TOWN OF ONOWAY COUNCIL CHAMBERS

(Due to COVID restrictions, the public may participate via teleconference)

PRESENT: Sandi Benford - Councillor

Brian Johnson - Councillor Garth Ward - Councillor

Wendy Wildman - Chief Administrative Officer (CAO)
Heather Luhtala - Assistant CAO (Via Teleconference)

PUBLIC AT LARGE: 0

1. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 9:31 a.m. by Chief Administrative Officer, Wendy Wildman.

Motion #126-20

MOVED by Councillor Benford that the Agenda be approved as presented.

CARRIED

2. **NOMINATIONS**

a) Mayor:

Chairman Wildman called for nominations for the position of Mayor.

Councillor Johnson nominated Councillor Benford for Mayor.

Chairman Wildman called for nominations for the position of Mayor a second time - None

Chairman Wildman called for nominations for the position of Mayor a third time – None.

Motion #127-20

MOVED by Councillor Johnson that nominations for the position of Mayor cease.

CARRIED

Councillor Benford was declared Mayor, was administered the Oath of Office for the position of Mayor and assumed the Chair.

b) Deputy Mayor:

Mayor Benford called for nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor.

Councillor Ward nominated Councillor Johnson for Deputy Mayor.

TOWN OF ONOWAY COUNCIL CHAMBERS

(Due to COVID restrictions, the public may participate via teleconference)

Mayor Benford called for nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor a second time - None

Mayor Benford called for nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor a third time – None.

Motion #128-20

MOVED by Councillor Ward that nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor cease.

CARRIED

Councillor Johnson was declared Deputy Mayor and was administered the Oath of Office for the position of Deputy Mayor.

3. <u>APPOINTMENTS</u>

Motion #129-20

MOVED by Councillor Ward that the following committee appointments and confirmations be approved:

- a) Public Works Supervisor
 - Sandi Benford with Garth Ward as alternate.
- b) Member to Highway 43 East Waste Commission
 - Brian Johnson with Sandi Benford as alternate.
- c) Representative to Summer Villages of Lac Ste. Anne County East
 - Garth Ward with Sandi Benford as alternate. (all Council to attend, rep to vote)
- d) Member to Darwell Sewage Lagoon Committee/Regional Wastewater Line
 - Garth Ward with Brian Johnson as alternate.
- e) Lake Isle Aquatic Management Society
 - Sandi Benford with Garth Ward as alternate.
- f) Yellowhead Regional Library
 - Sandi Benford with Garth Ward as alternate.
- g) Family and Community Support Services (FCSS)
 - Sandi Benford with Brian Johnson as alternate.
- h) Regional Emergency Services
 - Sandi Benford with Brian Johnson as alternate.
- i) Flowering Rush ACP Project
 - Sandi Benford with Garth Ward as alternate.

TOWN OF ONOWAY COUNCIL CHAMBERS

(Due to COVID restrictions, the public may participate via teleconference)

- j) Chief Administrative Officer
 - Wendy Wildman, Wildwillow Enterprises Inc.
- k) Auditor
 - Auditor Appointment Seniuk & Company
- I) Solicitor
 - Patriot Law Group Onoway
- m) FOIP Coordinator
 - Wendy Wildman, Wildwillow Enterprises Inc.
- n) Community Peace Officer
 - Town of Mayerthorpe Community Peace Officer Services Agreement – (Dwight Dawn)
- o) Subdivision & Development Appeal Board as per agreement with Milestone Municipal Services
- p) Municipal Planning Commission
 - All of Council
- q) Designated Officers:
 - Assessor, Dan Kanuka, Municipal Assessment Services Group (*Bylaw 249*)
 - Development Authority, Diane Burtnick, Development Officer (Bylaw 190)
 - Planning Authority, Administration for Subdivision Approval Process, Jane Dauphinee, Municipal Planning Services (*Bylaw* 191) / Subdivision Approving Authority – Council, Summer Village of South View (*Bylaw* 191)
 - Subdivision & Development Appeal Board Clerks, Emily House and Cathy McCartney (*Bylaw 212*)
 - Assessment Review Board Clerk, Mike Primeau, Lac Ste. Anne County (*Bylaw 210*)

CARRIED

TOWN OF ONOWAY COUNCIL CHAMBERS

(Due to COVID restrictions, the public may participate via teleconference)

4. FINANCIAL

Motion #130-20

MOVED by Deputy Mayor Johnson that the following financial information be confirmed:

- a) Signing Authority, all of the Council and the Chief Administrative Officer and the Assistant Chief Administrative Officer
 - Two signatures are required
 - One signature to be any member of Council (Sandi Benford, Garth Ward, Brian Johnson)
 - One signature to be the Chief Administrative Officer, Wendy Wildman or the Assistant Chief Administrative Officer, Heather Luhtala
- b) Banking Authority ATB Financial.
- c) Remuneration/Reimbursement Policy C-COU-REM-1

CARRIED

5. <u>MEETING DATES</u>

a. Regular Meeting Day/Times

Motion #131-20

MOVED by Councillor Ward that regular Council meetings be scheduled for the third Wednesday of the month at 9:30 a.m. unless changed by Council.

CARRIED

b. Regular Meeting Location

Motion #132-20

MOVED Councillor Ward that the regular meetings of Council take place at the Town of Onoway Council Chambers located at 4812-51 Street, Onoway, AB.

CARRIED

c. Notification of Council & Council Committee Meetings

Motion #133-20

MOVED by Councillor Ward that regular meetings information be posted on the Summer Village website in accordance with Policy C-COU-MTG-1 Notification of Council and Committee Meetings.

CARRIED

TOWN OF ONOWAY COUNCIL CHAMBERS

(Due to COVID restrictions, the public may participate via teleconference)

6. MUNICIPAL OFFICE LOCATION

Motion #134-20

MOVED by Deputy Mayor Johnson that the named municipal office location be confirmed as 4808-51 Street, Onoway, Alberta.

CARRIED

7. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

Mayor Benford declared the meeting adjourned at 9:40 a.m.

	Mayor, Sandi Benford
Chief Administrative O	fficer, Wendy Wildman