
Hi Everyone! Hope you had a great Wednesday…… 
 
Ever have something happen in your game and know you missed the ‘first thing’ but got the retaliation? 
Take a look at this play here.  
 
There are lots of lessons to be learned from this. The crew on this game is an EXCELLENT 
crew…….missing something happens to everyone. Let’s take a look at a couple lessons we can learn. 
 
How do we handle this as called in the clip? 
 
The grab of the wrist by gold 15 was obviously missed and from the angle C had, we can see why……the 
hold was screen by gold 15’s body. So we SEE a push by blue 12 and that is what is called. One official 
has a flagrant immediately. (In NCAAM, they are permitted to use replay to ‘get it right’ with intentional 
and flagrants.) So we have a flagrant push on blue 12. This is a flagrant personal foul since it was live ball 
contact. Blue 12 is ejected from the game and must remain on the bench for blue. If he leaves the bench 
area, an adult MUST accompany him. Gold 15 will shoot the two free throws with the nobody on the 
lane lines and gold gets a throw-in nearest the spot of the flagrant personal foul. 
 
What if we had seen the hold by gold 15 and blue 12 still pushed? 
 
We have two options here……one is if the holding foul on gold 15 was ruled a common or intentional 
foul. There appears to be no other reason that gold 15 grabbed blue 12 other than to neutralize an 
obvious advantage he would have had. Regardless, there is support for either a common or intentional 
foul. Let’s look at each: 
 
 Common foul called on gold 15 
 
In this case, blue 12 is ejected to the blue bench. Since blue benefits from the common foul, either a 
throw-in nearest the spot of the foul results if blue was not in the bonus, or blue 12’s substitute would 
shoot bonus free throws (any eligible player on blue’s bench may enter for blue 12). Since we had a foul 
on gold 15 which makes the play dead, the push by blue 12 is now ruled a flagrant technical foul 
because it is dead ball contact. Remember that dead ball contact cannot be ignored if it is intentional or 
flagrant.  Instead of a flagrant personal foul as in the way it was actually called, we have a flagrant 
technical foul on blue 12. So, to resume play, we eject blue 12 to the bench and if blue is in the bonus, 
the substitute for blue 12 (anyone eligible from blue’s bench) will shoot the bonus free throws with 
nobody on the lane lines. These are first because we administer them in the order that they happened. 
Next, we shoot the 2 free throws for the flagrant technical at gold’s end by any team member of gold 
(who is still eligible – has not been DQ’d) in the game or on the bench. These free throws are with the 
lane lines cleared as well. We would then resume play with a  throw-in opposite the table at midcourt 
for gold. 
 
 Intentional foul called on gold 15 
 
This situation is almost the same as if the foul on gold 15 were common except that we WILL shoot two 
free throws by blue 12’s substitute for the intentional foul on gold 15. The rest is the same as is it were a 
common foul on gold 15. The intentional has no effect on the throw-in since the flagrant technical 
occurred last so we use it to resume play. 
 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ZNZWqwv5H-rXHvjM3pJ_A_uPdZX9O9_3/view?usp=sharing


Question: Could the coach for blue substitute a player in to shoot the free throws that blue 12 was 
entitled to and then take him back out of the game after shooting the free throws BUT before the 
throw-in to resume play? 
 
How could the miss of the hold on gold 15 been seen? C probably could have seen it if he was looking 
right at the play. All of us can imagine missing this foul. The new L does a great job of seeing the 
turnover and transition begin and then looks for his next competitive matchup while going up the floor. 
He SEES the push by blue 12 and comes and gets it and confidently rules a flagrant immediately. Notice 
that he closes in on the play right away as well as the C and neither one leaves the area or turns his back 
on players. They want to make sure that order is restored and nothing else happens. They manage that 
part perfectly. There was no way that new L could have seen the hold by gold 15 as he was trail when 
the turnover occurred and it happened in his corner. He turned to look for his matchup as soon as he 
was able to. Likewise, new T had at least 6 players in his primary which made it virtually impossible to 
help get the hold. 
 
On plays like this, it helps me to SEE what might happen and hopefully also help me to focus on my own 
primary at all times. A miss like this could (and does) happen to the best officials we have. Hopefully the 
misses like this are few and far between. As any veteran official will tell you, if we learn from our own 
and other’s mistake, we are getting better. 
 
Remember that the rivalry games are high tension from the time the teams walk in the gym, and 
similarly, the bad teams vs good teams can have as many situations that need our attention as any. Stay 
aware in EVERY game at ALL times!  
 
Have a great game tonight! 
 
Tim 


