

Most of you are aware of the MTFCI Special Tour Awards that are presented at each Annual Tour closing banquet. Have you ever wondered why, or when, the MTFCI Special Tour Awards were established? Or who the people were that some of the awards are named after? With the help of longtime MTFCI member and past president Jean Barth, as well as spending time looking through back issues of the Model T Times, I have tried to piece together the history of the Special Tour Awards.

The MTFCI has a long history of presenting awards for the restoration of Model T's, with the most prestigious, the Stynoski Award, given for the best restoration of the year. Jean recalls that nine cars were entered in the Stynoski Award class at the Annual Tour in 1975 and, because of the quality of the restorations, any one of them could have won. After judging was finished, the Board of Directors was concerned that none of the other cars received recognition, so they worked on establishing a new awards program over the next few months. The new 'Special Tour Awards' were introduced in 1976 and continue to be awarded today, with just a few changes over the years. Originally, a traveling trophy, donated by a company or club member, was given for each award. The winner took the trophy home and returned it the following year at the tour, to be passed on to the new winner. The previous year's winner was then given a plaque to commemorate the award they won. As you can imagine, it was a challenge to keep up with the traveling trophies. After 1995, the trophies were no longer presented and were replaced by plaques that the winners are given at the banquet and able to keep.



Natalie Weaver, Editor

The following are the original Special Tour Awards. All but two are still awarded.

Grand Champion Touring Award

(Original donor: Ford Motor Company)

The recipient of this award is determined by popular ballot of the men on the tour who vote for the car they would most like to take home. If a car receives this award, it will not receive another Special Tour Award that year. This award is now known as the Mens' Choice Award.

Ladies' Choice Award

(Original donor: J.C. Taylor, Inc.)

The recipient of this award is determined by popular ballot of the ladies on the tour who vote for the car they would most like to take home. If a car receives this award, it will not receive another Special Tour Award that year.

Frank Fitzpatrick Memorial Award

(Original donors: Don and Peg Snyder)

Frank Fitzpatrick was a long time and loyal member of the MTFCI and a very helpful man to have on tour if you had mechanical challenges. He was well loved and appreciated and always enjoyed helping fellow Model T'ers with repairs to their cars. He was a Ford dealer and mechanic for many years and later rebuilt Model T engines.

The recipient of this award is determined by the Awards Committee (members are appointed by the president each year) as the person who is most congenial and mechanically helpful on the tour.

President's Cup Award

(Original donors: past MTFCI presidents)

This award recipient is determined by the Awards Committee and the past MTFCI presidents attending the tour, and given to the tour participant generating the greatest tour spirit.

Tin Lizzie Antique Award

(Original donor: Frank Lazzara)

The recipient of this award was selected by the Awards Committee and given to the best 1928-1948 Ford on tour. This award was not presented after 1992.

Universal Tire Award

Donated by its namesake, the recipient of this award was selected by the Awards Committee and given to the best car with Universal tires. This award was presented for the last time in 1998.

tour. In the case of a second tie, it is awarded to the oldest person.

This award is given to the person on the tour who has attended the

Over the course of time, the following Special Tour Awards were

Barbara and Lee Park Award for Best Commercial Model T

(Original donors: Lee and Barbara Park)

added. All but two are still are awarded.

(Original donors: Don and Peg Snyder)

Snyder's Old Timers Award

This award, selected by the Awards Committee, is presented to the owner(s) of the best commercial Model T on the tour. The award is now known as the Special Commercial Award.

Bonnevier Memorial Award

(Original Donor: Elaine Bonnevier)

The award is selected by the Awards Committee and presented to the owner(s) of the best Speedster on the tour. Elaine Bonnevier sponsored this award in memory of her husband, Leonard Bonnevier, who served as MTFCI president and Board member.

Jimmy Walker Award

(Original/current donor: Midwest Chapter)

This award was established by the Midwest Chapter in memory of fellow chapter member, Jimmy Walker. The award is given to all young (age 19 or under) licensed and insured drivers on the Annual Tour who drive a Model T for at least half the mileage of any single day tour. No individual can win this award twice. Learn more about the Jimmy Walker Award on page 22.

Youth Choice Award

This award is determined by a vote of the youth through age 19 on the tour as the car they would most like to own. If a car receives this award, it will not receive another Special Tour Award that year. It is always interesting to discover the car on tour that wins the greatest number of youth votes!

Syverson Award

Donated by Syverson Cabinet Company, long-time manufacturer of reproduction wood Model T bodies, this award was determined by the Awards Committee and given to the best reproduction wood-bodied Model T on the tour. The Syverson family always provided a beautiful handcrafted wooden plaque each year. The award was given for the last time in 2017.

Reiter Cup Award

(Original donor: Jim Reiter)

This award was introduced in 1985 and given for ten years. It was awarded to the oldest couple on the tour and determined by the total of their combined ages. It was supposedly discontinued because many women did not want to disclose their age!



The original traveling trophy for the Frank Fitzpatrick Award



The last Syverson Award, presented in 2017

This handcrafted wooden ballot box was made by Bill Barth, past MTFCI president and Lifetime Achievement Award recipient. At the top of the car are separate slots where voters can cast their ballots for both the Mens' and Ladies' Choice Awards. The ballots go in separate compartments for ease of ballot counting.

