01	Dundy, Elmer Scipio	April 9, 1868	October 28, 1896	Deceased	Republican
NE.ST.01.02	McHugh, William Douglas	Recess Appointment <sup>3</sup>	February 1, 1897	Not confirmed	Democrat

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>Act of March 25, 1867, 15 STAT. 5.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>Act of December 1, 1990, 104 STAT. 5089. The authorization was amended by the Act of October 6, 1997 (111 STAT. 1173), under which vacancies on this court can be filled through November 20, 2003, ten years after the confirmation date of Judge Shanahan. Subject to additional congressional changes in the Act, after this date the first vacancy cannot be filled.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup>Recess appointment, November 20, 1896.

NE.ST.01.03	Munger, William Henry	February 18, 1897	August 11, 1915	Deceased	Democrat
NE.ST.01.04	Woodrough, Joseph William	April 31, 1916	April 12, 1933	Elevated to Eighth Circuit	Democrat
NE.ST.01.05	Donohoe, James A.	April 20, 1933	February 26, 1956	Deceased	Democrat
NE.ST.01.06	Robinson, Richard E.	July 2, 1956	January 7, 1972	Retired	Republican
NE.ST.01.07	Dier, Richard A.	December 6, 1971	December, 1972	Deceased	Republican
NE.ST.01.08	Schatz, Albert G.	May 10, 1973	April 30, 1985	Deceased	Republican
NE.ST.01.09	Strom, Lyle E.	October 25, 1985	November 2, 1995	Retired	Republican
NE.ST.01.10	Bataillon, Joseph F.	September 11, 1997	Active	Active	Democrat
NE.ST.02.01	Munger, Thomas Charles	March 1, 1907	November 29, 1941	Deceased	Republican
NE.ST.02.02	Delehant, John Wayne	February 9, 1942	April 30, 1957	Retired	Democrat
NE.ST.02.03	Van Pelt, Robert	June 11, 1957	May 5, 1970	Retired	Republican
NE.ST.02.04	Urbom, Warren K.	April 23, 1970	December 31, 1990	Retired	Republican
NE.ST.02.05	Kopf, Richard George	May 21, 1992	Active	Active	Republican
NE.ST.03.01	Denney, Robert V.	March 4, 1971	April 16, 1981	Retired	Republican
NE.ST.03.02	Beam, Clarence Arlen	November 18, 1981	November 9, 1987	Elevated to Eighth Circuit	Republican
NE.ST.03.03	Cambridge, William G.	May 27, 1988	July 11, 2000	Retired	Republican

NE.ST.03.04	Camp, Laurie Smith <sup>4</sup>	October 23, 2001	Active	Active	Republican
NE.ST.04.01	Shanahan, Thomas Michael	November 20, 1993	May 5, 2004	Retired	Independent
NE.ST.04.02	Vacant				

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup>First female district judge appointed from Nebraska.