# REGULAR MEETING - BOARD OF TRUSTEES SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 1 DANIELS COUNTY, MONTANA

Open Session

DATE: July 11, 2022
TIME: 8:00 p.m.
PLACE: Music Room

MEMBERS PRESENT: Jesse Cole, Tim Tande, Leif Handran and DuWayne Wilson

ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF PRESENT: Greg Hardy, Caitlin Buer and Colleen Drury

OTHERS PRESENT: Kyla Cromwell, Sean Cromwell and Trevor Manternach

Chairman Jesse Cole called the meeting to order at 8:00 p.m. Roll was taken and it was established that a quorum was present.

Chairman Cole recognized Patrons & Visitors.

Sean Cromwell addressed the board regarding the current state of our activity buses. The Transportation Committee will meet and review his proposals prior to the next board meeting.

On motion by DuWayne Wilson and seconded by Leif Handran, the minutes from the June 13, 2022 Regular meeting were approved unanimously as presented.

## **Staff Reports:**

The Business Manager and Superintendent reports were discussed and are attached and made a part of these minutes by reference.

## **Committee Reports:**

There were no Committee Reports.

#### **Finance:**

On motion by Tim Tande and seconded by Leif Handran, Claims #17988 - #18018 excluding #18005, dated June 9, 2022 – June 30, 2022, in the amount of \$147,647.63 were approved unanimously as presented.

On motion by Tim Tande and seconded by DuWayne Wilson, the Activities Report for the month of June, 2022 was approved unanimously as presented.

### **New Business:**

Tim Tande moved to approve the first reading of the presented Board Policies. Leif Handran seconded and all present voted in favor.

Leif Handran moved to approve the Spartan Standards changes for the 2022-2023 school year as presented. DuWayne seconded and all present voted in favor.

No action was taken on the MTSBA vote on Association Business.

Tim Tande moved to approve the bus routes for the 2022-2023 school year as presented. Leif Handran seconded and all present voted in favor.

Tim Tande moved to approve the Student Attendance Agreements for the 2022-2023 school year for the following students:

To Scobey from Poplar School District: Students 1-5

To Scobey from Wolf Point School District: Student 6

To Scobey from Frontier School District: Student 7

DuWayne Wilson seconded and all present voted in favor.

Tim Tande moved to allow the Scobey Assembly of God church and Nemont Telephone Co-op use of school buses, providing their own drivers, fuel, repairs, maintenance and the necessary insurance coverage. DuWayne Wilson seconded and all present voted in favor.

DuWayne Wilson moved to waive Spartan Standards Curfew rules for the August 12, 2022 cross country practice. Tim Tande seconded and all present voted in favor.

Leif Handran moved to purchase Cross Country uniforms for the 2022 season. DuWayne Wilson seconded and all present voted in favor.

Leif Handran moved to purchase the Chromebooks and carts up to the quoted amount by CDW-G for approximately \$29,431.56. DuWayne Wilson seconded. Discussion that the price quoted for the chromebooks was updated to a lower amount. Administration also said that we only need 3 carts and may not need all 60 of the chromebooks, so this amount would be significantly lower. There being no further discussion, all present voted in favor.

Tim Tande moved to purchase doors as quoted from AAA in the amount of \$56,256.00. DuWayne Wilson seconded and all present voted in favor.

Tim Tande moved to hire the following coaches for the 2022 seasons:

Football (Assistants)Jr. High FootballCross CountryLarry HendersonMichael McDermotBetsy KilgoreMike EukenJamie GreenNicoli Lund

Volleyball (Assistant)Jr. High VolleyballShalice MaldonadoDawn KingRachel Thievin

DuWayne Wilson seconded and all present voted in favor.

Leif Handran moved to hire Colleen Drury as in-house technology coordinator for the 2022-2023 school year. DuWayne Wilson seconded. Discussion followed as to how much time would need to be spent and the amount that should be paid. Leif Handran withdrew his motion and moved to hire Colleen Drury as technology coordinator for \$5,000.00 for the 2022-20223 school year. DuWayne Wilson seconded and all present voted in favor.

Next meeting will be August 8, 2022 and a special board meeting date will be set for the Annual Budget meeting prior to August 26, 2022. Transportation Committee will meet July 19, 2022 at 6:00 p.m.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.	
Chairman	District Clerk