Good morning! Amazing that this is the final week of the regular season......

Today’s tip is a clip of a shot in the air (clearly released by the shooter) and a foul before the ball goes in
the hoop......should it count? Let’s get to that in a minute......

When the shot is in the air, many of us have been told at camps to suck on the whistle if we can to see if
the ball goes in. That is a good rule of thumb in many cases, but what about that play where the contact
is ‘enough’ that we cannot pass on it to see if the ball goes in? In today’s clip, we have a shot by blue and
as the ball is in the air and before entering the hoop, a push foul from behind by blue in the paint. Take a
look here.

Foul? Sure is...... ENOUGH of a foul to blow the whistle while the shot is in the air? SURE looks like it!
Sometimes even when we ‘want’ to keep some flow and try to see if the ball goes in, we just cannot do
it because of the players’ actions. Personally, | have a foul just as the lead did here.

Do we count the hoop? Here is the rules reference for the ‘continuous motion part’:

Rule 4-11-3
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ART. 3

Continuous motion does not apply if a teammate fouls after a player has started a try for a goal and before the ball is
im flight. The ball becomes dead immediately.

Rule 6-7

ART. 5
The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when-

An officials whistle is blown (see exceptions a and b below)

ART. &
The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when:

Time expires for a quarter or extra period (see exception a below).

ART. 7
The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when:

A foul, other than player-control or team-control, occurs (see exceptions a, b and c below).
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ART. 8
The ball becomes dead, or remains dead. when:

A free-throw violation by the throwing team, as in 9-1, occurs

ART. 9
The ball becomes dead, or remains dead. when:
A violation, as in Rule 9, Sections 2 through 13, occurs (see exception d below).

EXCEPTION: The ball does not become dead until the try or tap ends, or until the airborme shooter returns to the floor,
when:

a. Article 5, 6, or 7 occurs while a try or tap for a field goal is in flight.

b. Article 5 or ¥ occurs while a try for a free throw is in flight.

c. Aricle ¥ occurs by any opponent of a player who has started a try or tap for goal (is in the act of shooting)
before the foul occurred, provided time did not expire before the ball was in flight. The trying motion must be
continuous and begins after the ball comes to rest in the player's hand(s) on a try or touches the hand(s) on a

tap, and is completed when the ball is clearly in flight. The trying motion may include arm, foot or body
movements used by the player when throwing the ball at hisfher basket

d. Article 9 as in 9-3-3 or 9-13-1, occurs by an opponent.

MOTE: If A1's try or tap is legally touched in flight, the goal counis if made, if the period/quarter ends before or after the
legal touching. If the touching is interference or goaltending by Team A, no points are scored. If Team B vioclates, the
points are awarded — egither two or three depending on whether it was a two or three-point iry or tap.

As we can see, the ball does NOT become dead on the whistle for the foul! The basket counts!

This foul is one that can depend completely on the angle we view the contact from (as many plays can).
The camera angle does show a blatant push foul and we really are just pulling one clip from a game that
is half over, so we do not know what type of physical play has happened prior to this play or if the
players had been ‘talked to” about anything. In this guy’s opinion, this is a foul in the first minute of the
game also.

Now we have to decide how to resume play........spot throw-in for the foul or running because the hoop
went in and we counted it..... As a crew, we just need to make sure that we get it all right from after the
foul. Remember that there is no team control on a shot, so this is NOT a team control foul....so if white
were in the bonus, we would shoot bonus free throws at white’s end. If white were not in the bonus,
white would get a throw-in nearest the spot of the push foul by blue (7-5-4a).

It is FINE to talk with a partner(s) (probably SHOULD do it) to make sure 1) he/she/they know what you
have, 2) to make sure the play is ruled correctly, and 3) to resume play appropriately. Just make sure
that opposing players are being monitored and if need be, sent to their n=bench areas while the
crew/partners discuss it.

Hope you have a great game tonight and be safe!

Tim



