Good morning!

Question......can the pivot foot ever be lifted from the floor and returned to the floor legally? Take a look
at the clip here for an example......

LEGAL! The pivot foot MAY come back to the floor if it is a JUMP STOP! The feet must land
simultaneously in order to be a legal jump stop. If they do not land at the same time then it would be a
travel.

Here is the travel rule and 44.2.b.2 is the specific rule that makes this clip legal:

SECTION 44 TRAVELING

Traveling iz moving a foot or feet in any dirsction in axcess of prescribad limits
while holding tha ball. The limits on foot movements are as follows:

ART. 1. .. A playar who catches the bali with both faet on tha floor may pivot
usging either foot, When one foot is lifted, the ather i the pival fool.

ART. 2. .. A player who catches the ball while mowing or nlil:ll:lllng may stop
and esta.hllsh a plvot foot as follows:

a. I both feet are off the floor and me'tﬂﬂyer lands:

1. Simultanscusly on both feet, ¢ foot may be the pivot.

2. O one foot followed by the other, the first foot to towch is e pivat,
3. Onone fool, the player may jump off that foot and simulaneousty land
an hoth, Neither foot can be a pivet in this casa,
b. I one foot is on the floor:
1. Itis the pivet when the other foot touches in a step.
2. The player may Lump- off that foot and simuliznegusly land on Doth.
Weither foot can be a pivot in this casa.
ART. 3. .. After coming to & stop and establishing a pivet foot:
a The pnn:-t foot may Irrtad ut mot returned 1o the floor, before the ball is

released an a pass or try lor geal,
b. Hthe player jumps, nai er Il:n:ll rrlaz.i e returned o the floar before the ball
is relieased on a pass or

iz, The pivol feot may not be rﬁnﬁ nra the ball is released to start & dribile.

ART. 4. . . After coming fo a stop when peither foot can be a phot:

a, One or both fest may be litted, but may not be returnad o the fivor betore
tie ball |s rebeased on a pass or try for goal.

b. Weither foot may be fed before tha ball is released to start a dribble.

ART. 5. . . A player holding the ball:

a.  hay nat touch the flooT with a knee or any other part of the body other than
Iaand or ot

b, After gaining control while on the toor and teuching with ather than hand
or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand

Traveling is the TOUGHEST call we have to make because kids are so quick and in real time we have to
make judgements about what happened. Remember, we need to be POSITIVE about what happened.
We can NOT go to a coach and start an explanation with “I think ......”. We must KNOW what happened.
How does that start? Know the rules and apply them correctly. You will get total support if you apply the
rules correctly.

As a Tip of the Day POE.......make sure you can explain your call (or no-call) to a coach. For this play,
when the opposing coach asks why this is not a travel, we need to be able to say ‘She caught the ball on
one foot, immediately jumped off that foot into a jump stop and went up for a shot without stepping
again.’ Coaches may not like our answers, but if they are supported by the rules book, they cannot be
argued!

Have a great day today and enjoy the snow since we aren’t losing any games due to weather
cancelations!

Tim


https://drive.google.com/file/d/1lkSbJzhnxoPMOzBo93CVoAhDV2FISMW6/view?usp=sharing

