Minutes Special Council Meeting Thursday, July 8, 2021

A Special Council meeting of the Town Council of the Corporation of the Town of Rainy River took place on Thursday, July 8, 2021 at 9:30 a.m. via video conference (Zoom).

In attendance were Mayor Deb Ewald and Councillors Larry Armstrong, Martin Kreger, Gerry Pasloski, Neil Ivall and Brent Helgeson.

Absent was Councillor Pat White.

The minutes were recorded by Chief Administrative Officer Veldron Vogan.

Opening of Meeting

Mayor Deborah Ewald opened the meeting with a moment of silence and a salute to the Queen.

Disclosure of Interest

No disclosures of interest were declared.

By-law 1777-21 - 2021 Tax Ratios

The first reading of By-law 1777-21 was given by Councillor Larry Armstrong.

Verbal Motion #21-080A – Brent Helgeson – Neil Ivall

"That By-law 1777-21 be taken as read a second and third time."

Carried

Motion #21-081 - Larry Armstrong – Brent Helgeson

"That By-law 1777-21, being a by-law for establishing tax ratios for 2021, having been read the required number of times, be hereby approved."

Carried

By-law 1778-21 – 2021 Tax Rates

The first reading of By-law 1778-21 was given by Councillor Neil Ivall.

Verbal Motion #21-081A – Larry Armstrong – Brent Helgeson

"That By-law 1778-21 be taken as read a second and third time."

Carried

Motion #21-082 - Larry Armstrong – Neil Ivall

"That By-law 1778-21, to provide for the adoption of the levies for the year, for the adoption of tax rates and to provide for penalty and interest in default of payment thereof for 2021, having been read the required number of times be hereby approved."

Carried

Second Street Reconstruction

Motion #21-083 - Gerry Pasloski – Martin Kreger

"That the Town Council of the Corporation of the Town of Rainy River hereby awards the Second Street Reconstruction Contract No. 21-03 to Bay City Contractors at the tender price of \$3,503,210.00 plus taxes."

Carried

Adjournment

Motion #21-084 - Gerry Pasloski

Original Signed
Mayor

"There being no further business, the meeting is hereby adjourned at 9:41 a.m."

Carried

Original Signsd
Chief Administrative Officer