Minutes DCTA ANNUAL MEETING Wednesday, May 20, 2015 Middleton Town Hall, 7555 Old Sauk Rd, Verona, WI

Meeting called to order by President Derr at 7:05 pm.

Pledge of Allegiance

The following guests were introduced: County Board Supervisors Patrick Miles, Bob Salov, Ronn Ferrell and Dorothy Krause.

<u>Presentation</u> on large, on-going studies and construction projects planned for this year and next, Larry Barta, DOT.

Clean Lakes Alliance Update - Item postponed.

<u>Capital Area Regional Planning Commission Update</u> – DCTA Commissioners Kris Hampton and Mark Geller were recognized. They spoke about DNR approval of part of the Fitchburg USA. Tim Roehl added that a lawsuit was filed by the petitioner on Monday. Mark Hazelbaker asked the Commissioners if they had ever heard of DCTA policy that they should oppose Urban Service Area expansions unless there was a Boundary Agreement in place. The Commissioners said they were not aware of such a policy. Mark noted that the DCTA does not have such policy but was recently accused of directing Commissioners to vote that way. He reiterated that the DCTA does not tell Commissioners how to vote on individual USA petitions.

There was a brief discussion of state legislation addressing what CARPC cannot be and setting deadlines for action.

<u>Lakes and Watershed Commission Update</u> – DCTA Commissioner Lyle Updike spoke about county legislation to update stormwater management performance standards.

<u>Tree Board</u> – Renée Lauber reported that that she was contacted by the Dane County Tree Board. They would like to know how they can be of assistance to towns. For example, some municipalities are concerned with inventory and disposal of ash trees. Mr. Derr asked what towns were doing to address the emerald ash borer. Tom Wilson noted that Westport did an inventory and is trying to save some trees. They have maybe 12 they are trying to save. Tim Roehl requested that the contact information for the business that treats Westport's trees be sent out to all the towns. Jim Pulvermacher noted that oak wilt is everywhere. He would like people to address oak wilt.

<u>Comprehensive Plan Steering Committee</u>. Renée noted that a final status report on the work of the committee was sent to all the town clerks. The committee held its last meeting in April. It forwarded recommended changes on the Housing section to the ZLR. There were no recommendations for action on Resource Protection Areas.

<u>DaneCom</u> – Steve Anders (Cottage Grove) and Doug Meier (Vermont) are our repsresentatives on the DaneCom Governing Board. Steve spoke about frustration getting information on DaneCom.

Mark Hazelbacker agreed and spoke about trying to find out more information on the contract amendment for an additional 6.75 million for the system. We have asked for propagation maps – they have been redacted. We want a good system. Before I go ahead and say let's do this I need to know what coverage we are going to have.

Mark also discussed concerns with the Dane Com IGA. It didn't define what a working system is, it is not a good contract, it needs to specify what we are getting, it needs a definition of operation and maintenance costs versus capital costs. This system is complicated and the geography is challenging. If we talk about it I am confident we can get it done. I hope the co board adopts the resolution for additional funds tomorrow. We all want to make the system work.

Jim Pulvermacher spoke about monetary limits in the IGA. There should be a total budget. We are essentially being asked to sign a blank check – I have never seen an open ended contract. I need to see a spending limit.

Alex Elkins, Primrose – We don't think we should pay a maintenance fee when we aren't getting anything. What happens if we don't pay? Mark noted it is not constructive to get into that when the contract expires at the end of the year. We are not encouraging people to withhold payments. That is not constructive.

Lyle Udike, Sun Prairie, talked about a 10 year contract being too much. We agreed to make payments until it was up and operating. It maybe two or 3 years before we are ready to make a longer term commitment. The term is a key. Right now I cannot recommend a long term contract. Others agree.

John Brixy, Blue Mounds – Blue Mounds has withheld money. The county exec has noticed. Nothing is operational and what are we maintaining? I don't see what we are paying for. They need to sit down and listen to what the towns have to say.

DaneCom Governing Board – clarification on the role of the Board is needed. DCTA asked for a DaneCom Governing Board meeting and was told the Board was linked to the initial 18.5 million. Since that has been spent, the Board is no longer relevant.

Bob Wipperfurth noted that Windsor on May 7th voted to reject the contract. We determined that there was a lack of accountability for Harris Corporation.

Mr. Farrell asked people to attend the county board meeting.

Update on State Legislation

The requirement for town electors to vote to approve annual highway expenditures in excess of \$5,000 per mile will likely be eliminated. AB 45 authorizing towns to participate in multijurisdictional tax incremental financing districts (TIF) is being discussed. It will allow TIF with an adjacent city or village partner.

Recognition – Jerry Derr gave out plaques from the Wisconsin Towns Association recognizing:

- Robert E. Lee one of our longest serving officers, 42 years in the town of Dane
- Bob Reige, Chair for 40 years in the town of Deerfield
- Milo Bruenig, on the Town of Middleton board for 19 years

Elections

The town representative present separated into seven district groups with each district entitled to one director. The following people were elected to the Executive Board.

District 1--Bristol, Burke, Sun Prairie, Windsor, York Jerry Derr, Chair, Town of Bristol

District 2--Blooming Grove, Cottage Grove, Deerfield, Dunn, Medina Steve Anders, Supervisor, Town of Cottage Grove

District 3--Albion, Christiana, Dunkirk, Pleasant Springs, Rutland Ted Olson, Supervisor, Town of Dunkirk

District 4--Blue Mounds, Montrose, Oregon, Perry, Primrose Alex Elkins, Supervisor, Town of Primrose

District 5--Madison, Middleton, Springdale, Verona Tim Roehl, Supervisor, Town of Middleton

District 6--Berry, Black Earth, Cross Plains, Springfield, Vermont Jim Pulvermacher, Supervisor, Town of Springfield

District 7--Dane, Mazomanie, Roxbury, Vienna, Westport Tom Wilson, Atty./Admin./Clerk/Treasurer Town of Westport

The Executive Board then met and elected Jerry Derr as President, Tim Roehl as Vice President and Jim Pulvermacher as Secretary/Treasurer.