

Association of Former International Civil Servants (AFICS) - Cyprus

c/o UNFICYP Registry, P.O. Box 25644, CY-2063 Nicosia, Cyprus

telephone: +357 22 61 47 26 - e-mail: <u>afics-cyp@un.org</u> - Web-site: <u>www.afics-cyprus.org</u> Cyprus Ministry of Interior Registration number: 4095 of 23 May 2014

SEVENTH ORDINARY AFICS-CYPRUS ASSEMBLY MEETING

to be held at:

Bank of Cyprus Head Office (Lecture Room) 51 Stasinou Street, Ayia Paraskevi, Strovolos, Nicosia 2002 on: Tuesday, 12 March 2019 10:00 hours to 12:00 hours

Item 4 <u>Election of Members to Executive Committee Vacant Seats</u>

1. Article 8.1 of the Statutes specifies that the "Executive Committee shall consist of at least five but not more than seven members" elected by the Assembly; Article 8.1(b) and (c) specifies that the Committee's "members shall be elected once every two years" by the Assembly; and that eligible candidates "shall be those proposed by the Nominating Committee and any other names submitted in a nominating petition signed by not less than 10 members, who have met all financial obligations, and received at least 15 days before the session of the Assembly". In the same Article 8.1 (b) it is specified that outgoing members shall be eligible for immediate re-election when the term expires, subject to a maximum of three consecutive terms.

2. The Executive Committee consists at present of the following seven members:

End of Seventh Assembly Session 2019 (12 March 2019) Mr. Terje Andersen (First Term), Mr. Ioannis Antoniades (Third Term) and Mr. Benon Sevan (First Term)

End of Eighth Assembly Session 2020 (March 2020) Ms. Aida Bichara-McNally (First Term), Mr. Gianfranco Longo (Third Term), Ms. Miriam Pericleous (Third Term) and Dr. Michael Voniatis (Second Term)

3. From the three members retiring at the end of the Assembly's session, Mr. Terje Andersen and Mr. Benon Sevan have agreed to present themselves for re-election for a second consecutive term. Mr. Ioannis Antoniades, who has been the President of the Executive Committee since the Association's creation in 2012, is not eligible for a fourth consecutive term. However, he has expressed his readiness to assist the new Executive Committee and its new President, in all their meetings and in the preparation of the numerous documents, as well as the relationship of the new President with the Hellenic Bank, where the Association has its bank account. At the time of writing, no AFICS member has submitted his/her candidature for the replacement of Mr. Antoniades, but it is hoped that a candidate shall come forward in time for his/her election.

Brief curriculum vitae of Mr. Terje ANDERSEN

Born and educated in Norway. Initially, he joined the Norwegian Military for a 6 commands' period in UNIFIL, Lebanon, in 1980/81. He joined the United Nations Peacekeeping Mission in UNIFIL, Lebanon from May 1981 to May 1988 and served as a Field Service (FSL) Electrician under the Communication Section. In May 1988 to he was reassigned to (UNDOF) with an FSO contract, again as electrician. From December 1989 to July 1990 he served in Tegucigalpa (UNOSOM), from July 1990 to Jan 1993 in Camp Faouar (UNDOF), from January 1993 to March 1995 TDY Mogadiscio (UNOSOM-SOMALIA) and from March 1995 to September 1996 TDY Port au Prince (UNMIH/UNSMIH -HAITI). From September 1996 to June 1999 he returned to Camp Faouar (UNDOF) and from June 1999 to November 2000 TDY Dili (UNAMET/UNTAET-EST TIMOR). From November 2000 to October 2012 he returned, once more, to Camp Faouar (UNDOF) where he started the planning and execution of the electrification modernization program in line with U.N. Modernization Development Programs, with a view to promoting fast, reliable and modern electrifications and good workmanship for the YOUNGER GENERATIONS OF UN WORKFORCE. During his UN career Mr. Andersen was active in Field Staff Union (FSU) work. He retired, after almost 32 years of service, to Paralimni Cyprus where he still lives.

Brief curriculum vitae of Mr. Benon SEVAN

A national of Cyprus, served in various posts during his career with the United Nations for 40 years (1965-2005). His last post was as the Under-Secretary-General and the Executive Director of the Iraq Programme, with responsibility for the overall management, coordination and supervision of the implementation of all United Nations humanitarian activities in Iraq pursuant to Security Council resolutions 661 (1990) and 986. Personal Representative in Afghanistan and Pakistan, concurrently serving as well, as the Secretary-General's Representative on the implementation of the Geneva Accords on Afghanistan. He was also responsible for the overall direction and administration of the Office for the Coordination of United Nations Humanitarian and Economic Assistance Programmes in Afghanistan. In addition, he has served as Assistant Secretary-General and Deputy Head of the Department of Political Affairs with issues related to missing persons in the Middle East. Furthermore, he has served as the Secretary of the Economic and Social Council, as the Secretary of numerous intergovernmental and expert bodies of the General Assembly and the Economic and Social Council, as well as a number of United Nations special conferences.

4. As stated in paragraph 1 above, according to the Statutes, the Executive Committee shall consist of at least five but not more than seven members. From its inception, until 2014, the Executive Committee has been operating with the minimum membership of five. However, the Assembly, during its second Ordinary Session of 12 March 2014, elected two additional members, thus bringing the total to seven. As of 10 March 2015, with the resignation of one member of the Committee who had accepted a long-term position outside Cyprus and the retirement of another member, the Committee remained with five members. With the election of two new members during the 5th Assembly of 7 March 2017, the Executive Committee had, again, seven members. The Executive Committee, after the elections held during the 6th Assembly on 6 March 2018, continued to operate with seven members. It would be highly desirable that the Assembly, at its forthcoming session,

proceeds with the election of one additional (preferably female) member, and an appeal for candidatures has been sent to all members. The Executive Committee shall submit to the Assembly additional CVs for candidates, if and when received.

5. The Assembly of AFICS-Cyprus, at its seventh Ordinary Session held on 12 March 2019, will:

A. In accordance with Article 8.1(e) of its Statutes, take note of the fact that the term-of-office of three members of the Executive Committee ends on 12 March 2019 and decide to re-elect the following members who have agreed to present their candidature for a period of two years, ending at the close of the tenth Ordinary Session of the Assembly in 2021:

Mr. Terje ANDERSEN (second consecutive term); Mr. Benon SEVAN (second consecutive term);

- B. Elect one new member for a period of two years, ending at the close of the tenth Ordinary Session of the Assembly in 2021.
- C. Extend a special vote of thanks to the outgoing member, Mr. Ioannis Antoniades, who, from the inception of the Association in 2012, has served, without interruption, as the President of the Executive Committee. The Assembly accepts Mr. Antoniades' offer to continue advising and assisting the Executive Committee and its new President throughout 2019.