

## **Meeting Minutes**

Isanti County Government Center Cambridge, MN

January 26, 2017

Co-Chair Turnquist called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. and called for participation in reciting the Pledge of Allegiance.

Members Present: Terry Turnquist Isanti County

Heidi Steinmetz Kanabec County
Tom Ryan City of Blaine
Kersten Conley City of Cambridge

Colleen Winter City of East Bethel

Beth Thorpe City of Mora
Lisa Holcomb Arthur Township
Chris Olson Athens Township
John Erlandson Cambridge Township
Ken Mattson Knife Lake Township

Others Present: Doug Fischer Coalition Administrator (Anoka County)

Marcia Westover City of Cambridge (Alternate)

Alan Skramstad City of Mora (Alternate)
Janna King Isanti County EDA

Chad Gramentz Kanabec County Engineer

Bob Bollenbeck East Central Regional Development Commission

Luke Wehseler MnDOT District 3

Brian Johnson State Representative, District 32A

Co-Chair Turnquist declared a quorum to be present.

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

Ryan made motion approving the minutes of the November 16, 2016 Meeting. Mattson seconded the motion. Motion approved.

\*\*\*\*\*\*

The election of officers for 2017 were conducted as follows:

- 1. For the Positions (2) of Co-Chair: Motion by Turnquist, seconded by Ryan to nominate Julie Braastad as Co-Chair. Motion by Ryan, seconded by Erlandson to nominate Terry Turnquist as Co-Chair. Being no other nominations, a vote was conducted. Motion approved.
- 2. For the position of Secretary: Motion by Erlandson, seconded by Turnquist to nominate Tom Ryan as Secretary. Being no other nominations, a vote was conducted. Motion approved.
- For the position of Treasurer: Motion by Holcomb, seconded by Turnquist to nominate Beth Thorp as Treasurer. Being no other nominations, a vote was conducted. Motion approved.
- 4. For the position of At-Large Member: Motion by Turnquist, seconded by Ryan to nominate John Erlandson as At-Large Member. Being no other nominations, a vote was conducted. Motion approved.

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

A draft Membership Directory was presented for discussion. Additions and edits were discussed and made. It was also decided that the Membership Directory should include telephone numbers as well as e-mail addresses. A new Membership Directory will be presented at the next meeting.

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

The establishment of meeting dates, times and locations for the 2017 calendar was discussed by the Coalition. By consensus, it was decided that the Coalition will meet the fourth Thursday of January, March, May, July, September and November at 7:00 p.m. at the Isanti County Government Center unless otherwise determined by the Coalition.

\*\*\*\*\*\*

The designation of the Administrative Representative as an Ex-Officio Non-Voting Member was discussed. Motion by Ryan, seconded by Holcomb to nominate Doug Fischer as the Administrative Representative. Motion approved. It was noted that this position will be non-paid.

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

The Coalition discussed the Work Plan and Goals for 2017. A list of topics included:

MnDOT's Principal Arterial Intersection Conversion Study

- MnDOT's TZD project at the Braham "Y"
- TH 95 Improvements Impact on TH 65
- Steve Voss (East Bethel) Report on RCUT's from Visit to San Antonio
- Website Updates
- Public Relations Program for RCUT's
- Legislation

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

Treasurer Thorpe presented the Treasurer's Report of January 26, 2017 including the approval to pay Carolyn Braun and Matt Braaten for services rendered in 2016. Motion by Ryan, seconded by Holcomb to approve the report and authorize payment as noted. Motion approved.

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

Treasurer Thorpe presented the Membership Dues Status Report as of January 19, 2017. No action required/taken.

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

Treasurer Thorpe indicated that with the resignation of Carolyn Braun as the Coalition's Administrative Representative, the Coalition needed to take action to revise the Coalition's banking signatories. Motion by Thorpe, seconded by Holcomb to remove Carolyn Braun from the Coalition's banking accounts. Motion approved. Motion by Turnquist, seconded by Erlandson to add Julie Braastad as signatory to the Coalition's banking accounts. Motion approved.

\*\*\*\*\*\*

Administrative Representative Fischer discussed the current e-mail distribution list of the Coalition. It was decided by consensus that the e-mail directory should be segregated into separate list for members, media, business groups, and legislators. New e-mail distribution lists will be presented at the next meeting.

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

A discussion was conducted regarding the Coalition's website. It was noted that the current webpages were out of date and needed revision. Member Steinmetz will work as the Coalition's conduit to Matt Braaten who is the Coalition's web designer to implement changes. All members are asked to forward comments to Steinmetz for incorporation into the website.

\*\*\*\*\*\*

It was decided by consensus to eliminate the Coalition's Facebook page.

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

With regards to the 2017 Minnesota Legislative Session, Representative Brain Johnson was in attendance and offered support for the work of the Coalition. King presented him a copy of the Manufacturer's Survey results for his use and information.

\*\*\*\*\*\*

MnDOT District 3 Engineer Luke Wehseler presented information on upcoming MnDOT projects on the TH 65 corridor. Projects include:

- Bituminous Mill & Overlay on TH 65 from Anoka County line to just north of the City of Isanti and a Concrete Whitetopping of TH 65 from this point to just north of the City of Cambridge. This work should start after the July 4<sup>th</sup> holiday.
- MnDOT is looking at converting the Braham "Y" into a signalized, continuous "T" design. This project is slated for 2019.

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

Community updates were provided by various members. It was suggested that maps of the TH 65 corridor be provided at future meetings for reference by the members.

\*\*\*\*\*\*

Being no other business for the coalition, the meeting was adjourned at 8:45 p.m.