

Spirit winners Ken Brenden (left) and Dennis LePore (right) with SLSSA President Sam Giordano (center). (Courtesy of Core Photography)

May 2016

## BRENDEN & LEPORE NAMED SOFTBALL SPIRIT WINNERS By Larry Wolfe

Ken Brenden and Dennis LePore were named winners of the prestigious Spirit of Sun Lakes Softball Award at the SLSAA's annual spring banquet. The award goes to the member or members who go "above and beyond" to support our program. Both Ken and Dennis are certainly worthy recipients of the award.

Over 150 people attended the banquet and program which was held in the Cottonwood Ballroom. In addition to the Spirit Awards, the Third Annual Geezer Awards were presented to six players and our "resident physical therapist" Jessica Sorensen of Spooner Physical Therapy. With awards that included "Most Interesting Eyes" and "Most Painful Face" you really need to go to the Photos Page on our website (www/sunlakessoftball.com) to appreciate the awards! Thanks to Mike Core for putting this program together.

Gary Alexander's One More Time Combo provided musical entertainment for the program. Many thanks go out to Gary, his band members and the Combo's sponsor, Lawson Family Plumbing.

And last, but not least, kudos to Pat Wolfe, our banquet coordinator, for putting together a first class event.

Our Spring Season ended after this month's press deadline, so we'll recap the season, tournament and awards ceremony in next month's *Splash*. If you can't stand the suspense, go to the website for up-to-date information.

Our league play is now complete, but our summer recreational program is now underway. Batting practice and pick-up games take place every Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday morning. Come out to the Field of Dreams and get ready for the Fall League!

The election of Board Members and Officers for the 2016-2017 year recently took place. President Sam Giordano, Secretary Steve Hilby, and Treasurer Larry Wolfe were re-elected officers. Mike Core was elected Vice President, replacing Ken Brenden, who retired from the Board. At-large members are Bill Corso, Gary Hillabolt and Jesse Washington.