

WE THE PEOPLE

Metairie School Wins "We the People" State Competition

he team from Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies in Metairie won the state title in the "We the People" state competition held at Loyola University in New Orleans. The team, led by teacher Chris Totaro, now will represent Louisiana in the national competition in Washington, D.C.

Also competing in the state finals were teams from Helen Cox High School, John Ehret High School and Glenbrook School. "We the People" (WTP) team teachers Haley Bonsall, Jonetta Jackson, Bradley Kiff and Totaro are to be commended for bringing their students to this level of academic achievement.

WTP is one of the programs that the Louisiana Center for Law and Civic Education (LCLCE) utilizes to promote civic competence and responsibility among Louisiana's students. Taken to its highest level, this instructional civics curriculum has students "testify" at simulated congressional hearings before a panel of judges. Students demonstrate their knowledge and understanding of constitutional principles and have opportunities to evaluate, take and defend positions on relevant historical and contemporary issues.

Attending the state finals was guest speaker Louisiana House Rep. Walter J. Leger III, District 91.

The panel of judges consisted of attorneys, educators and WTP alumni, including attorney and WTP alumna



The team from Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies in Metairie won the state title in the "We the People" state competition. The team will represent Louisiana in the national competition in Washington, D.C.

Heather W. Angelico; attorneys Jason D. Asbill and Jessica G. Braun; Louisiana WTP Alumni Representative Tyler Barker, Ph.D.; educator Belinda M. Cambre, JD, Ph.D.; attorney and LCLCE President Lawrence J. Centola III; WTP alumni Mariarenee Contreras and Kathyrn Cook; educator Josh Dyer; Loyola University Political Science Chair Philip A. Dynia, Ph.D.; attorney Lauren F. Godshall; attorney and educator Marie Hoeven; attorney Nahum

D. Laventhal; WTP alumna Philip Lundy; attorney Christopher A. Meeks; WTP alumni Bryce Menge, Sabrine Mohamed and Hugh Ngo; educator Martha Palmer; attorney and LCLCE Board Member Scott L. Sternberg; WTP alumni Rana Thabata and Brandon Thornton; Loyola University Interim Dean of the College of Social Sciences Roger White, MA, Ph.D.; and Loyola political science Professor Christopher Wiseman, Ph.D.